We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suggested by our guide Natasa and she was right, food was excellent and friendly staff. you must try it if you are here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nice People

Nice People
1/1 Meretskova-Volosova, Veliky Novgorod 173007, Russia
+7 816 273-08-79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 173 Restaurants in Veliky Novgorod
Cuisines: European, Russian, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“suggested by our guide Natasa and she was right, food was excellent and friendly staff. you must try it if you are here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

beef strogonoff and coffee were excellent , suggested by our guide Natasa and she was right, food was excellent and friendly staff. you must try it if you are here

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Whatever you have there - coffee, salads are main dishes - is outstanding not only for Novgorod standards. There is an unbelievable choice of salads and dressings, pastries, strudels and warm dishes, served by very friendly waiters who manage well in English, too. The location of the restaurant right outside the park around the Kremlin is excellent and the light interior sets standards. We wished we had such a place nearby at home, where we went thrice within 24 hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A welcome treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were landed in Novgorod at a local hotel and went searching for food. Just a short walk across the Square and here was Nice People restaurant, also opposite the gates to The Kremlin. Service was very friendly (a treat in itself) and table seating and delivery of food was fast. The local cuisine is delicious, affordable and beautifully served. The twice we visited it was late afternoon with families and kids having early dinner, and we thoroughly enjoyed watching the Locals and learning more about the culture. Views are across the Square to The Kremlin and it's within walking distance of lots of other places for souvenirs or just to take a nice safe walk in the evening. Highly recommended and a place which we WILL remember because it is different and knows about customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosow Russia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice People and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

You probably won't be able to miss this cafe as it is in the very downtown, almost opposite the entrance to the Detinets - Novgorod Kremlin and across the Picture Gallery. We popped in after visiting the Kremlin, starving, without any desire to wait for long. The efficiency of the service and the high quality of all the dishes were a pleasant surprise to us. My daughter enjoyed chicken breast fried in the sesame with rice and herbs, I had local fish, which was also perfect. This place seems to be suitable both for a quick cup of tea or coffee or a substantial meal, It is rather a busy place, but due to fast service you must be lucky to find a vacant table, Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best place for the breakfast in Novgorod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff was very helpful. You can build your own salad from the restaurant's ingredients, it very interesting idea. Coffee and apple or cherry strudels were perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nice People also viewed

Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
 
Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
Veliky Novgorod, Novgorod Oblast
 

Been to Nice People? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice People, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.