We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charming apartment in St.Petersburg city center

king-size bed
pull-out sofa
St. Petersburg
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ysmi65
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I returned to my city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

After 13 years of absence in Saint-Petersburg, the city where I was born and grew up, me and my wife came back to visit my parents and friends. We booked this apartment a few blocks away from the house where I spent my childhood and youth, and this was the reason why we chose this apartment, I was not disappointed and I felt like I came back to my youth...
Irena and Alexey are very pleasant, intelligent people and very responsible. Everything was perfectly organized, the check-in, they provided us with a cell phone, internet, and a complimentary bottle of champaign, etc. The apartment was very cozy and followed to my expectation of downtown properties. I recommend this apartment to people who would be interested to see and feel the city of Dostoevskiy....Thank you so much for your hospitality.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Paris
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
englishpe...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home! Excellent value & location, very quiet yet central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We can wholeheartedly recommend this perfect little place if you're looking for a true "Russian-home-away-from-home-experience".
The hosts Irena and Aleksey are more than helpful, not only during the preparation of the trip (visa documents etc) but also during the stay - they made us feel extremely welcome, gave us a mobile so we could always contact them with any questions and even took us around the city for a little drive. Irena is fluent in English and very (!) knowledgeable about the quirks and facts of St P. and Aleksey speaks fluent French!
The flat is very central (c.25 minute walk to the heart of historic Saint Petersburg, c.15 mins if via metro and walking).
It has everything you could ask for, including a laptop with internet access, which is very helpful for the planning of your trips etc.
The flat is extremely quiet, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed, it's very clean, comfortable and the area feels very safe.
The apartment is on the 6th floor, but there is a small lift to take you all the way, so no problem if you don't like climbing the stairs..
There is a large and very well equipped supermarket on the other side of the street so you can prepare your own meals in the apartment. The Metro stations Zvenigorodskaya (the purple line no.5) and Pushkinskaya (the red line no.1) are only a few mins walk away, so you're always well connected!

If you're looking for a genuine and fuss-free accomodation, this is the perfect place!
Enjoy! :-)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
zzzptm
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It's like staying with family or friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The owners were exceptionally helpful at facilitating our visit to St. Petersburg and kept in touch with us to make sure things ran smoothly. Nothing anywhere is perfect: it was good to know that when we had one small issue, they fixed it almost immediately. That was great service! The owners really gave us a great exposure to Russian hospitality.

This is an apartment, not a full-service hotel. We would have liked wi-fi, but the McDonald's at the nearby mall (less than 100 meters' walk) was able to provide us with that service. It was very, VERY convenient to the metro (200m away) and was stocked with everything we needed, even an umbrella for St. Petersburg's pop-up showers.

If the bed is too hard, try the pull-out sofa. It's much softer and sleeps two just fine.

All in all, this is a place I would stay again in because of the genuinely friendly service and excellent proximity to the metro and, with that, nearly everything worth seeing in the city. It is an excellent value and for a traveler that enjoys getting to meet people, this is the place to go.

On a final note, there is a washing "machine" there. It looks like a bucket and a disc, but it really does work. If you need to do some washing during your stay, it can handle a kilo to a kilo and a half of clothes in one go. You'll have to let them air-dry after you wring them out, but in a nation without laundromats, it's a wonderful luxury to have on the premises.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, service, that totally cool washing "machine."
Liked least: If we didn't set up the mosquito repellents, mosquitoes got in. That's just life in St. Petersburg in the summer, though. Not the apartment's fault.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Brian9993...
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
“A great place to stay and superb value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Having struggled to find decent budget accommodation in St Petersburg using the usual on line booking sites we found an absolute gem on trip advisor! The appartment is cozy and well equipped with your own sitting room bathroom and kitchen area, is about a five minute walk from the nearest metro so going to nevsky prospekt etc was no problem. The owners were very helpful and friendly. Most of all it is excellent value and would definitely stay here again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: excellent value for money,comfort
Liked least: wi-fi would have been nice
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dbg40
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Charming Apartment had a charming host. Irena could not have been more helpful, both in the provision of amenities in the apartment and in her advice about St. Petersburg. We were made to fell like her guests rather than clients.
The apartment was well placed. It was close to the Metro and the Vitebsk railway station (itself a tourist attraction). It was also near a good supermarket and a recommended bliny stall.
The property was more spacious than we expected from the description and the most thoughtfully equipped of any apartment that we have ever visited.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Irena's thoughtfulness
Liked least: The common stair
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
reteppuzo...
Warren OH
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The owners were wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We visited St. Petersburg during the winter solstice, the shortest days of the year. While this is not the best time to visit a city this far north, we still enjoyed it and saw a lot, and six days was not enough to see all there was to see. Our trip was made better by our accomodation. The apartment was excellent, clean and fully equipped, inexpensive, and the location a block from the metro and a hundred meters from a shopping plaza which includes a supermarket. The owners, Aleksy and Irena, were cordial, friendly, and very very helpful. Irena speaks English like an Englishwoman, while Aleksy is fluent in French. They took us on a tour of St. Petersburg, loaned us a phone to use in case we needed help, and helped us get taxis when we wanted to go someplace. The next time we go we will book with Aleksy and Irena, and will try to go during the summer months. We heartily recommend this apartment and the city, especially for culture and history buffs.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The friendliness, hospitality, and helpfulness of the owners, Irena and Aleksy.
Liked least: The elevator is up a few steps from the entrance door, which might make it difficult for people with disabilities.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$34
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
irena i
Speaks English, Russian, German
Listed since : Nov 2010
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 13 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing