We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent grilled lamb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho

El Gaucho
Zatzepsky Val 6/13, Moscow, Russia
8 (495) 953-28-76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #319 of 9,928 restaurants in Moscow
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Succulent grilled lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Their selection of grilled meat is very, very rich. My favourite is lamb rack and the mixed grill, although it may not be to everyone's taste as it includes some 'parts' that some people may not eat. Expect to pay about $60 for a two course meal and with wine the sky is the limit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    32
    29
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Great steaks and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were lucky to get a place without reservation on busy Sunday afternoon. No wait for the table, waiters were quick to take our order. The prices are quite steep and order a wine here only at your peril, the selection is good, but your purse will suffer. Anyway we had a round of starters, they have great vegetables here, all fresh and full of taste. The steaks are very good, prepared exactly to our specifications, along with appetizing sides. The dining experience was good and the place has really nice ambience. Nothing to complain about really, the only reason I'm not giving El Gaucho five stars was fierce competition of another steakhouse in Moscow I've visited and i liked my meat more there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice steaks, but very expensive; service reasonable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a nice meal at El Gaucho; the steaks were very tender, tasty and well cooked. The downside is the price. As other reviewers have noted, the steaks start from about £30, but the biggest expense comes from the drinks - the cheapest glass of wine is £20 (and it's a very small glass - the waiter confirmed that a bottle is 5 glasses), and the cheapest bottle of wine starts at £100.

The service was good generally, but we were very disappointed that they turned the lights out near the kitchen area about half way through our steaks, which killed the atmosphere. This was at around 11pm (we had arrived about 10:15pm).

Overall I think the prices for the steaks are OK, as they are very good, but the alcohol prices are too high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had the pleasure to have a dinner at El Gaucho. The meat was great although expensive (starts from EUR 35 till EUR 80). The service was good and the dinner was served at a good pace. I can recommend this restaurant, but it is not cheap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For people who likes meet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well El Gaucho is one of my favorites places, the attention is good (sometimes little bit slow, but only when the place is full) the food is great and the place is cousy

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.