We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, slightly fancier little Georgian restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Restaurant

Cat Restaurant
Karavannaya st., 24 | Nevsky Prospect, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
+7 812 315-38-00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 7,948 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 106 Reviews
Price range: $20 - $42
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the very heart of St Petersburg, on the Karavannaya Street - two minutes walk from the Gostiniy Dvor metro station - you find CAT, the well-known restaurant of Georgian cuisine. It is the beloved place of the connoisseurs of the real home-made Georgian food. The moment you walk in the CAT at Karavannaya 24, you see the main design detail of the restaurant - a lot of pictures of the famous guests with their autographs and words of gratitude for the delicious food and excellent service. What makes the atmosphere absolutely mesmerizing is the live music every evening. The most striking thing about the CAT is that you always get this warm feeling as if you are home, due to the unique Georgian hospitality.
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good, slightly fancier little Georgian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice interior, excellent service (including English spoken) and a quality, varied menu. I recommend the sashliks. They even had a live music thing going on. Prices are relatively expensive but still OK, and you get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try Georgian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a late lunch at Cat with friends from Finland recently and the three of us were truly impressed by the flavors of the food as well as the attentive service. As a starter we ordered the stuffed bread- one with cheese and one with meat. They were both delicious, pizza sized and perfect for sharing. The meat was nicely seasoned and delicious and the cheese was very good, too. Although these are offered as an appetizer they can easily make a meal. I ordered a second appetizer as my main dish, grilled eggplant rolled around walnut paste and garnished with pomegranate and dill. It sounds odd, but it is honestly the most delicious item I have ever eaten in a restaurant. I am a big fan of eggplant and this was hands down the most interesting preparation of it. I cannot remember what my friends ordered, but they really enjoyed their dishes. (There are many types of grilled meats and kebabs available.) What really made Cat stand out for us was the attentive service. Our waiter was both friendly and helpful- not something we found in other St. Petersburg restaurants. If you are in St. Petersburg, you must try Cat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akranes, Borgarfjardarsysla, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top service and first class meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

In my five person group, we had a private side-room, as the main dining room was reserved. I'm a rather difficult person to please when it comes to eating as I´m a gourmet and a gourmand. You can be assured that the food is excellent and in good portion sizes. The wine is excellent. Service is excellent. There was absolutely no problem in communicating our requirements. We left well fed and well pleased. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“A "Must-Visit" Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My fiancé and I were looking for some place special to celebrate our first anniversary. The special place turned out to be "CAT", a restaurant of Georgian cuisine. It's a small, cozy restaurant right in the heart of the city. The minute we walked in we were captivated by the ambiance, everything felt just right, as if we were home. The service was top notch! Georgian cuisine was new to us so we didn't really know where to begin, but our waiter - a very friendly and polite young gentleman- told us all about various dishes and recommended the most delicious ones. The food was truly great. It tasted like real food! We got a georgian salad, khachapuri , satsivi (I hope I spelled it right :) ) and eggplants with nuts. The portions were big enough so we were pretty full. We spent a couple hours there talking, reminiscing, enjoying the atmosphere, the smiling faces, the wonderful food and nice calm Georgian music.
If you're looking for a homey yet stylish place with relaxing atmosphere, good food and staff, CAT is the perfect combination of it all.
Charming place, will hopefully return when we're in St. Petersburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannstadt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Georgian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Trying to open the language and the cultural barriers without a good translator would lead to surprising dishes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Cat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.