We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great acoustics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall

Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall
Pisareva st., 20 | Entrance from Dekabristov Street, 37, St. Petersburg, Russia
+7 812 326 4141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 976 Attractions in St. Petersburg
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great acoustics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A modern late soviet building, but a great place to take in a concert, with good acoustics and visibility. Parking is a problem, and the neighborhood is iffy...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    15
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Contemporary sister to the Mariinsky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Sadly, I was not able to get tickets to the Wagner opera at the original Mariinsky Theater while in St Petersburg, but I saw Mozart's Magic Flute performed in the Russian language, which was a kick! The talent of the company was fabulous. I prefer historic theaters for opera, so was a little disappointed by the spare modern interior, and the sets were minimal, but he actors/singers and costumes were brilliant!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best value in St Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful venue to experience the great Kirov orchestra and many world-famous musicians. Each summer, Valery Gergiev returns for the season of 'White Nights' and conducts a variety of great pieces in this fabulous concert hall. The prices are really good value and there are concerts most evenings to be followed, perhaps, by a stroll through the streets of this great city which has such light nights in May and June that it never really gets dark.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very unpolite security guard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a ballet lover, I was disappointed that during our visit there were no ballet performances in Marinskii, but Myfair Lady was fearured... never the less we went to visit the builing and also to see the new Marinskii still under construction..... we entered the lobby and I could see that there is a theatre shop, wanted to enter, but a security guard started to shout at us in Russian and very unpolitely let us know that it is closed and we are not supposed to walk that way.... to make it firm, he also shut the door behind us..... very weird reaction in a theatre... also we asked if we could see the auditorium, but no chance...... so we were pretty disappointed.... we travelled from abroad and hoped that we could at least have a glimpse of this world famous thatre....... we could not get further than the area where they sell the tickets..... would suggest that they make theatre visit tours at least a few times/week

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Concert Hall & the Stars White Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was still last night to listen Brahms concert with Alyona Baeva Violin directed by Valery Gergiev, it was just amazing! Do not miss those concerts during June as just great

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.