We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel, but not for us.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tradition Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tradition Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradition Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dobrolubova Av., 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 267 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, but not for us.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited about my stay at the Tradition hotel but I must be honest and say I was disapointed.

Hotel arranged for us to be collected at the station (fee applies) and driver was on time and friendly. Hotel is very small but beautiful decorated. Checkin was efficient and friendly. We had a room at the back of the hotel. It was small- traditional and modern at the same time. Wi-Fi struggled to connect as we must have been too far from main wifi signal, this was the first disappointment, otherwise room was nice with tea and coffee, good tv and safe. Room had no view but this isn't important to me. Slippers and bathrobe provided.

Location is good. Right beside Peter and Paul Fortress (the attraction itself isn't great but that's not the hotels fault!). It's about 15 minute walk to main tourist sites like the Hermitage and just a bit further till you hit restaurants etc. Metro is about a 10 minute walk away through a nice park.

I booked 3 nights but checked out after the first one. Hotel seemed genuinely disapointed I was checking out but were accommodating. I just had an awful nights sleep ! The air con in the room had a real running water sound to it every 15 mins or so... Very annoying... The beds weren't exactly the comfiest in the world and the main problem was the outside noise. All the way till at least mid night I was annoyed by what sounded like a underground train going beneath me. Really don't know what it was but it was very noticeable and made my mind up to leave.

Breakfast was beautifully presented with a lovely selection.

Overall I can see why people want to stay here. If I had a better room maybe this review would be very different. The one staff member we encountered was pleasant too, but for over £150 for an awful nights sleep 3 stars is generous.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear aniceglassofred,

Thank you for your review wit lot of warm words about our property. We have checked the aircondition in your room and found out that the filter really should be changed as that caused this sounds (not any other room has this problem). As for the strange noices... well we wanted to find them, but unseccessfull. We suppose that the works on the roof could have some specific sound at that moment, but, again, not now. We are sorry for any inconvinience you had during your stay and we thank you for all good words you found for Tradition Hotel.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    70
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
99
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here with my friend from 27th to 31st Aug 2013. We were absolutely delighted with the comfort and service we enjoyed. In particular the reception staff who all spoke English were at all times very friendly and helpful. From visa support and pick up at the airport to arranging a private tour and organising room service, all our needs were met. The room and bathroom were a decent size, the beds were very comfortable, the shower was terrific, there were complimentary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, BBC World News on the tv and every morning a terrific breakfast . Previous reviewers have mentioned the traffic noise but in fact it was fairly subdued. However if you are a light sleeper you should request a room at the back.
I should also mention, because I was thrilled by it, that this hotel is so tastefully furnished that I felt I was staying in a very exclusive boutique hotel.
Location is about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the centre, a very pleasant walk over two bridges, and just across the road from the Peter and Paul fortress. If I were ever to return to St Petersburg I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kimscotland,

Thank you for your great review. You've marked many important moments about our hospitality policy: we really have soundproofed windows, and we try to accommodate light sleepers with innerview room (just sometimes it doesn't work if we have high occupancy and there are many requests). And, yes - we are proud about our style: it was a serious work of our owners to realize their own design ideas.

Kind regads,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a marvelous stay at the tradition hotel. A very good spot near all the beautifull attractions in St Petersburg. The staff were very helpfull even before our trip to get an invitation. The rooms were good. Even though we were at the streetside there was no noice. Only small thing, litterary, was the breakfast room. It was a little small but the breakfast was good. All in all a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andy H,

Thank you for being our guest. It's great to know that a room with a streetview did not disturb your sleep. We only can confirm that our breakfast room can offer 12 seats at one time. But probably next year a small additional space will be added to our lovely breakfast room, so it'll be more tables to enjoy the meals.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

St. Petersburg is na expensive city, Tradition Hotel , is a fairly good small hotel, located in a strategic spot. near underground station and major attractions. Across the Neva River, just in front Peter and Pauls Fortress.
The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, at the day of our departure , very early in the morning they arranged a bag of sandwichs and fruits.
15 minutes walk to Hermitage Museum. a nice stroll across the bridge . There are some restaurant around and also a pizzeria.
There´s a deli were you can buy snacks, softdrinks and some spirits just 200m crossing the road in front.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Marievar2013,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to read that you've enjoyed the walk till Hermitage as we love it too!

Kind regads,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I spent two night at Tradition Hotel in August 2013, and was very pleased with my stay.

The location is great, especially if you consider the reasonable price (I paid around EUR 75 – a real bargain in St.Petersburg). It will take you about 10 minutes to walk to the metro station “Sportivnaya”, 5 minutes to Peter and Paul Fortress, 10-15 minutes to the Winter Palace and 20 minutes to The Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood.

I had a single room, and appreciated the narrow bed– the rest of the room got more spacious and open. The bed was comfortable with big pillows, the air-condition was super effective (it cooled down the room in a couple of minutes) and I heard very little from the street. The room was well maintained, seemed “new” (with an old style though) and clean. The receptionists were all helpful and spoke well English. They also helped me with Visa to Russia, and answered questions over email before arrival. Extra plus for that! The only thing that put a downer to my stay was the Internet connection – or the lack of it. I could barely check my e-mail and Facebook.

A taxi from the airport to the hotel costs about RUB 1000, and I did not even consider it, as I am used to travelling alone and on budget. Unfortunately the alternative turned out to be a bit more complicated than expected. But if you, like me, are determine to save some bucks and think that it cannot possibly be that difficult, here is the way:

1. When you leave the airport, walk 50 meter to your left and you will find the bus stop for #13. The ticket cost RUB 25 in August 2013. Depart at “Moskovskaya” (after about 30 minutes), where you will spot the entrance to the metro right away
2. Buy a “ticket” (a token here) for RUB 28 (two if you are carrying luggage). Take Line 2 to “Sadovaya” and change to Line 4. Depart at “Sportivnaya”
3. When you get up from the metro, walk alongside the park (away from the stadium).

This is the easiest way to ne sure you are walking in the right direction. Follow the road and you will easily find the hotel near the waterfront. It should not take more than 12 minutes to walk with suitcases

There was plenty of long and steep stairs on the old metro stations, so get ready for some serious workout with heavy luggage. English is rarely spoken… And no, Russian is not very easy to read or understand. But if you are up for the challenge… =)

The breakfast costs RUB 800, and was in my opinion not even worth trying. I took the metro to “Okay” (station “Electrosila”, line 2), a big supermarket in St.Petersburg, and bought food for three days. It cost me around RUB 800. Money saved, is money earned!

If you want the cheapest souvenirs, buy them at the stands inside Paul and Peter Fortress.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TheSuitcase,

Thank you for your very informative review. It's great that independent travellers can read now so much usefull information as we always support individual and independent travellers. All our staff members di the same while being on vacation. A separate breakfast in our hotel is really 800 Rub per person and it's a pity truth about serving a breakfast with a large choice in such a small hotel. But we do a lot to serve it good and trying to keep the quality of products high enough to satisfy our guests.
Anyway we wish you great travel experiences in the future!

Kinds ragards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

It's an small Hotel in a good condition. Without elevator. We had good luck with the room because was silent and quiet.
Rooms with street view must be noisy! We had a problem with air conditioning and they give us two presents for the inconvenience. It could be a good choice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear se04394,

Thank you for your fair review. We really had one airconditioner broken during your stay but due to 100% occupancy were unable to change the room. A week later the problem was solved and since that time everything works fine. Thank you once again for being our guest.

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 17 days as independent travellers. This hotel offers fabulous value in a city that is very expensive. The front desk staff were all superb and gave us great support during our stay with recommendations and booking restaurants. We booked early in fact 6 months before our visit and got a very favourable rate. The hotel has about 16 rooms so it makes sense to book early. We chose a standard room.It was very quiet and had more than enough space. The air conditioning system was quieter than most and very efficient. The hotel arranged a taxi transfer from the airport and also the return which I would recommend. They issued the visa support letters for us which was quickly done by e mail. For the information of British tourists I would say that Russian visas are a bit of a pain but we used Scots travel visas in London and they were very helpful and ensured that we had ticked all the boxes. We ate out many times and I will mention three particular favourites being the Idiot cafe which is near to the Marinsky theatre and cafe Levin which had superb service with good English and Cafe Mozart which is an easy 20 minute walk from the hotel. The metro at Sportynaya is only a 15 minute walk and the system is really easy to use. Buy tokens for 28 roubles just over 50 pence and you can make a single journey anywhere on the system and it is a very efficient travel system. Don't miss the Hermitage museum with its 3 million exhibits. Don't go as part of a tour. Go on your own and give it two days. You can book online before you go and a two consecutive day option is available at a reduced rate. Just present your E voucher at the seperate booth and you will avoid queuing completely. Peterhof is also a must. Go out on the first hydrofoil of the day at about half ten and give yourself at least 5 hours on arrival as the Palace and gardens are magnificent. By careful planning you too can have the holiday of a lifetime but importantly book at the Tradition Hotel. They will look after you as if you were royalty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraditionHotel, General Manager at Tradition Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear oneisspc,

Thank you for your great review and for giving us high points! Staying for such a long time you could find some weak points in our range of services and therefore we are especially happy to read that you liked Tradition Hotel.

Thank you from all our team members!

Kind regards,
Anton Vasiliev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradition Hotel

Address: Dobrolubova Av., 2, St. Petersburg 197198, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 267 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradition Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition Hotel, located in the very heart of the city, offers you a great experience of accommodation with a unique location, traditional interiors and modern equipment. It is surrounded by some of the world's greatest tourist attractions, including the Peter and Paul Fortress, Palace Bridge, the State Hermitage. All our 16 rooms are delicately decorated and non-smoking, equipped with electronic key system, individual climate control, LCD TV, safe and free tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Tradition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradition Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.