We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pay with card or you end up paying triple much” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mishka

Mishka
Fontanka, 40, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
+7 921 322-51-94
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #461 of 7,951 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 23 Reviews
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A popular DJ bar/cafe for local scenesters, as well as 20something tourists and ex-pats, located on the most central intersection (Nevsky prospekt and Fontanka). Due to strict dress code don't try to enter with a backpack and be ready to hear that the party tonight is "invitation only". It means the security did not like your look. The place was opened by St. Petersburg avant-garde musician and heartthrob Kirill Ivanov and friends in the beginning of 2011, at the end of 2011 Mishka has already achieved the title of St. Petersburg's Best Bar according to TimeOut magazine. During daytime, Mishka more of a cafe (with free wi-fi), where you can relax, read and/or chat and enjoy a selection of sandwiches and fresh salads. In fact, it's one of the few places that serves in line with the Western understanding of "salad" - a huge bowl of fresh greens with a choice of other fresh ingredients to add, rather than the traditional Russian understanding of salad which is usually a lot of mayonnaise with other ingredients and often without any greens at all. There are two spaces - the entrance space is the "club" side, generally the rowdier side and the place to get boozed up and drunkenly dance the night away, and the second space is more relaxed, more brightly lit, non-smoking, and a comfortable place to grab a bite to eat (even at 4am!) and sit and chat with your friends without shouting over the music from the entrance space. At night there is usually a DJ playing (even on weeknights!) whatever hipsters are listening to these days (rather than typical Russian clubs that only play worn-out house and 90s pop) and the bar can get very crowded on weekend nights. Try one of the dozens of specialty shots to get your night started in the right spirit... or to end your night, if you're on a bender.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't pay with card or you end up paying triple much”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been in this place twice and it has been really nice until the last time. I paid with visa electron but there was some trouble so I ended up paying with cash. Next morning I realized that they charged me three times of the drink. Ok it wasn't a lot of money, but I think the principle is what counts. So do not pay with card, only cash!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“AWESOMEEEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I have no clue why this place dsnt have much reviews because is really one of the coolest and by the way most famous bars in this beautiful city! Nice&cheap cocktails awesome music and very cute and friendly stuff! Plus location is near the Anichkov bridge which is like the centre of the centre of the city :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really great place with fantastic atmosphere. Fantastic music - from disco to melodic house - and very nice people, staff etc. I was in St.Pete for 5 days and spent there every night. Low prices, classy djs - highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was twice at this place while visiting Russia.
First the prices are high, very crowded and very ordinary bar. Not good for pregaming and not good for party.
And the second and most important is that the staff there is extra unfriendly!! Once we wanted to go there with my friends and the doormen told us it's full, but then they just let bunch of russians and then again and again. One of them told us he can't speak english, but hey! we were even speaking russian to him. So they were really rude to us. We were not drunk and it was not something that we were not right. And the club wasn't full!
Don't go there if you don't want to loose your time and to hear some bad words about you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice people & great booze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perfect place to hang out with friends and meet nice and friendly people. Affordable booze and excellent music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mishka also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mishka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mishka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.