We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgian food and Culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Restaurant

Cat Restaurant
Karavannaya St., 24, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
7-812-3153800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 7,997 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $42
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the very heart of St Petersburg, on the Karavannaya Street - two minutes walk from the Gostiniy Dvor metro station - you find CAT, the well-known restaurant of Georgian cuisine. It is the beloved place of the connoisseurs of the real home-made Georgian food. The moment you walk in the CAT at Karavannaya 24, you see the main design detail of the restaurant - a lot of pictures of the famous guests with their autographs and words of gratitude for the delicious food and excellent service. What makes the atmosphere absolutely mesmerizing is the live music every evening. The most striking thing about the CAT is that you always get this warm feeling as if you are home, due to the unique Georgian hospitality.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Georgian food and Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tiny little restaurant in a back street just off Nevsky Prospekt, the food makes it worth a visit, the decor is fascinating and the menu was really hearty. Great personal service, but in such a small space that's to be expected. Great value and a good experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Georgian meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It's okey if you take first and second plate. I took soup and second meal and for me it was okey. Prices are not low and for two persons you need to account aprox 2000 rub.
Taste food, very good atmosphere and, excelent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Borst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It has been a few years since I was there, but I do remember this restaurant. My wife and I were traveling from Tallinn through St. Petersburg and onto Helsinki by train. This restaurant was close to the action (Nevsky Prospect) and was very clean. I didn't get that authentic feel, but I didn't have to worry about how it was prepared. I remember sharing a few dishes with my wife and remarking how this was the first time I had Borst soup, which was a watery soup. The service was great and the prices were reasonable. I would return again. Do take care of your wallet and valuables. It might have gotten better, but I remember a lot of people we talked to conversationly would always end the conversation to be wary of pick-pockets. I am rather cautious to begin with, but my friend I was traveling with got his wallet stolen while heading down to the deep subway. By the time he got to the top and called his travel agent and credit card company they had charged a few thousand (30minutes!). Great exeperience though, St. Petersburg is beautiful and I would love to go back some day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a late lunch here. Found Ket by accident on a side street off Nevsky Prospekt. Small basement room, but well lit, clean, and attractive. Waiter spoke enough English to be helpful and offer some suggestions. Food hot, fresh, tasty. Had a hearty soup, a meat pie, and the Georgian cheese bread. Plan to go back for a dinner to sample the main dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hard to see the restaurant entrance if you're not looking for it. It's down stairs in the basement of the building with bomb shelter thick walls. The Georgian food is absolutely superb. Very small, quaint, and the lit-from-behind stain glass murals give it a romantic atmosphere. We ate here twice and the second time there were some noisy college-age students who drowned out the Georgian singer. For us, it ranked as one of the two best restaurants in St. Petersburg.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Cat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.