We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar- superb in summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W St. Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W St. Petersburg to your Saves list
W St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 276 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar- superb in summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My brief impression of the W Hotel St Petersburg - the usual glitzy affair with overly-accessorised Russian ladies in abundance, a tight little reception and uber modern statement furniture - and a fabulous rooftop bar. At sunset, after a hard day, what better place to gather with your colleagues for a cocktail and nibbles high above the rooftops. Low soft seating, alcoves with billowing fabric providing privacy, summer sun glowing soft pink on the onion domes of majestic buildings nearby, daylight fading at 10pm. Lovely, really worth the effort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    159
    48
    17
    5
See reviews for
72
213
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

By far and away, the best part about the W St. Petersburg is its location! It was immensely easy to get around the historic area -- most of it was walkable. What wasn't walkable was easily accessible using public transportation. This trip was the result of a last-minute cheap airline fare that we found to Russia from the United States, so we were only there a few short days. The convenience of the W really allowed us to see everything we wanted within the city itself. The hotel was a pretty standard W -- modern, clean, comfortable, and welcoming. Our room was stocked with Bliss Spa amenities and a Nespresso machine. The rooftop bar, while pricey, was a nice way to start off our trip as we arrived in the late evening. The view of St. Isaac's is stunning. Overall, a great use of SPG points!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Fabulous hotel in a fabulous City. The W will make you smile from arrival to departure.
The staff are great, attentive and speak very good English.
The hotel is hip and happening, with beautiful design and amenities.
The bar and restaurant are also great, and the bar has famous DJ's at the weekends.
Our room was huge, with the comfiest bed EVER!
Unfortunately we didn't have time to visit the spa..
The location you really can't beat - we could walk everywhere.
Whether for Business or pleasure, The W is a hard hotel to beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I went to the W hotel during a 5 day business trip in Saint Petersburg. The W hotel is maybe on of the best hotel I have visited so far (I visit quite a lot for business and vacation).
Upon arrival I was upgraded to a large room with beautiful view of some city landmarks. The hotel location is perfect in the center of the city and close to some of the most beautiful location (Saint Isaac cathedral, Ermitage, Admiralty). The interior design of the hotel is very modern and super trendy, while staying cosy and human size. The service of the staff is one of the best I have experienced. Concierge has great tips of restaurants, and staff is always present and responsive to questions. I received a personalized hand written letter upon arrival. A colleague whose credit card was swallowed before arrival to the hotel received a personalized cake in her room with a letter from the staff. The room offers the top of the comfort (amazing bed quality) and many amenities. The lighting is also great. The breakfast is delicious, and the restaurant very good as well. I could also enjoy the spa in the -1 that is operated by a spa company. Swimming pool is quite small to really exercise but there is a hammam and a hot tube. The bathroom contains high quality products from the Spa (shampoo, face wash, ,etc).
I highly recommend it for either business or vacation trip. Other major hotels there have a more conservative and traditional look and feel.

Room Tip: Room facing the Admiralty and Ermitage on a highfloor. In Summer, I might be cautious to choose a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to see a very lovely hotel in St. Petersburg , interiors plus their rooms and the feel of the hotel is something I look forward to and this hotel did not disappoint me . The staff where all friendly and accommodating , plus they can speak English which is a plus factor for us who cannot speak Russian . The location is perfect since it's close to most of the tourist attraction sites , especially the Hermitage which is a must see! So if ever I get a chance to go back I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After staying 4 nights at the quite outdated Hotel National in Moscow, arriving at the W St Petersburg was extremely refreshing. The amenities, the fun décor and the super friendly staff were a welcome sight. My request for a higher floor with a nice view was granted which was awesome as I got a slight view of St Isaac's Cathedral, and the Four Seasons across the road which is in a lovely historical building. However, the "Talent Entrance" for the nightclub was right across from my room so I was glad to not be staying over the weekend. The nightclub looks like an awesome place to be in the summer time with the outdoor cabanas and amazing city views.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a nice view and they are accommodating if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a horrible morning leading up to my stay. The minute I walked into the door, I felt at peace. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. I was upgraded to an amazing suite with a bottle of wine and a welcome card. The room was modern, spacious and had all the amenities I would expect from a W property. My only regret is that I didn't get to try the Mix restaurant which I heard is one of the best in the city. The front desk staff kindly recommended a back up restaurant in town that was so good, we ended up eating there twice in a day. I have stayed at many Starwood properties but in terms of overall service, amenities and design, this one is certainly in my top five favorite properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W St. Petersburg

Address: Voznesenskiy Ave., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#10 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#15 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W St. Petersburg 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern wonder romanced by Saint Petersburg's elegant traditions, where nostalgia meets cutting edge cool in Russia's historical capital of glamour, fashion, and music. Conceptualized by award-winning designers Antonio Citterio Patricia Viel and Partners, W St. Petersburg is located in the heart of the city next to St. Isaac's Cathedral, a stones throw from the lavish Winter Palace with the famed Hermitage Museum and a short stroll from the spectacular Neva River. Indulge in our restaurant, tune into the DJ beats in our panoramic bar or terrace and unwind at bliss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your W St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w St. Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.