We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food partnered with Great Vodka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russkaya Ryumochnaya No. 1

Russkaya Ryumochnaya No. 1
Konnogvardeiskiy Blvd., 4, St. Petersburg 196128, Russia
7-812-570-64-20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 7,948 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Russian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Food partnered with Great Vodka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We ate here after visiting the attached vodka museum. Really enjoyed the food - especially the Russian style herring and the Chicken Kiev

Service was very good and there was no problems with language - the staff all seemed to speak sufficient English

The list of vodkas is truly impressive..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    82
    28
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Russian-style Food in St.Peter's & Surely Vodka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The place should not be confused with the restaurant of Russian cuisine. The Russian name of the place is "Ryumochnaya", which in the old times were places where the working people could drink vodka at affordable price with some very simple and affordable food. Something like a tavern or an inn. Of course Russian Vodka Room is more upscale than traditional "Ryumochnaya", but still you shouldn't expect some mind-blowing Russian cuisine there. Sure they serve in the first place a huge selection of vodkas and also Russian-style dishes that go along with the drink. The food is variable - beef stroganoff, for example, was not very mush to my liking, but various appetizers, like mushrooms, salads, pies, etc. were great. Also very much I liked their ice-cream. So I would say the place is not so much for gourmets, searching for authentic Russian cuisine, but more for having a fair share of vodka with typical Russian-style snacks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a jaw-dropping vodka selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I read about this restaurant in one of the city guides and decided to drop by for a bite to eat. Since the place is called "Vodka Room" I figured they had a decent selection of vodka, but was in no way prepared for the legal page-sized vodka menu they handed me. Vodka prices ranged from R90 to R500+.

The waiter I had was very friendly and happy to provide recommendations on vodkas, as well as food. His recommendations turned out to spot-on. I got the Russian beef soup (don't recall the Russian name) and Beef Stroganoff. For vodka, I had a shot of the Baikal and finished off with a shot of the Honey and Pepper vodka. The food and vodka were all delicious. If I had been in town longer, I would definitely have considered going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best for Russian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We originally went there because it was recommended by an attache at the US Consulate General in St. Petersburg. Later we were taken there by the Leningrad region government, so it has to be good to be recommende by both sides! As the name suggests, the specialty is vodka, in infinite varieties, and at the banquet they were pouring it liberally. Straight, of course. They also have a variety of caviars. The evening we were there we also were entertained by some musicians. It was an easy walk from the Angleterre Hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“How often can you eat, taste vodka and visit a museum all in one place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is one of my two favorite places for a high quality Russian meal. The menu has both the classics and unique dishes (try the fish cutlet - the juicy, white fish fillet with herbed butter inside just melts in your mouth!).

And then there is the vodka - definitely dont miss your chance to try Polugar, the granddaddy of modern vodka that's much softer and tastier than what you're used to.

The mid-century music puts you in the mood for Soviet nostalgia, but the overall atmosphere is classy and not kitsch. This place is frequented by the who is who of the Russian theater and cinema crowd, as well as a great place for post business dinners. Plan on not leaving sober.

Do visit the vodka museum (before the tasting...) - it's full of interesting memorabilia.

    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russkaya Ryumochnaya No. 1 also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
Repino, Kurortny District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Russkaya Ryumochnaya No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russkaya Ryumochnaya No. 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.