We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some points very good and some not so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy to your Saves list
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 190034, Russia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #24 of 269 Hotels in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 531 Reviews
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Some points very good and some not so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for almost one month for business reasons and therefore have several points to highlight:
- I stayed for a few days in a standard room and it was very cozy and with a splendid view on St. Issac cathedral.
- During the one month stay, my name was mentionned only once which I found very strange for a hotel of that level since this is a standard in many international hotels
- I stayed for a few days in a mansarde room but with no view at all even though the room is more expensive than the standard. There is more space in the room and the bathroom and it might explain the difference of price
- In that room, I took some minibar items, I purposely put the bottle of wine out of the minibar and next to the cups, but it was not removed for 2 days and never replaced. Same thing happen with bathroom amenities on 2 days at the beggining and for the minibar items
- The Repin lounge is very nice and the menu is excellent, some staff are fantastic, always a smile on their face, very hepful and proactive, doing as well a lot of upselling but some are lacking customer service standards and English knowledge.
- I know that I have seen the Manager a few times at the restaurant but he never said a word to me or even smiled and I find that quite shocking and not at all a good example for the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your candid review! We are more than happy to hear you have found our hotel and services to be on a good level in general.

However it seems that not everything has been perfect during your stay. First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with us. It is clear that we should have done a better job to acknowledge you as a long-stay guest and always greet you with your name. We are happy to get your feedback which helps us to further improve our service and future guest experiences.

We hope to see you again with us in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

Yours sincerely

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    210
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
148
35
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Quite nice in appearance but actually very simple hotel. Good value for money, service is ok, but nothing special. Breakfast could be better, location as well.
The good point is rooms, nicely decorated and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your candid review! We are glad that you liked our rooms and the hotel in general. One of our values is to keep things simple but do everything in style. We are constantly developing our services to better meet and exceed the needs and expectations of our dear guests. We promise to make a bigger impression the next time you will be staying with us in our lovely city.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Sokos Hotel Vasilievskiy the soonest!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on vasilievski island and not far away from a metro station that leads after one stop directly on the Nevski prospekt. The rooms are good, well equipped and furnished, the personnel is extremely friendly and helpful. Very nice also the gym. The wifi connection is weak and wawy, if you really need a stable connection pay attention. The restaurant is friendly and he dishes very tasty. Good cost/quality ratio. I can fully recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Franco

Thank you for finding some time to share your experience staying with us in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

I am sure that many travelers will find many useful tips from your review like the ones about the good location, service and the gym.

I am also very happy that you truly enjoyed our restaurant. In fact we have just published a new menu in the Repin Lounge and according to several feedback from our guests it is even better than the so much liked old one. Make sure you will have a chance to try it out the next time you will be coming over to our lovely city!

You are making a solid point with the Wi-Fi connection. At times it might get a bit slow but I am happy to tell you we are working on it for some time already with a goal to have a new high speed Wi-Fi network with 100% coverage throughout our property.

We are looking forward to see you again with us!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spend a long weekend in the Vasilievsky hotel in August 2012, on a train trip from Helsinki.

My positives are:
+ The rooms, and the hotel common areas in general, are new, clean and well maintained.
+ The rooms seemed to be very quiet, we had no problems with sleeping in this hotel.
+ There are plenty of good restaurants and cafes within a walking distance.
+ There's a nice local market hall close to the hotel, and a good bunch of local shops on the way to the metro station.

And the negatives:
- Even if it's just a few blocks, walking distance from the metro station is quite long, as the residential blocks on the island are bigger than for example in most European cities.
- It was surprisingly difficult to find the hotel when walking there for the first time. It just somehow didn't stand out from the nearby buildings until you stood in front of it.
- The hotel restaurant and bar were quite expensive compared to any of the similar places in the surrounding area.
- The staff working at the reception didn't seem to be able to handle out-of-the-ordinary situations. In our case, we had a bunch of parking coins, about 20-30 euros worth, that disappeared from the room table on the second day of our stay. The coins were placed under a pile of magazines and other papers, and nothing else had been touched except the coins hidden below them. We had a chat with the staff at the reception and they promised to come back to us after figuring out what had happened. That didn't happen so we tried to follow up the next day and discussed with the staff at the reception again - and again. After repeating this for three rounds we gave up: there was always a new very surprised person who wasn't sure what to do but promised to come back to us with some information/explanation for what had happened.

So in general, the basics seemed to be working fine, as long as nothing too surprising happens.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner yard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your candid feedback. It is a pleasure to hear you have liked our hotel and its cozy rooms. I agree with you that Vasilievsky Island is a nice place with all of these cafes, restaurants and local shops. I also agree that the residential blocks are little bit bigger here than for example in Helsinki and one-and-a-half blocks to metro from the hotel is not that long distance to walk, especially keeping in mind St. Petersburg is quite a wide spread metropolis.

Thank you very much for sharing this out-of-the-ordinary situation you have faced with our service. We have been discussing this particular case with our staff and it seems the cleaning lady has really made a mistake with placing the items on your table. We are very sorry for the fact that our Front Office did not take care of issue immediately and communication from our side was poor regarding this particular topic. Fortunately everything turned out fine in the end.

Hope to see you again with us in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, nice room. All of the communal areas decorated to a good standard and very clean. Staff are what you would expect however Jake and Nastya in the 8th line bar were exceptional, the service they offered was far beyond what I have experienced anywhere for a while, "well done both" you really know the meaning of customer service. Breakfast was good with a good selection to meet all needs.
Really disspointed as there were no tea or coffee making fscilities in the room, even worse you could not order as room service at 11.30pm, this was s real let down, never have I experienced this before and I would not expect this of a hotel of this calibre, sorry Sokos but the lack of this facility let's you down

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding some time to share your experience of staying at Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

I am very pleased and proud to hear you have liked our hotel and especially the pub and the breakfast. We know how important it is to start a day with a nice meal. I will make sure to share your kind words with Nastya and Jacob and all the rest of my team.

As for your comment regarding the tea/coffee making facilities in the room: we do have those in superiors, mansards and suites, but (at the moment) not in standard rooms. It is true that our room service is not working after 11 PM, still the pub is open and you may get proper food and drinks there.

Overall, thank you once again for your review and welcome back to Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent all-round experience! Superb rooms, very luxurious. Great service by professional staff. Food choices are excellent, no need to go outside the hotel. Highly recommended, best hotel I have stayed in for some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for finding time to write that review, I am sure it will help many TA users to make a right choice when considering the hotels in St. Petersburg.

It is very nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay and noticed the professionalism of our staff. As for your comment about the restaurant services: together with our Executive Chef we are working on the new menus to make the restaurant experiences here even more pleasurable and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your kind words and welcome back to Sokos Hotel Vasilevsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel in on the Vasilievsky island. A bit far from the points of tourists` interest but, use the local bus -it is easy. The good side is that you may have a glimpse of the life in a russian neighborhood. We had the room in the oficial photo 19, in the 6th floor. Excellent decoration. The premices at the reception are very elegant too. Horrible matress and pillow=incredibly soft. The staff are attentive and kind in a russian way (a bit rough for people from southern europe). The restaurant is excellent, one of the best breakfasts in my life (blinis-salmon-sour cream of great quality included). I loved the hotel but would not go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton V, Deputy FOM at Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Petros,

Thanks for your candid opinion.
The main places of interest are located not that far from our hotel: it's just a 25 min walk.
St Petersburg is a big city, so it;s not a big distance.
Our linen is of high quality. Maybe somebody will find it soft but it's a matter of taste.
Thank you for your appreciation of our breakfast and our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Sokos Hotel Vasilievskiy.

BR,

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy

Address: 8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 190034, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#21 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a hotel that lies at the heart of arts and culture in St. Petersburg - the Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky. The hotel is situated in the historic center of St. Petersburg, close to the Fine Arts Academy, Blagoveshchensky Bridge and the River Neva Embankment. Here, on Vasilievsky Island, everything is about arts, style, cultural heritage and modern talent. Our cooperation network is rich and wide-ranging: young and already established artists present their works in the hotel spaces and we also collaborate with the largest contemporary museum and galleries in St. Petersburg, such as Erarta; the world famous Mikhailovsky Theatre, a close friend of the hotel's, provides our guests with unique offers, so we recommend that you inquire about performances and the availability of tickets when checking into the hotel. Many famous musicians, DJs, actors and performers have chosen the Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky as their home base when visiting St. Petersburg. It is the members of our own team, however, that are the most important cultural ambassadors. "Every Soloist is Your Concierge" is the motto we live to each and every day: we can provide you with almost everything you need to know about theatre premiers, concerts, fine arts exhibitions, gallery openings and city events. So, whatever your area of interest, just ask our receptionist, bartender or the general manager and we will give you a host of options to choose from. Guest rooms at the Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky are decorated with a distinct style and equipped with comfortable beds and appliances in order to make you feel at home and to guarantee you a peaceful and relaxed stay. Guests are invited to enjoy the laid back atmosphere of the Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where one can enjoy international cuisine alongside Russian culinary classics with a modern twist. Guests can choose the solitude of private rooms or a laid-back lounge room with a stylish table fireplace. If you need a cup of coffee, or wish to enjoy a glass of wine after a busy day, the Lounge Bar is at your service. If you're looking for more of a buzz, the 8th Line Pub will do the trick! Live Sports on a big screen in FULL HD format, beer on tap, a wide selection of malt whiskeys, real kicker (table football), a selection of board games or a game of darts will keep you occupied for the entire evening. Come in, take a key. A key to our house, our culture and our heart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevskiy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.