We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean simple hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Life

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Life to your Saves list
Hostel Life
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Nevskiy Ave., 47, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia (Vladimir)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great, clean simple hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hostel life has everything you need for a great stay in St. Petersburg. Excellent location, large bathroom with large showers, very friendly staff, and central location. Make sure you contact them if you are arriving at Pulkovo airport, they offer pick up from the airport for a third of the cost of the scam artist taxi drivers at the airport. Large kitchen, tours of St. Petersburg, and computers also are available at the hostel. Look no further.

Room Tip: If your room is on Nevetsky Prospekt, wear ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
12
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent facilities, Clean and quiet. Superb location overlooking Nevsky Prospekt. Really helpful staff. Fantastic value for money.The hostel is opposite to the Radisson and a fraction of the price. I would definitely stay here again.Brilliant location.

Room Tip: The 4 bed rooms are good value; enough privacy without overcrowding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Definitely the best hostel I stayed in. I wasn't expecting it to be in Russia!

Everything is super clean and modern from top to bottom (the hostel opened in 2010): in the common rooms new and colorful furniture, renovated floor and walls, fully equiped kitchen, tv, 4 computers and wifi; in the rooms new bed, lockers; clean towels and bel linens are provided which is always great. The bathrooms are huge and you never queue up to take a shower which is a blast (and they have hair-dryer!)

Perfectly located, 10 meters from the Nevsky (but suprisingly really quiet), and for the price and the facilities you just cannot get better in Petersburg (most big old hotels you can find at this central location are much less appealing); you won't need to take the subway to visit the Spilled blood cathedral of the Hermitage which is heaven of course. No need to worry about getting home at night, you just follow the central avenue. (and the hostel is safe, the entrance being controlled by a security camera). If you want to take the subway to go beyond the city center though, it's only a few minutes walk (station on Nevsky)

Since I already knew the city, I didn't interract much with the staff so I cannot tell about it (but remember you are in Russia so please stop having high-expectative and complain about their supposedly coldness...) But one time I just asked if they could suggest good places to eat and were really nice explaining everything!

Be prepared to take your shoes off within the hostel! Great initiative by the way, both in terms of noise and cleanness (especially cleanness!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hostel with very good facilities right in the center of Saint Petersburg. I stayed 4 nights in a single room with shared bathroom. Staff in comparison to other countries rather sour, starting with not excepting my YH-card when I payed, then taking almost 3 days for my registration to be processed, telling me I don't need an immigration card when arriving by train, which was absolutely not true. I just wasn't aware that my Belarus immigration card was also valid for Russia. Thank God I didn't chuck it away but kept it as a souvenir, so I didn't run into problems leaving the country from Ulan-Ude. Then one night there were heavy rains and the next morning the showers/toilets didn't function. The staff obviously didn't care at all about the needs of their guests who complained about this (and the staff were mostly female students in their early twenties who spoke good English!), and indeed reacted totally indifferent, almost rude.
Breakfast was basic and on that morning without tea or coffee since the water didn't run. And the state of the toilets towards midday on that morning was disgusting and again nobody cared.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked out a 4 bed dorm travelling with friends, rooms were large enough, BEAUTIFUL views of St Petersburg outside our big windows. Beds were comfortable and lockers were provided in the room aswell as coat hangers on a coat rack.

Heating was good as it was cold in April, bathrooms were large with lots of showers, toilets and hand basins, as well as washing machine and dryer. Hostel provides storage lockers for shoes at reception, as you have to wear slippers around the hostel (provided for a small fee). I think wearing slippers is a great idea, bit of a nuisance at first, but you can really see how clean the hostel is by not having muddy shoe tracks everywhere!

About a 15 minute walk to The Church of the Spilled Blood, in which there is a nice little market behind where you can buy your matryoshka dolls and fur hats! Its on a few more minutes walk to The Hermitage from there.

Surrounded by shops, restaurants and secure ATMs, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I've decided to stay in "Hostel Life" on the recommendation of a friend and I am not disappointed at the end, I should add that it was the first hostel experience in my life and I was expecting something worse.
Well and simply furnished, clean and modern looking hostel, receptionists are kind and helpfull. During my stay I've used the kitchen very actively, its possible to find any necessary equipment for cooking, everything looks new. There are 4 computers and a TV in the living room. There is also a washing machine in the bathroom, bathroom was clean all the time.
I've spent 9 days in the 4 bed room. I think the size of the room is a bit small for 4 people. Within 9 days I've experienced problem with hot water 2 times, but it didnt last too long.
I'll surely recommend this hostel to my friends without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Sot, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed at hostel life for 4 nights. It was easy to find and the hostel is close to main street where many tourist sites are located nearby. The hostel is also close to cafes, restaurants, bars, and small supermarket. It was very convenient to go everywhere. Staffs were very helpful and they were well organized. The facilities like bathrooms and kitchen are well-equipped. The female dorm room is great. The bed is clean and lockable. The security is very good here. So, clean and nice hostel though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Life

Address: Nevskiy Ave., 47, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vladimir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 882 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Life 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL LIFE is a new cheap youth backpackers hostel in Saint-Petersburg. The hotel is located in the centre of the city at Nevsky prospect. We are glad to offer our dear guests comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price in our hostel in Petersburg.HOSTEL LIFE is designed for up-to-date people who care both about saving their money and living at the main street of the city.Having checked in our hostel in Saint Petersburg you will find yourself in the heart of the city and next to all famous palaces, parks, theatres, museums, art galleries, monuments, rivers, canals and drawbridges.All the nearby entertaining and transport infrastructure such as hundreds of fashionable boutiques and shops, bars with partying youth, restaurants, cinemas, concert halls, subway and railway stations will make your stay in Hostel life an unforgettable experience.HOSTEL LIFE is a cheap backpackers hostel of a new era. While designing and constructing it we used all modern hotel business technologies and materials of high quality. That’s why we guarantee our guests high standards of safety and security with European level of comfort. There are 22 rooms in HOSTEL LIFE. 68 guests can comfortably stay here. While decorating the rooms we used carpeting, ecologically safe paints and modern technologies.We took into account everything you could need here. There are comfortable rooms, a big living room with soft furniture, kitchen, internet zone with 4 computers, 24-hour reception service, and bathrooms with necessary equipment, washing machine, dishwasher, personal lockers, luggage room, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.