We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ronald” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Azimut Hotel Vladivostok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Azimut Hotel Vladivostok to your Saves list
Azimut Hotel Vladivostok
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naberezhnaya St., 9, Vladivostok 690091, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Vladivostok
3.0 of 5 stars 348 Reviews
1 review
“Ronald”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The only unfriendly people in Russia trip experience.

I stayed there for 5 night for business travel show. It was supposed to be a 4 star hotel but it's more like 2 star.

The rooms were extremely small. The closets were old. Furniture were old. Everything is old and not upkeep.
I had hard time opening my door and lock myself inside the room because the locks were old and almost broke my key when I tried to open it, it give you no sense of security staying there. I paid $130/night but have to pay $3 for a pair of slipper at front desk.

It's a big hotel with over 400-500 rooms but only 2 receptionist counter. I always have to wait 5 to 10 minutes to get serviced. They don't have money exchange service, very inconvinience.

You have to negotiate with the taxi every time you use them.

The hotel has strip bar which charge you $50 to get in.

One morning I ride elevator with front office manager who wear room slipper and pajama and whom I first thought was a guest but turn out to be a manager. Such a rediculous management.

I enjoy Vladivostok but this is the only bad impression I have about this city.

Don go if You have choice.


Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    98
    103
    62
    48
See reviews for
17
41
49
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Finding this place was a bit of a challenge. Hotel Vladivostok was the name on our reservation, but the Amur Bay Hotel is a separate building targeted at foreigners down the hill from the main hotel. But the hunt wasn't over. The main entrance -- without figuring out what the deal was with the club that appeared to be on the ground floor -- was through the roof, a dilapidated construction zone.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, modern, clean, and overlooking the ocean. The bed was very hard, but that's the only complaint.

The staff spoke great English -- quite rare at hotels in this price range -- and were all very attentive. Nice lobby area with free wifi. Great breakfast included. Walkable to the train station although up a big hill, and a great location for exploring the town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cofusingly, though all the listings call this the Azimut or theAmur, when you get there, it's called the Vladivostok Hotel. It was clearly once the best hotel in Vlad, but other buildings are now closing in and western chains are building new hotels everywhere. Rooms at the front have great views, and there's good food in the restaurants, particularly for breakfast. You can really pig out on the breakfast blinis, with lovely cherry jam. Vlad itself is currently under reconstruction, so quite tricky to get around, particularly if you're driving to the airport. However, the Trans -Siberian railway station is a delight, as is the brew pub and restaurant opposite. And it rains a lot in August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, and even better on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in room 724 overlooking the bay and when we checked in the afternoon the sun had given the room that lovely smell of freshly washed sheets dried in the sunlight. Very comforting. It was so good I booked the exact same room for our return from a trip a couple of nights later.
The check-in staff were tri-lingual and very pleasant to us. Liza in particular was very warm and professional. The room is what you expect for the price, in fact possibly a little bit more which was nice. The windows are double glazed, modern plastic/aluminum. The bathroom is adequate (just). the fridge is fine and the sheets were fine. The carpet is worn, the TV has only local channels (surprising given the huge number of Chinese package tourists who stay at the hotel). There is no tea and coffee service and the mattress is soft and old. But, hey... it was a last minute choice and the price was much better than the competitors we had to choose from. The view is good and the sunlight a treat! The breakfast was blah - same on the three mornings I ate it. But the restaurant staff were very accommodating to my needs with extra bits here and there. It is not the Ritz, but it is a comfortable hotel and the rooms will give you a good sleep. Plus it is near the tourist side of town so is pleasant walking around - try the Italian restaurant on the beach side of the newly developed walking street 4 blocks away down the hill. I can't remember the name (the bill is all written in Cyrillic - but the lack of choices will mean it is not hard to find. Very good pizza, at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room - you will want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vossevangen, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, the room was ok, the bathroom was old but good enough, we had wi-fi in the room. The reception staff spoke good English but some receptionists were rude to the guests who wanted to pick up their room keys. Food in the restaurant (both for breakfast and dinner) was good, but the staff was too slow to clean the tables and to fill up with more food - guests who paid for the buffet had nothing to choose from. ATM machine in the lobby did not work and the souvenir kiosk was closed most of the time (neither reception or bar staff could tell us when it was open). There is a bar on the 4th floor, a beauty salon on the 8th floor and a parking place in front of the hotel. In general, the hotel is ok, but overpriced (as many hotels in Russia).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Azimut Hotel now manages the former Vladivostok Hotel as well as the former Amursky Zaliv hotel as a single entity. In my experience, the two buildings are very different and should not be confused. Some of the photos here show a curved building - that is the Amur Bay building.

I stayed 2 nights in the Vladivostok building as part of a tour group. The building seems to be undergoing gradual renovation - my room had new double glazing but a truly grotty bathroom. Our next door neighbours' window was the original wooden type, in very poor shape.

Otherwise my room had a fridge which had not been run for quite some time, and smelt accordingly. This is probably because the room had no electrical power - I reported this before going out, but 4 hours later nothing had been done. After reporting it again an electrician arrived at 10.30pm (which is impressive I must admit) and traced the problem to the wiring of one of the power points, repairing it without even pulling the fuse.

The Azimut has great rooms at the Amur Bay building - choose a room there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vladivostok hotels

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Azimut Hotel Vladivostok now embraces 2 buildings, the Vladivostok and Amur Bay buildings, and they can be booked on the same web page. I had previously stayed at the Vladivostok building and my booking confirmation gave directions to that building, so that's where I had my taxi drop me. A pity, because the Amur Bay building has its own check-in, and the directions I was given at the main building were very unhelpful - I wandered around with my luggage in the dark through the rubble pit that Vladivostok is at the moment for about 20 minutes before I found the unusual rooftop entrance to the Amur Bay building (look for an unmarked car park with a boom gate, on top of the hill).

But after that regrettable introduction, the situation improved dramatically. The lone receptionist (Irina) was very busy but exceptionally composed, efficient, helpful and kind, spoke good English, and lifted my mood enormously.

Lonely Planet said of this hotel "No services though - plan ahead if you need a bottle of water", but this seems to have been addressed now with a 24 hour bar in the lobby. Free wi-fi too.

My room was the best I have seen in Russia - new bathroom, clean and comfortable room, balcony with a great view of the bay (for now) and, importantly, a fan. Bed make-up was a bit strange though - the bottom sheet was too short, and the top sheet was folded double and laid across the bed - is this intended to show that the bed hadn't been slept in?

Breakfast was included, not too bad by Russian standards.

Because most of the 50km+ airport road is currently disrupted by roadworks and prone to serious delay, I had opted for the relatively expensive airport transfer service, but somehow lost my voucher. I thought there goes $50, but Reception again surprised me by giving me the voucher number and taxi details so I didn't have to pay again.

My room was slightly cheaper than the equivalent room in the Vladivostok building, and I really can't understand why - my experience in the Amur Bay building was vastly superior. Sadly it looks like the great views will be built out soon, but I would still choose this hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azimut Hotel Vladivostok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azimut Hotel Vladivostok

Address: Naberezhnaya St., 9, Vladivostok 690091, Russia
Location: Russia > Far Eastern District > Primorsky Krai > Vladivostok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Vladivostok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azimut Hotel Vladivostok 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT Hotel Vladivostok consists of two separate buildings standing in close vicinity - Vladivostok building and Amur Bay building. Both buildings are located in 10 minutes walk from the railway station and they overlook the most picturesque scenery - the banks of Amur Bay. The hotel is close to the city center in walkind distance to major city sights. There 607 comforatable rooms with private bath, free wi-fi.Buffet breakfast is served daily.There are 12 conference and banqueting halls, restaurant, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azimut Hotel Vladivostok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azimut Hotel Vladivostok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.