We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big surpise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Stars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Stars Hotel to your Saves list
Red Stars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reki Pryazhki Emb., 30, St. Petersburg 190121, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Imatra, Finland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Big surpise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

For long time positive experience.....we didnt wait too much from this hotel because location in area where is nothing.first sight outside was not so good because main etrance told a lot about it...also lobby in front of reception strange because all wall full of writings of customers....but....
Soon we understood that this was style of hotel....functionalism style.
All corridors same idea but paintings and pictures mainly from Egland.We had very nice roof terrrace room...nice style...very simple interior but good looking...also bathroom nice and big ,nice colours and froor heating.Breakfast room workable and numerous food and drinks.

Room Tip: Deckrooms with terasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
43
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Red Stars is a good hotel. Let's start with the positives! The graffiti art throughout the hotel is amazing! It was fun wandering the different hallways and checking out all the cool images spray painted on the walls. Overall, a great concept for the hotel. Our room was modern, quiet and very clean so we had a great night's sleep. We loved the heated floor in the bathroom and the free WiFi was fast and dependable.
Now for the negatives. Upon check in we weren't greeted or asked how we were which we thought was odd. There was, however, one female employee who was helpful answering our questions, giving us directions and arranging taxis. (Basically she was the only one who seemed friendly and approachable.) The hotel's location is not great. Be prepared to walk up to 45 minutes to get to any of St. Petersburg's attractions, restaurants or shops. The hotel is not located near a Metro station and taxis in the city are somewhat sketchy. The breakfast was satisfactory and the atmosphere of the restaurant did not gel with the rest of the hotel. The hotel is edgy and modern whereas the restaurant would be best described as "country kitchen." Instead of chilled out music in a sleek decor, two TV's play in a tacky, brightly lit room. Now for my pet peeve... we stayed for almost a week but were only given one bottle of water upon checking in. I think it would have been nice to have been given a new bottle of water for each night we stayed. Overall, I don't regret staying at Red Stars but given it's location, I probably wouldn't stay there again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaSpb, Director of Sales at Red Stars Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Venezuela11,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Red Stars Hotel for your stay in St Petersburg and for the time taken to write this review.

We are happy to hear you liked the design concept of the hotel and the amenities and cleanliness of the rooms. We take all efforts to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests.
I would also like to comment on some of the points of your feedback.
The hotel is located in the historical part of the city with many great sights in the walking distance: Mariinsky theatre, St Nicholas Cathedral, Yusupov Palace. The bus stop near the hotel makes it possible for our guests to get to the Nevsky Prospect and the Palace Square in 10 min drive.
In addition to a free bottle of water on arrival all rooms are equipped with mini bars with a variety of beverages (mineral water, beer, lemonades, juice).
Your comments on the reception staff have been properly processed in order to refine our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Red Stars Hotel in future. Our staff will make any effort to exceed your expectations and make your stay even more comfortable during your next stay.

Marina Pivovarova,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location of this hotel has great advantages for those who love music and theater - it is few blocks away from both Mariinsky theaters and Mariinsky concert hall. However, if your trip is designed to visit main sightseeing centers such as Hermitage, Russian museum, Nevsky Prospekt, etc, then you would have to spend certain time of walking which anyway is never unpleasant in such beautiful city. I stayed in this hotel several times already and I can recommend it especially for summer. During winter, the heating is so strong, including floor heating on the bathroom, that air gets incredibly dry and permanent sensation of thirst is present. They could perhaps use some humidifiers because feeling of sore throat, especially in the morning, is not the most comfortable one.
Other than that, hotel has excellent internet, contemporary creative interiors, spacious bathroom and helpful staff. Don't get discouraged by outer look (from the street, hotel looks in the worst traditions of cheaply renovated historical building, by demolishing almost everything history has to deal with, and replacing it with ugly plastic). But designers made much better work inside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Red Stars Hotel is a sleek, contemporary hotel with a modern decor. Never mind about its metallic red surfaces. After all, the hotel is named "Red." That I can get used to. But the one that caught my attention is the graffiti themed hallway. Personally, it brings back bad memories from the 'hood. Our room is spotless, however, and I particularly appreciate the heated bathroom floor especially in the morning. The best asset of the hotel is its English-speaking staff: friendly, courteous and very helpful. They answered all our mundane queries with a smile when they could have told us to read the extremely detailed hotel directory in our room. Kudos to the staff.

The bus stop is conveniently located around the corner. Nevskiy Prospekt is approximately 30 minutes by Bus # 22; the fare is 25 rubles.

Overall, St. Petersburg is a great city and so is Red Stars with its terrific staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

a perfect hotel, located just a little outside the centre. Calm and quiet area. Warm and welcoming staff helping more or less with everything! Just the perfect place to get back to. Crazy interior design - just great! Perfectly english speaking staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a great stay at the Red Stars Hotel in the beginning of January. Everything from services like photocopying and wifi to the breakfast buffet, bed and bathroom had a high standard. The location being slightly out of the center suited us well, and was not a problem for getting around. All staff spoke English and the reception was accessible 24 hours.
The decoration was not exactly of my taste, but it did have a humoristic touch (waking up in a room in St. Petersburg with "London" written all over the wall). The bar and dining room was decorated in a different style and the place in general was surprisingly welcoming and cozy even with the modern red surfaces, glass stairs and concrete walls. And, I should say, everything was kept clean despite the ice and snow and mud outside.

Room Tip: We were not able to adjust the temperature in the room, except by opening a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Red Stars. The hotel is very clean, comfortable, and modern. We found the beds to be very comfortable, and were particularly appreciative of the heated floors in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. They Ere very happy to provide visa support and even made our next hotel reservation for us when we moved on from St Petersburg. The breakfast at Red Stars is also excellent, and stays open until 11, so there isn't pressure to get up early. The hotel is definitely out of the centre, though there are frequent buses that go toward Nevsky Prospekt and Sennaya Ploshad. We didn't find it too much to walk most days, especially as the route into the centre is safe, quiet, and passes St Isaac's Cathedral. Overall, we had an excellent stay and would recommend it whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Stars Hotel

Address: Reki Pryazhki Emb., 30, St. Petersburg 190121, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Stars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star design hotel in the historical centre of St Petersburg near Mariinsky Theatre. Red Stars Hotel has 54 guest rooms from single to Suite featuring air-conditioners, free Internet access (LAN and Wi-Fi), satellite TV, phones and mini-bars. On-site - restaurant, bar, free Internet area, business facilities, free parking lots. Concierge desk offers variety of transfers, excursions and private guides, city maps. 24h English-speaking reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Stars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.