We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 190034, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 261 hotels in St. Petersburg
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, nice room. All of the communal areas decorated to a good standard and very clean. Staff are what you would expect however Jake and Nastya in the 8th line bar were exceptional, the service they offered was far beyond what I have experienced anywhere for a while, "well done both" you really know the meaning of customer service. Breakfast was good with a good selection to meet all needs.
Really disspointed as there were no tea or coffee making fscilities in the room, even worse you could not order as room service at 11.30pm, this was s real let down, never have I experienced this before and I would not expect this of a hotel of this calibre, sorry Sokos but the lack of this facility let's you down

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding some time to share your experience of staying at Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

I am very pleased and proud to hear you have liked our hotel and especially the pub and the breakfast. We know how important it is to start a day with a nice meal. I will make sure to share your kind words with Nastya and Jacob and all the rest of my team.

As for your comment regarding the tea/coffee making facilities in the room: we do have those in superiors, mansards and suites, but (at the moment) not in standard rooms. It is true that our room service is not working after 11 PM, still the pub is open and you may get proper food and drinks there.

Overall, thank you once again for your review and welcome back to Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    188
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
132
29
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent all-round experience! Superb rooms, very luxurious. Great service by professional staff. Food choices are excellent, no need to go outside the hotel. Highly recommended, best hotel I have stayed in for some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMelnikov, Food & Beverage Director at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for finding time to write that review, I am sure it will help many TA users to make a right choice when considering the hotels in St. Petersburg.

It is very nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay and noticed the professionalism of our staff. As for your comment about the restaurant services: together with our Executive Chef we are working on the new menus to make the restaurant experiences here even more pleasurable and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your kind words and welcome back to Sokos Hotel Vasilevsky,
DM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel in on the Vasilievsky island. A bit far from the points of tourists` interest but, use the local bus -it is easy. The good side is that you may have a glimpse of the life in a russian neighborhood. We had the room in the oficial photo 19, in the 6th floor. Excellent decoration. The premices at the reception are very elegant too. Horrible matress and pillow=incredibly soft. The staff are attentive and kind in a russian way (a bit rough for people from southern europe). The restaurant is excellent, one of the best breakfasts in my life (blinis-salmon-sour cream of great quality included). I loved the hotel but would not go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton V, Deputy FOM at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Petros,

Thanks for your candid opinion.
The main places of interest are located not that far from our hotel: it's just a 25 min walk.
St Petersburg is a big city, so it;s not a big distance.
Our linen is of high quality. Maybe somebody will find it soft but it's a matter of taste.
Thank you for your appreciation of our breakfast and our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Sokos Hotel Vasilievskiy.

BR,

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Sokos Hotel has nicely decorated rooms with pleasant colours and big, albeit quite soft beds. Room was very clean and quite in spite of the noisy street outside. Staff was very friendly, especially in the restaurant and in the bar, which was a nice place for a late beer. The Ermitage is a 30-minute walk away, a walk, however, along the Neva and with spectacular views. When staying out late, make sure you check the St. Petersburg bridge schedule (in summer).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your candid review! We are especially pleased to hear that you have found our restaurant and pub perfect venues for sit back and enjoy your evening. We could not agree more with the comment on the location and easiness of access to the St. Pete's main attractions.

Hope to see you with us again the soonest!

Yours Sincerely

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in February on a short break to St Petersburg.

The hotel is clean and modern and staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are fairly spacious by continental standards and I was especially pleased with mine [on the seventh floor at the back] as I had a fantastic view of St Isaac’s Cathedral on the other side of the river which was especially stunning when illuminated at night.

The location is fine for sightseeing as the hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from Vasileostrovskaya metro station from where you can get to most places in the city. Alternatively, you can walk to the main sights in the "Historic Centre" [Hermitage, Palace Square, General Staff Building & Nevsky Prospekt] in about 30 minutes.

The hotel has a really friendly little pub on-site called “8th Line” which is popular with residents and locals alike and, although this closes at 01:00hrs, guests are welcome to ’double up’ and take their drinks into the Library [which seemed to be quite lively after hours most nights I was there].

Anyone fancying partying with the locals of a Friday or Saturday night can head to the “XXXX Hot Bar” [a short walk from the hotel on the17th Line] where you can smoke hookah pipes and dance till dawn with the well-heeled regulars. It’s within walking distance of the hotel and the area felt safe even in the early hours - a very Russian night out.

All in all had a great time here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seventh floor at the back if you want a view like mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your encouraging feedback! It is a pleasure to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities and services to be of an excellent standard. You advice on the view opening from the back of the 7th floor is simply brilliant, I am sure our guests will find this information very helpful.

It is great to hear you have also found the easy access available to the efficient public transportation system of our beloved city. It is true that all the main sites of St. Pete are within a short walk and in addition you may also get on the metro and make your way anywhere in the city in just a few minutes.

The whole Vasilievsky team is pleased to hear you found our hospitality warm and welcoming. Unfortunately we are closing the pub earlier around 1 a.m. during the winter season but as soon as spring arrives to the city we will have extended opening hours and will keep the 8th Line Pub open until the early hours for your convenience.

Yours hint on the night clubbing in the neighborhood is also a very good one. I am sure our guests will find this info very helpful in the future.

Hope to have you staying with us again!

Yours Sincerely

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagawong, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited in December 2012 and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel as we had just booked it from the internet. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very helpful and we enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Gerry

the whole Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky Team is delighted to get your kind feedback. It's more than great to hear you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and have been positively surprised about our service and quality in general. This is exactly what we aim for in our daily work.

Hope to see you again with us in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. I knew Sokos hotels are good, but this one exceeded my expectations. The room was nice and clean, staff was friendly and spoke English well and the breakfast was extremely good.

Also, the hotel is quite close to the subway station. The bridge over one the Neva channels is also near. NOTICE: beware of the bridges. They open at night and you can get stuck at the other side. Just check out the opening schedules.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasilievsky, General Manager at Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Lauri,

we are more than delighted to get your amazing feedback! It is truly a pleasure to hear we have exceeded your expectations with the level of our product and service. Friendly and internationally oriented staff as well as an excellent breakfast with a good variety are important issues for us over here in Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky.

It is good to hear you have found your way to the local subway station as well. It takes about 5 to 10 minutes by feet to get to the station from our hotel. Additionally there is a bus stop right opposite to the hotel's main entrance. In other words the public transportation options are more than easy to access.

You are right about the bridges. In the summer season the bridges go up for a few hours every night. Therefore we recommend to check the latest schedule from our helpful reception just to make sure you will not be left on the wrong side of the river by accident.

Hope to see you with us soon again!

Yours

Tomi Meriläinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel

Address: 8 Liniya V.O., 11-13, St. Petersburg 190034, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#16 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky is situated in the historical centre of St. Petersburg, on the 8th Line of the Vasilievsky Island, close to the Blagoveshchensky Bridge and the Embankment of river Neva. Guest rooms in Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky are decorated with a distinct style and equipped with comfortable beds and appliances in order to make you feel like home and to guarantee you a peaceful and relaxed stay.The Guests are invited to enjoy laid back atmosphere of Repin Lounge Restaurant & Bar, where one can enjoy international cuisine with an accent on Italy and Russian culinary classics with a modern twist. Guests can choose the solitude of private rooms or the vibrant atmosphere of the summer terrace. If in need for a cup of coffee, or wish to enjoy a glass of wine after a busy day, The Lounge Bar will be at your service.In case you are looking for more buzz, The 8th Line Pub will just do the trick! Live Sports on a big screen, beer on tap, wide selection of malt whiskey, real kicker (table football), selection of board games or a game of darts will keep you occupied for the entire evening. In order to create a stylish, cozy and contemporary atmosphere we cooperate many young talented artists. The constantly renewed exhibitions are held around the different areas of the hotel. Most of the art pieces are for sale at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasilievsky Solo By Sokos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.