We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for CIS standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vladimirskiy Ave., 5, St. Petersburg 191005, Russia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #69 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for CIS standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for few days. Overall, impression is great.
Description:
Cosy, just renovated (february 2013), friendly staff, not very big but spacious enough. Good value for money (keep in mind comparative price in Russia not somewhere else). Wifi connection at least in my room was great.

Location:
was perfect for me: 10 min walking distance to main subway stations;
almost all the sightseeing place are 15-20 min walk
Quiet for a city center

Service:
Very friendly staff once you get used to cultural difference

Breakfast:
Tasteful but didn't include many options. Guess (not sure) people with special need wouldn't be very happy.

If you expect a huge hotel with variety of services in, choose another place. Otherwise, I do recommend this hotel, especially for business trips. Stayed at Corinthia nevskiy prospect once and liked Aston Hotel better.

Excellent rating for value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
40
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodø, Nordland, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked this hotel via Hotels.com, and almost all the reviews there where so positive. I should have read these ones here at TA before booking, because they are much more accurate! I´ve travelled a lot, and slept at many different hotels. I have never complained about a hotel before, but the information given to me prior this stay was so wrong that I felt tricked:

• Even though they state that this is a four stars hotel, it is not. If I should compare it to other hotels, it´s more a 2 stars.

• On the information on hotels.com it stated that all the rooms had a balcony, facing either the street or the backyard. Well, none of the rooms have balcony.

• The standard room is supposed to have a fan, it does not.

• The standard rooms is located on the 5th and 6th floor, and the elevator only goes up to the 4th. To get to the 5th and 6th floor, you have to take the elevator (which is one of the smallest I´ve ever seen) to the 4th floor, and then walked through the enitre floor, until you get to the emergency exit. Then you have to walk through the emergency exit, and up a very narrow and steap staircase. This "hall" is very sketcky looking, and I was actually saying to the housekeeper who led us there: "Are you kidding me?!" because it looked so shabby. Well, she was not. We then called down to the "reception" telling them that this what not what we have ordered; we have ordered a room with a balcony and a fan, and that we we´re not pleased with the location of this room. She then said that I had to pay more money if I wanted a room in elevator-distance, because this was standard +. According to her, the only thing different between the standard and the standard + was the location of the rooms in the hotel. This is not accurate to what was stated on their information page at hotels.com.

• The entire hotel smelled of a mixture of paint, strong perfume and after shave.

• Even though we complained, no actions took place. They did nothing to better our impression of their hotel.

The location is great though, and I think that this is the only good thing about this hotel. But you´ll find cheaper hotels, with the same location - which will give you much better value than Hotel Aston.

Visited January 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irina A, Director of Sales at Aston Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear VivLille,
Thank you for the time you have paid for writing reviews about the hotel. It is very important to know your opinion to improve service at the hotel. We will certainly correct the wrong information about our rooms at our partner Hotels.com. We have balconies only in category "Superior".We also sincerely sorry that you had to deal with the difficulties and imperfections of service when staying at our hotel. Rest assured, we will make every effort to eliminate all deficiencies.
Best regards,
Aleshchenko Anastasiya
Head of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Far
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had reserved a King size bed room with a couch, which I understood to be one of their largest rooms. It looked nice on the internet. When we got there, after struggling in the door with our bags (this is not the sort of place where anyone holds the door for you or helps you with your bags), it turned out the room was kind of dank and smelly. It just had a dampness to it. The sofa in the room was a stained, worn chenille - which would've been by the curb long ago in my house. There was no way I was going to ask my son to sleep on that thing. The bed was not covered by a bed spread, but by a bed skirt - strange. In fact, the bed itself seemed to be sort of a box spring. The room and the bathroom were quited dated, and the bathroom door knob was falling off.
Anyway, there was no way we were going to spend four days there. We walked around the corner and inquired at the Radisson Royal Hotel, which fortunately had a large room that we were able to move into.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here recently for three nights and chose the hotel for it's convenient location just off Nevesky Prospect, one of the main central roads.
The rooms are small, not ideal for a couple other than a short visit although it was clean with a good modern bathroom and excellent free wifi. Breakfast was fine, the staff pleasant and the Receptionists charming and very helpful. My street view room was not at all noisy and offered a better view than of the courtyard. The hotel provided a first class taxi driver.
The city is stunning with a beautifully preserved central area replete with fine Neo Classical architecture, opulent former palaces, extravagant churches all criss crossed by canals and magnificent sea views. Many excellent restaurants within walking distance, food prices about 30% less than London equivalents.
The locals were courteous but somewhat reserved and at the tourist attractions occasionally overwhelmed by the thousands of visitors so expect long queues.

Room Tip: Choose street view as opposed to courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited a hotel during a business trip in may 2012, been staying for 2 nights.

Perfectly situated - right around the corner from Nevsky avenue which is a general street of the whole city. The hotel is a great choise for unmounted trip lovers. There's a lot of cafes and restraunts on Nevsky, also some places of interest are situated down the avenue.

I had a room on the top floor with windows faced on Vladimirsky. The room was little but cosy with a nice big bed. The bathroom was also neat and tidy - with a lot of towels and shower tools but without a bathrobe. Wi-Fi is free (or included in room price).

Breakfasts were fine, though nothing special: porridge, juice, ham with cheese, eggs for demand.

The Aston hotel is a very affordable place in the heart of the city to spend a couple of nights. I can recommend it for everyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have been recently in this Hotel that is considered a 4 stars hotel. This is by far not a four stars hotel in spite that the price is similar to better hotels in the city. It is really quite well localized but there is not any lobby (Important if you need to stay wailing for your late flight). The rooms are very very small with not so good linen, the doors need to be closed by force in order to close them properly, the room cleaning service is less than basic and when we come back to our room at 5 PM for some rest the room was still not cleaned. The breakfast is very simple with no fresh bread and whitout enough choosen products, the restorant staff doesn't speek english at all and didn't undertand what we wan't. In the reservation there are specifications like Cookeware, dishes and utensills but they are not there.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel, then you can choose it but the city for sure can offer better ones.
Just one positive comment: The reception desk staff try harder to give good service but it is not enough. All the three reception desk speaks good english (Yes there are only three rotating about 12 hours duty each one).

Room Tip: Rooms on the central courtyeard have noisy garbage collection early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was very disappointed by my stay at Aston hotel. Unfortunately all the negative points mentioned in earlier reviews were still not corrected by the hotel, and combined with other issues, this made if for me a very unpleasant 10 days experience.

The main issues that I encountered:

- bed sheets are dirty. No matter that you clearly ask to the reception "please put clean sheets", no, there are always stains. Some even looked like blood.

- if your neighbors smoke, then invite them to your room, as it won't make a difference. Smoke goes to the ventilation ducts and ends up in your room.

- breakfast is very poor, nothing seems to be fresh, coffee that is served there is barely flavored water (and when you ask for a real coffee they will charge you for it).

- standard rooms are extremely small. You can barely walk around the bed.

- Bathroom is not equipped with air extraction, so expect smell of humidity (and occasionally of dirty pipes).

- As said in earlier reviews, they don't have in house laundry. So they bring your clothes to another hotel. This takes 2 days. And you won't get your shirts ironed! That would be too much service for the client. Instead of this, your clean clothes are rolled into a plastic bag and handed over to you. If you ask why it isn't ironed, they send you an iron and board to your room. How thoughtful!

- I could feel all the springs of my mattress. Didn't have a single good night sleep during all my stay.

- Except for one guy, the staff was everything but helpful, and often even rude.
And all this for a 125 euros a night hotel... I won't go again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel

Address: Vladimirskiy Ave., 5, St. Petersburg 191005, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
N: Aston - a new Italian hotel located in a palace built in the early XIX century. Located three minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect, close to metro stations Vladimirskaya and Dostoevsky. The interiors are designed in Venetian style, the best Italian craftsmen, is striking in its beauty. In the reconstruction of the palace managed to keep the ladder in 1834. The hotel has 40 rooms of the highest class with a cozy interior at affordable prices, which are divided into five categories (standard + 17M2, 17M2 Classic, Superior twinm 24m2, 24m2 double superior, premium 36m2). Each room has a desk, LCD TV, telephone, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, safe, mini-bar, private bathroom with hairdryer and a set of bath cosmetics. The bathroom is equipped fixtures imported. Provides fire protection system, rooms for smokers and nonsmokers.Italian restaurant <>. Every morning from 7.30 Am to 11.00 Am you can enjoy a real home-made breakfast, "buffet" included in the price. You will be offered porridge, omelets, light salads, pastries, traditional Russian pancakes, cheese cakes, yogurts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.