We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel on my trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradition Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tradition Hotel to your Saves list
Tradition Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dobrolubova Av_., 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel on my trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was taking a sabbatical from work through 9 countries over a period of 9 weeks. I stayed a total of five nights in St. Petersburg at the Tradition hotel. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. They spoke great English and was very attentive to my needs. The room was great. The cleaning staff made it spotless every day and the furniture was all of solid wood construction. The room was very tastefully arranged and made me feel at home when I would come back after a long day of touring. And the bathroom was awesome! Heated flooring tiles, a raised cameo relief tile on the tile wall beside the tub/shower. Spacious, warm on your feet, and comfy.

The location was right next to Peter and Paul's fortress and a short walk to the Hermitage. Better yet, you had a gorgeous view right out of hotel windows of the river at night with the lights of the Hermitage and surrounding buildings. The hotel was very quiet, in a mostly residential neighborhood that had a couple markets, a bank, and restaurants that ranged from high end to grabbing a quick bite - all within a block.

The only thing they didn't have was a restaurant/bar in the lobby, but both were less than a block from the front door. If they would have a restaurant - they would likely have been raised to a four star hotel and the price would have gone up. Instead, you get a premium room at a great rate. Best hotel room stay in the 10 hotels in the 10 cities I visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Rob_The_TravelWop,

Thank you so much for your perfect ratings of our hotel comparing to many other hotels. All our staff members were lucky to read that they we do a really good job. It makes a great support for all of us.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    73
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
104
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I went to St. Petersburg for a few days.
We were supposed to stay at a rented apartment (à la Air b'nb) but we really didn't like the place; it wasn't super clean, the neighbours were noisy and it was HORRIBLY hot.
Not wanting our trip to be completely ruined, I went online and checked the good hotels in St.P.

Tradition Hotel came up pretty high, so I booked it... it was pricy (compared to the apartment we rented) but TOTALLY worth it.

Loved the room (although not very big), the view, the bed, the Internet...
My only complain was that it's a bit far from Nevsky; if you don't like to walk, as kanekokimiya wrote, you'll be unhappy. We didn't really care, as walking on St.P's bridges is always a pleasure.
Great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear kurzorama,

Thank you for choosing us! It's great to read that you have noticed what other reviewer told about the beautiful walks across the bridges and that you also enjoyed it. All the information you post about personal travel experience is very useful for many independent travellers and helps other to make a right choice. Thank you once again!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was great..least walk to most sites.. Good part of town too.
David the receptionist spoke wonderful English and the hotel was very welcoming.
The standard room,however, was small and no bath tub...we tried to upgrade but there were none available.
There is a smell when you get there, but it is from the river...
Breakfast is plentiful...but not English...loads of cake.
I had a problem with my phone being hacked when I was using the hotel Internet..so be careful.
Great cleaner..does a brilliant job,

Room Tip: Upgrade ! It's good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Wendy H,

Thank you for your positive review! We serve rather often home made cakes so I think you had a luck to try them all. Sausages, eggs, vegetables are also served daily, so we hope that every guest has a chance to find something delicious.

It'sa first time when our guest noticed some hackers actions with the phone and we have now consultations with our IT support team. We all use our smartphones with local wi-fi and never experienced any kind of hacking. If you have more information about this case you are welcome to contact us.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
Tradition Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

hotel stuff made good,comfortable service. you can good view helmitage museum , Neva river.
breakfast is well.
location is not bad , not good.
if you often want to go to nevsky on foot , maybe you need to stay in near nevsky
i like to walk , so i like this hotel
my room is very near street , so a little noisy from cars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear kanekokimiya,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your high ratings of our breakfast and your stay in general. We hope that you have now good memories about your trip to St. Petersburg.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Tradition Hotel and had a wonderful time. The room was very nice and, most importantly, very quiet. Staff were extremely friendly and spoke English very well. Breakfast was very good and there was a quite a variety of offerings from which to choose. It was about a 15 minute walk to get to the Hermitage as others have noted, however, the views from the hotel's location and during the period of time one spends walking over the bridges are pretty spectacular. In short, I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear irawine,

Thank you for choosing Tradition Hotel as your home in St. Petersburg. Based on your story about the spectacular views while crossing the bridges we are happy to announce that the Palace bridge (Dvortsovy) will be 100% ready for transort and pedestrians starting from October 19th after a long reconstruction period.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent one week in the Tradition hotel and we had a lovely stay. The room was pretty big with a small fridge, ac and Tv. People at the front desk were very helpful and after finding out it was our wedding anniversary offered us a bottle of champagne.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is on the Petrograd island across from the Ermitage museum (beautiful view at night). We never had a problem with the bridges because we don't stay up that late but I guess it could be a problem for people who like to stay up very late.
You can walk to Ermitage and Saint Isaac after crossing the 2 bridges but you can also take the bus (191 passes the Ermitage and goes no Nevski) or take streetcar 6 to go on the other side of the garden. In the other direction you can take streetcar 6 to go to Vasilyevsky Island and visit the pedestrian street and near the St Andre Church, a very traditionnal market.
On the same Island don't miss Temple of Assomption, one of the most beautiful churches of St Petersburg .

Room Tip: superior rooms are on the street, but although I am very sensitive to noise, it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear dada58,

Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate for your very usefull information about the transportation. And a short notice about the bridges: there is now a night train between Admiralteyskaya and Sportivnaya stations, what means that the hotel has nightly connection with Nevsky pr.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our stayng in Saint Petersburg (3-8 sept 2013) has been wonderful due to the location of the Hotel, that gave us the possibiliy to reach the most significant sites.
The staff (2 different persons) has been extremely kind; they speack an excellent English giving us all the information to move in a city where, unfortunately, the writing and the Language don't help the visitors. They have suggested the right restaurants where we tasted very good russian dishes
The room was very comfortable, quite, and the bathroom very clean and provided with towels, bath-robe, shoes, shampoos, head-dryer, ecc. The breackfast was very reach, but the room too little!!!...
Highly recommended for a wonderful sojourn in Saint Petersburg

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear lboccardi,

Thank you for your positive review. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay in different aspects. I'd like to add that we recommend many different restaurants, but only where we had great meals personally and never where any kind of commission is offered to the hotels.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Address: Dobrolubova Av_., 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradition Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.