We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel close to tourist attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aleksandria

Save Saved
You added Aleksandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aleksandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spasskiy Lane, 6-8, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 262 hotels in St. Petersburg
1 review
“Budget hotel close to tourist attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Budget hotel in a reasonable location within walking distance to most the major tourist attractions.
The breakfast was pretty poor, not much to choose from and constantly had to ask staff to top up things.
Rooms are basic but clean.
Overall not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My experience in this hotel was far from expected for the price paid.
First of all, this hotel is hidden and difficult to find (there is only a small plaque in the door), once you enter you find yourself in a dirty and messy staircase with no lift, and the hotel is in the third floor.
When you enter reception things improve a bit until they tell you that you have to pay extra for registering your passports (with no previous notice). You also have to pay extra for changing towels (we left one on the floor for changing it and it was not replaced).
Room was big and clean but beds (specially the extra one) were awful.
Breakfast was normal for such a small hotel but service was horrible, slow and rude.
I definitely do not recommend this hotel, there are much better options in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfitelHotelGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Aleksandria, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We apologize for delivered inconveniences during your accommodation! The hotel is in a five-floor historical building of the city therefore there is no lift. Probably you arrived to hotel during face lifting of an entrance therefore the ladder was dirty, now it looks better. Registration of foreign citizens is a compulsory procedure for all foreign citizens arriving to Russia, according to the federal legislation of the Russian Federation. And we have no right to go against the law. With a situation with towels we promise to deal. Change of linen shoul be one in three days, additional change of linen is paid separately! Towels change necessarily! Thanks for your response about our hotel! The criticism improves our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

the worst hotel i've ever been in my life...
hidden,dirty,stinky,sad,noisy....awful breakfast...
the only good point is the location,very close to the metro station,but it's not enough!!
we'll surely return in this nice city but somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at Aleksandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. Having looked another reviews. we noticed, that only one true thing, which is written in your review is noisy guest rooms. We know this fact and we apologize for this inconvenience. We decide to provide for all guests ear plugs. According to your review, your opinion regarding our hotel is prejudicial.We investigated your situation and now we know that you did not have any complaints regarding hotel and service during your stay. If you said something to administartor, we would have found for you an alternative accommodation from the hotels of our group. Thank you for such warm words about St.Petersburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My first thought when the taxi took us to the address was " We've been ripped off, there is no hotel". However looks can be deceiving. The hotel was on the 3rd floor of the building. No lift. Behind that door was a different world. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was good and the staff were pleasant. The cooked breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have stayed in Comfitel Alexandria, St Petersburg, from 21 to 27 April 2012. The location is good. The staff is not friendly but professional. But... be aware, that they charge or intend to do it if you don't say nothing for common things. Like, if you need a declaration to get a Visa (1000 roubles), the registration in police (200 roubles). And it was only one sheet written in Russian, nothing more, that you will stay at their hotel, that you have already paid. You are in Russia, you know, as a tourist you must pay extra for everything. Hope they change and open mind. Overall, nice location, nice city.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor, is more quiet. The reception is in the third floor, you always ear the ring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfitelHotelGroup, Front Office Manager at Aleksandria, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest! Thank you for your review.
We always pay a lot attention on guest's opinion.
Unfortunately, we could not issue for your visa vouchers, as we can not be authorized by our Goverment as tour agency, because we are group of Hotels. Our partner travel agency charges 1000 RUB in order to issue for guests special vouchers with TOUR Index, which you need to show in Russian embassy. Without this code, you can not obtain for Russian visa.
We provide for you additional service- express check in in Migration Department. According to Russian laws every foreign person must be registered on address, where he or she lives in Russia. To register by yourself you need to go to the Migration office, wait in line. it's always brought a lot of inconvenience for foreigners. Because of this fact, we offer you to use this service and save time for looking sightseeing.
We do our best to make all guests stay comfortable in our Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Rooms are big in size but the beds are awful. Two matresses on one bed, and very soft - imposiible to sleep. Pillows are very old, rough and hilly. Not recommended for those, who have problems with your back.
Bathroom is ok, but has bad smell form canalization - which is quite often for Saint Pete.
Moreover we had a have smell of smoke in the room, but hotel managers did nothing, when we told them about it.
Breakfast are pretty nice for this type of hotel.

I won't return to these hotel until they have normal beds with normal matrasses and pillows.

Room Tip: Well, our room #11 had a heavy smell of smoke, but I'm not sure it will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfitelHotelGroup, General Manager at Aleksandria, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear guest!
Thank you for your review. We feel very sorry that our administration did not offer for you room upgrade because of bad smell from your bathroom and smoking smell from your room. We will investigate this problem, and please be assured that we will do our best to teach our staff how to react on these situations.
Moreover, we changed pillows in this room and also please be assured that we checked all pillows in other rooms.
We apologize for inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel arranged a pick-up at the airport for us. At first glance, the hotel Is in an older building. When you enter the stairway, it also looks worn and aged. When you arrive at reception, on third floor, walk-up, you enter a very modern, beautiful facility. Rooms are spacious and modern. It is another world on the inside. We received a very good rate. Well worth the money. Our deluxe room was more like a mini-suite. Receptionists very hospitable and courteous. They speak English. Rooms come with very good breakfast. Hotel is situated in a great location. We walked almost everywhere. Local restaurants had great food and reasonably priced. If you need a room with a shower, request one, otherwise you may get a room with a large tub with a flex shower handle/head.
The person who rated this hotel poorly because of it's entrance appearance should realize that typically all the building entrances are iron doors or gates. The buildings are old and have a lot of history. Enjoy where you are visiting or stay home.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and modern. See pictures on hotel sight for the room which best serves you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aleksandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleksandria

Address: Spasskiy Lane, 6-8, St. Petersburg 190031, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 262 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aleksandria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is very popular among the visitors who needs to book hotel in St. Petersburg in Russia. The hotel is situated in the city centre, Spasskiy lane, five minutes walk to the "Sennaya Ploshchad" and "Sadovaya" metro stations and not far from the Griboedov channel embankment. It is close to all important places of interest – Isaac’s Square, Kazan Cathedral and the Savior-on-the-Blood. There are 11 comfortable rooms in the hotel, mended with the last technologies. 7 of them are standard and 4 – deluxe rooms. All the rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, bath or shower, hairdryer, mini-bar, telephone, TV and Internet access. Hotel’s warm interior will create a pleasant atmosphere both for rest and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aleksandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleksandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.