We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly Recommend!!! Very Comfortable Stay : ))” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nevsky Contour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nevsky Contour Hotel to your Saves list
Nevsky Contour Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nevskiy Ave., 88 - 72, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia (Casting)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #33 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Strongly Recommend!!! Very Comfortable Stay : ))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My partner and I together with my brother were staying at this hotel from 23/7-26/7 for 3 nights. The accommodation in St Petersburg or Moscow are generally expensive.. This hotel is located in a small courtyard at Nevsky Prospect..Great location with affordable price in comparison with the 4 stars Nevsky Central Hotel at the opposite of the road. The room is cozy but clean and modern with all basic facilities. Even the toilet facilities are very well maintained .It's quite hot in summer and no air conditioned in the room but this happens in anywhere in St Petersburg in summer..As long as your bed is close to the window, you still get the cool breeze at night. Also, additional benefit is you get free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    109
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
81
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel is absolutely great! Great location, very central and still very quite. I absolutely loved it. The stuff was really wonderful. All the girls working there were very very willing to help and answer all sort of questions we had.

Free wi-fi, coffee and tea all day long! Very clean. It felt like home contrary to many "impersonal" hotels around. Good value as well. It offers all sot of facilities one wants at a great price.

The only disadvantage is that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, but we didn't mind. We opened the window and we had a great sleep.

We loved Saint Petersburg and we are planning to go back soon. We will definitely choose Nevsky Contour again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Chose Nevsky Contour Hotel based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. Pretty much what you read in the other reviews are spot on.

We had previously been staying at another hotel in a different part of St Petersburg earlier on in the week and then traveled to Moscow. Once coming back from Moscow, we just needed a place for one night before our flight out of St Petersburg.

Like other reviews stated, the hotel is a little hard to find, but looking for the Hotel Anabel sign is helpful and from there it's up on the 3rd floor in the building that is nestled in a courtyard right off of Nevsky Prospect. It's surprising how quiet it is being so close to a major road.

There is a tiny lift (2 people max...maybe only 1 with luggage) that at times makes you wonder if you're going to get stuck halfway up, but it works and got us up to the 3rd floor. Claustraphobic people, beware. There is also a manned desk when you first step into the building. When we arrived (with a lot of luggage!!!), they young man behind the desk insisted on helping me with my bags and literally sprinted up the 3 flights carrying my bag right into the Nevsky Contour lobby (He made 2 trips also!).

The hotel let us know that breakfast was included, but since I was leaving at 3:15am, I missed out on it. The room was a triple and had 3 twin beds, a desk with a phone and tv, and a private bathroom (and free wifi). There is no A/C, but we had a stand up fan in our room and the windows opened up to let in fresh air (we were lucky that the night we stayed, it was actually pretty cool out!). If it was too hot outside to open the windows, it might have been a little too hot for my taste without an air conditioner in the room, but like I said...we lucked out with a cool night. The only downer about the windows being open was that you could easily hear people outside of the hotel most of the night....earplugs solved that problem for me though.

As for location, its between the train station (which we came in on) and the fantanka canal with lots of shops/restaurants in between. A quick stroll from the train with our luggage and then we were off to find dinner.

The hotel doesnt provide transportaion to the airport, but the young woman at the front desk arranged a cab for us in the morning and negotiated a price for us (...after 10 days in russia, I still dont know what is a 'fair' price when it comes to cabs...but I have to say that the price was one of the cheapest rides I took all week and that was all the way out to the airport!)

Overall, I think it was a great place for the money (esp since all hotels in st pete tend to be pricey imo). It'd be great if they had air conditioning, but if you know this going in that they don't and are ok with it, then the place is great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

And the price was excellent too..
What more can you ask for ?
Loved the Nevsky Contour & would go back tommorrow.
Staff were all friendly, very helpful & spoke excellent English. Room was clean & very comfortable - ours was at the back & faced the courtyard so was really quiet.
Breakfast was light but good & they even got up early to give us hard boiled eggs, fruit & toast for an early morning flight the day we left.
Location was fantastic - right on Nevsky - and we walked to the Hermitage & most of the sights, plus its very close to the metro for those that are further away. Lots of restaurants in area - our favorite was a small Italian pizza place with a real brick oven, great Italian food & good beer & wine run by a Sicillian who'd married a St Petersburg lady. About a block away on the same side of the road in the direction of the Hermitage - English signage says Pizza

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing courtyard are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed there twice: first - by chance because I got a coupon for discount stay and then for the full price because I loved it. It's perefectly located in the historic centre near the Anichkov bridge and Fontanka river - 0,5 min to get to the Nevsky prospekt, the main city street though the building is far behind the Nevsky and very, very quiet. . Rooms are large, clean and well equipped. You cah take even their "economy' room without breakfast - there you can find a plenty of breakfast options just around the corner and there's a shared kitchen in their separate appartment (each room has facilites).
My only complaint is that it was too hot in the room during the night but it was in winter so I could open the window.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Nevsky Contour is a lovely B&B Hotel set back off Nevsky Prospect. Our room was small but well furnished with shower and TV. It was clean and warm. The staff speak excellent english and were always happy to help us out including writing some phrases we needed in Russian. There is continuous tea and coffee available. Breakfast is a buffet and there is the usual assortment of meats, cheese, bread and cereals.

Free Wifi and we also arranged an airport pickup. We booked directly on their site.

There is a nightclub opposite this hotel but we found with the window closed we could not hear anything.

This hotel can be difficult to find as it is on the 3rd floor of a builing down an alleyway and there are no signs visible from Nevsky P., just look for the Hotel Annabel sign and it is on the third floor.

We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

The Nevsky Contour Hotel is very well situated just off the main street of shops and restaurants, 20 mins walk from the main river and Hermitage museum. In spite of the location the rooms and hotel were very quiet. The facilities were at a bed and breakfast level, about a dozen en-suite rooms along a corridor, with a reception/small dining area., at one end. Everything was clean and brightly decorated, the staff were very welcoming efficient and professional, and eager to offer quality advice and assitance in English. Excellent value for money overall.

Reservations? The hotel was hard to find, with only small plaque on an alleyway wall, which led to the hotel's courtyard. No sign at the doorway of the building. Once in the building, the lift to the 3rd floor was rather primitive and not very reassuring. The stairways to reception poorly decorated, had some metal balustrade missing rendering them potentially dangerous, and there was a general smell of tobacco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nevsky Contour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Contour Hotel

Address: Nevskiy Ave., 88 - 72, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Casting
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Contour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet courtyard on the elegant Nevsky Prospekt, this hotel offers affordable accommodations and friendly staff in the heart of town. Wi-Fi and guarded parking are free. Nevsky Contour Hotel offers Standard and Comfort Rooms for accommodation. Cozy Standard Rooms of Nevsky Contour Hotel provide guests with a flat screen TV and DVD player. Guests can benefit from the heated floor of the bathrooms. New designer Comfort Rooms are extra soundproof, all rooms have their own theme and equipped with 3D SMART TV (42 inch), ceiling fan and air-conditioner. The area around the property is bustling with a variety of cafes and restaurants, while free tea and coffee are available in-house throughout the day. There are also handy faxing, copying and scanning facilities. Nevsky Contour Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the Mayakovskaya metro station and 10 minutes from Moskovskiy train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nevsky Contour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nevsky Contour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.