We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value in St Petersburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall

Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall
Pisareva st., 20 | Entrance from Dekabristov Street, 37, St. Petersburg, Russia
+7 812 326 4141
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Grand Tour of St Petersburg
Ranked #45 of 1,206 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lymington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best value in St Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful venue to experience the great Kirov orchestra and many world-famous musicians. Each summer, Valery Gergiev returns for the season of 'White Nights' and conducts a variety of great pieces in this fabulous concert hall. The prices are really good value and there are concerts most evenings to be followed, perhaps, by a stroll through the streets of this great city which has such light nights in May and June that it never really gets dark.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    18
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very unpolite security guard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a ballet lover, I was disappointed that during our visit there were no ballet performances in Marinskii, but Myfair Lady was fearured... never the less we went to visit the builing and also to see the new Marinskii still under construction..... we entered the lobby and I could see that there is a theatre shop, wanted to enter, but a security guard started to shout at us in Russian and very unpolitely let us know that it is closed and we are not supposed to walk that way.... to make it firm, he also shut the door behind us..... very weird reaction in a theatre... also we asked if we could see the auditorium, but no chance...... so we were pretty disappointed.... we travelled from abroad and hoped that we could at least have a glimpse of this world famous thatre....... we could not get further than the area where they sell the tickets..... would suggest that they make theatre visit tours at least a few times/week

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Concert Hall & the Stars White Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was still last night to listen Brahms concert with Alyona Baeva Violin directed by Valery Gergiev, it was just amazing! Do not miss those concerts during June as just great

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

heard two concerts conducted by Gergiev. The acoustics cannot be faulted

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsity Lakes, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Most uncomfortable chairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Must admit I'm not an Opera buff and got very bored. Seating was not to the standard of The Bolschoi in Moscow (obviously we didn't pay a heap for the seating so not a fair comparison).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.