We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Georgian Restaurant in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarkhun

Tarkhun
Karavannaya St., 14 | metro Gostiny Dvor, St. Petersburg 191011, Russia
7-812-571-11-15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 7,951 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 103 Reviews
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: "Tarkhun" is a restaurant of home kind friends. Ones you had a pleasure of having a meal here you would like to get back again, as you are surrounded with hospitality and cordialituy.Incredible but absolutely logical combination is contemporary European design, service, table appointments but traditional Caucasus cuisine. You should look attentively at the photos on the walls, so you could get more information about national meal way in Georgia.It is essential for these nationalities to entertain guests plentifully, merrily and loudly. Quite wide assortment of dish (not only Georgian, but European too) gives the possibility to find new feelings of cuisine.We sincerely wish you not only having good meal but also enjoying your pleasant stay in restaurant "Tarkhun".
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good Georgian Restaurant in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Restaurant is situated in the Karavannaja - Street 14, only 200 m East from the Nevsky - Prospekt. Superb food and very attentive, English speaking staff, prices reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Georgian meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were not excited about the food in St. Petersburg but this small Georgian restaurant was very nice. There was a nice selection of local Georgian dishes and the waitress helped us choose a well rounded dinner.
The wine is expensive and the selection was small. We would recommend this place to others.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent Georgian food with tomatoes that actually tasted like tomatoes, lovely eggplant cold appetizer, tasty grilled lamb chops. The decor is modern, stylish. The service good with adequate English. This was the best meal of our trip thus far (although I did like our hotel's restaurant - the Pushka Inn for more traditional Russian food). Much better meal than the one we had at Gogol the previous night. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stumble upon this place by chance. It is a nice Georgian cafe tuck away in a corner away from the busy Nevsky Prospect that has English menu as well as friendly helpful English speaking staff. We had an outdoor seating - weather was just perfect. When it gets too chilly - bright green fleece blanket is readily available.

We thought food was decent and tasty. I had chicken shashlik and my friend had chakhokhbili. Meat was still tender and juicy. We also had a taste of Lobio (comes as a "pot pie" with red cabbage by the side). Price was average - nothing too expensive.

Overall, we would return to this place if we visit St Petersburg again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just an average place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food was ok, but not memorable... no better than any other of Georgian restaurants we tried in St Petersburg. The atmosphere is below average, and the service really poor. There were three of us at the dinner, the waitress almost yelled at us when we asked politely if we could possibly get three receipts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarkhun also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Tarkhun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarkhun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.