We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vysokiĭ" (Awesome) Visit to St Petersburg Thanks to Ulko Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UlkoTours - Private & Group Day Tours

UlkoTours - Private & Group Day Tours
88 Sredniy pr. of Basil Island | office 302, St. Petersburg 197000, Russia
+7 (911) 926 4724
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ULKOtours delivers highest standards of service for any budget. The success we have had during the years we have been on the market with the ULKO brand proves that we work hard and we deliver to our promises. Our clients attest to that. We provide Customised city tours for independent travelers to Russia (Moscow, St.Petersburg and Golden Ring)as well as Private and Group (GDT) VISA-FREE shore excursions for cruise visitors in multiple Baltic destinations.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Vysokiĭ" (Awesome) Visit to St Petersburg Thanks to Ulko Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Tripadvisor was on target once again. A wonderful two day tour in St. Petersburg was provided to my family by Ulko Tours . As the primary destination for our Baltic's Cruise we wanted to book the best possible tour and Ulko Tours exceeded our expectations.

Our Tour Guide, Diana was FANTASTIC. Ulko is obviously selective and takes great pride in their choices for employees. Diana took great care of my family, and ensured that we enjoyed every minute. An engaging personality, perfect English combined with a positive attitude, relaxed demeanor and expert insider knowledge made our two days very enjoyable, productive and memorable.

Sergei, our driver did a fantatstic job as well - he safely navigated the congested roadways during the hieght of the tourist season and shaved valuable time from the transits between the sites.

Peterhof Gardens was the highlight and by following Diana's recommendations we truly enjoyed this jewel of St Peterburg.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    9
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular visit to St. Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We visited St. Petersburg on a Baltic cruise for our 50th anniversary and knew we wanted an independent tour of the city. We are very happy that we selected Ulko Tours. Elena made all the planning very simple and we were greeted at the port with a sign and a smiling guide named Luba. Our two days were filled with visits to the highlights of the city, some of which were very crowded. Luba was able to negotiate the crowds and maximize our time at each historic site. She also provided indepth information of each place we visited. I would highly recommend using Ulko Tours for anyone visiting St. Petersburg. You will see and learn more in the short time you have in the city.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ulko Tours - Very Professional and Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived for 2 days in St Petersburg with another couple via a cruise ship. We had investigated and done research and chose Ulko Tours and have no regrets. Our guide and driver met us the first day and we were impressed with both her mastering of the English language but also the art and history of St Petersburg.
Our first day was over 10 hours long and we were able to experience so much, only the photos reveal how much we saw. We were able to quickly navigate all the long lines and NOT wait in any of them.
Our second day was equally informative and with limited sunny days in St Petersburg, we were blessed to have 1 1/2 of them!
Our Guide, Isabella, was truly a gem. She was open to being flexible to adjusting any schedule, any places to see and was very articulate. We did not say 'good bye' with our departure on the second day, but rather exchanged email addresses.
I would highly recommend this tour service as you get great value for the money, we compared the cruise ship excusion prices vs. the private tours and Ulko Tours more than met our expectations.
My husband is deaf in one ear so has trouble with group tours, we try to always do a private tour so he can hear and learn. Something to consider!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Informative, professional, and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Normally, we travel independently but when I realized that I'd scheduled our trip to St. Petersburg during an international Economics Forum that took over the city, and with a little worry about the language issues, we opted for a guide during out two days in the city. It was just my husband and myself, so flexibility was critical.

My initial contacts with Elena were prompt, informative, and incredibly helpful. She answered all of my questions, suggested hotels and restaurants, and worked with us to set up a list of places we wanted to visit. As the trip neared and I had more questions, she was supportive and even more helpful -- her involvement did not stop when we committed to the trip, which I really appreciated.

We arranged for transfers from the airport, a day with a driver and guide to see the palaces outside the city, and a day with a guide in the city to see the various museums and buildings and churches (including the Hermitage). Our drivers were prompt, professional, adept, and very nice; Andrey, who picked us up from the airport, gave us a running commentary on the neighborhoods we were driving through as we made our way into the city.

Diana, our guide at the palaces, was amazingly well-informed and answered all of our questions -- about art, history, the tsars, russian life, and the city. She tailored her information to our interests, and worked very hard to make sure she understood what we wanted to see and know. At lunch, she explained about Russian food and dining, and gave us recommendations for places to eat in the city, and what we should order to "really taste Russia".

On our second day in the city, we threw our guide Katya a curve ball by shifting our itinerary immediately (since we'd seen one of the planned sites on our own the night before) and she was entirely unfazed, simply adjusting our schedule and including those new places we wanted to see instead. She was knowledgeable, funny, and energetic and we loved her company as we toured the various churches and palaces in the city, and we appreciated her vast knowledge about the art in the Hermitage so we could see the highlights. She was careful to ask what we were interested in, and tailored our visit so that we didn't miss anything we really wanted to see. We walked all over the city, and enjoyed every moment.

The cost of the tour was very reasonable, with admission to the "big ticket" museums included in the quote (and, helpfully, picked up early so we could skip the long lines). Elena suggested sharing our tour day at the palaces outside the city to reduce costs, so we contacted the other couple, realized that we were both happy with the option of touring together, and agreed. We were assured, of course, that if we preferred to be alone, that was all right, too.

Everyone we dealt with from Ulko tours was professional, prompt, knowledgeable, and friendly. We knew that they had things handled and didn't worry about any of the details during our stay. Communication was clear and quick, and I would recommend wholeheartedly setting up a tour of this fabulous city with Ulko Tours.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“time to visit the wizard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

very professional.
was concerned at first, ie Russia and all that stuff. But she is good and to her word.
We had a "solo" tour, just me, my other half, the guide and the driver. Could not have been nicer. We were very clear, we wanted to stop here and there see the city and citizens. At first that was difficult, but hey figured it all out and we had a wonderful experience. I am not sure I would return to St Petersburg, not a very clean city and teh canals are filty. But the experience far outweighs any negativity. Isn't that travel is all about?
R. thorson

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UlkoTours - Private & Group Day Tours also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to UlkoTours - Private & Group Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UlkoTours - Private & Group Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.