We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the negative reviews, this is a really great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Milan Hotel to your Saves list
Milan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shipilovskaya St., 28A | corner of Kashirskoe Shosse, Moscow 115563, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 249 Hotels in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 238 Reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Forget the negative reviews, this is a really great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Seems like many of the folks who have posted reviews here have overly high expectations of life! Milan Hotel was great. Its very nice, affordable, and the breakfast buffett is incredible.

The hotel staff speaks very good English, will go out of their way to help you, and the currency conversion is more than fair. I got 30 rubles on the dollar.

There are plenty of employees always standing around to assist you if you need it, and the rooms are nice, the hotel beautiful. 4 stars indeed.

Its not that bad at all of a walk to the metro..10-15 minutes, and the ride to Red Square is 25 minutes.. not bad!

There is a shopping center right across the street for all your needs, and the hotel itself operates a 24 hour taxi service with nice new Nissan Maximas that will take you to Domodedovo for 1600 rubles. Better than dishing out 2000 rubles to a rogue taxi driver.

A+, wonderful, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
35
36
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed here for two nights - easy to find from Domodedevo - bus outside the terminal takes you to the metro from where it is a 10 minute walk up the road.
Exterior of hotel nothing to write home about, but get inside and there is a very impressive lobby/atrium and extremely welcoming staff - I have actually never on 3 previous trips to Moscow found staff with such a service ethic.
Room was spacious enough, clean and comfortable. Bathroom very good and decent toiletries.
Bar attached to hotel is football themed and called Inter (hotel Milan - geddit?!!!). Staff in Inter shirts, lots of football stuff on walls, and football on TV screens. Food ok - but best bit is brewery on premises brewing 4 or so beers!

Breakfast was in same bar - but htink this may be temporary arrangement whilst refurbishments in place - anyway - very good choice at the buffet so you will find something that floats your boat.

Other hotel bar is smarter (but strangely, with cheaper wine!!) It serves a 24 hour food menu - but can take some time to deliver, and not necessarily as hot as you would like.

Hotel is, as stated, 10 minutes from metro - from where you canget into town in about 30 minutes. I would also recommend going to Kolomenskoe, 5 stops up the line - which is very peaceful and well worth the visit.

If you take seriously the advice to not drink the Moscow water, go to the Auchan across the road to buy bottled water - considerably cheaper than the hotel - and you can also get beer, vodka etc to put in your room fridge.

If you want to eat locally, you have the hotel - didn't try the retaurants, but Inter was fine - or goto the car superstore next door where there is a Sushi restaurant or a pizza place (Il Patio) that is part of a recommended Moscow chain.

All in all, I would highly recommend. Yes - it is a little way out of the centre - but for the saake of a 30 minute train journey you are saving £100 or more per night on the room. I know which I would choose - especially with the quality of service and comfort I got at the Milan. I would certainly consider this again when I come back to Moscow - and I speak as someone who has stayed in the Savoy and the National.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We have been plunked down into a nicer, more civilized hotel than we could afford in New York City! Other reviewers have mentioned the value found here, but you have to be aware that it IS sort of in the middle of nowhere in the extensive Moscow suburbs. We used it as a stopover for one night on the way back from the Russian Far East as it is nearer to Domodedovo airport and there is nothing worth staying in any closer. After a 9 hour plane ride and a long taxi ride through "dacha-land" this hotel was truly heaven sent. Be aware that there is usually a LOT of traffic between this hotel and the airport.

It is 21 stories with a glass elevator that runs up the north side from which you can get a view of the city center rising up. The place is gleaming clean, marble and tiles. No off odors, Room really WAS "nonsmoking." Bed was SO comfortable, hallway quiet, no plumbing noises. Almost like home!

YOU CANNOT DRINK THE TAP WATER. This is not stressed enough for travelers who are used to potable water and find it hard to believe that Russia does NOT have potable water in its towns and cities! Russians themselves have a name for Moscow's water that is ever more derrogatory than for their own water where they live.

Get bottled water either from the shopping center a block away or pay $3 for a bottle from the lobby bar. You must use bottled water even to brush your teeth. Our other hotel in the city center at least had a water dispenser for its guests to fill containers from.

The hotel "restaurant" is actually a noisy, smokey brew-pub. With billards. A nice spot for the locals who live in the nearby apartment towers. Menu has many choices and we ate well enough. Breakfast is served in the same place, and had dozens of choices to pick from. Excellent quality and plenty!

There is a nice Business Center, but you need to buy an internet card either in 1-hour or 24 hour amount. I asked the concierge if she could check on our flight as I would not need an hours worth of internet time to do that. She obliged and even smiled!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Stayed here as part of a package tour in Moscow. Hotel is located near the airport and free shuttle is available but we did not have to make use of it. This hotel seems to be very popular with group tours from Asia countries. During our stay, only one lift was operational and it was a very unsatisfactory situation especially in the morning when guests were heading for breakfast. Hotel staff were not too conversant in English and could not comprehend what we wanted. Service on the whole was average. The room /toilet is small but clean. The hotel appears new and there is a supermarket across the road . Location is far from city centre . Would not recommend it if you plan to go sightseeing in the Red Square

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Good Business Hotel 15-20 mins fro Central Moscow. This hotel is presently under rennovation so has limited facilities. Some of the restaurants are closed, the fitness suite is closed and there is only one elevator for 21 floors.

The rooms are very nice, with all the usual facilities you would expect. No Wifi available in the rooms only on the first 2 floors, wired internet access available though.

I would recommend when rennovations are completed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Milan for 3 nights this month at the end of our trip to Russia, and were very satisfied with it.
The room was clean, bright & somewhat spacious, with a fridge, tele etc. Unfortunately the shower was in the bathtub (not separate) but the bathroom itself was clean (as was the bedroom and the whole hotel) & very perfectly adequate. There was only one bath and one hand towel when we arrived, so we rang for more and they arrived (1 more of each) very promptly.
I am an ex smoker and I have to say I would be very aware of the smell of smoke and definitely did not smell it all over the hotel as other reviewers have said.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful, answering any and all questions re directions etc. The hotel was also very helpful with the Visa invitation paperwork before we arrived (by email) and gave us the forms to cover all the dates of our stay, not just the days we were in Moscow.
The Hotel reception area is under construction and is closed, so you enter around the side of the hotel, rather than through the main door. This is not a problem. The breakfast is very, very good- there's even a guy there to cook your eggs or omelet freshly the way you want it. However, and I think this is because of the renovations, there isn't really a bar area, just a few couches in the corner of the restaurant area, and they were a bit slow in bringing a drink. The sports bar attached to the hotel do nice enough bar type food. Reasonable, don't expect any smiles though. Like a lot of Russian restaurants, they don't seem to have cottoned onto the customer service ethos.
It is a 10 min walk to the metro stop (I timed it) and I don't walk particularly fast. Or you can step on a bus or tram directly across the road (20 rubles in the kiosk) for the 2 stops. The metro takes 30 mins into Red Square. If you arrive by Metro or even coming back to the hotel, when you come up from the underground look for McDonalds, the hotel is on the same side of the road past McDonalds and past a big car showroom, walk about 10 mins altogether. At the crossroads where the Metro is there is also a market - very interesting to walk around - and a super market - we bought vodka there to bring home and it was very reasonable, also bottled water- we stocked up here, just brought them back to the fridge in the room.
The shuttle service to the airport is good if you are going at the available slots. I think it was something like 10am & 12 pm and maybe an earlier one - we weren't flying out till 8pm so they ordered a taxi for us. (1300 Rubles) or you can get a shuttle bus outside the metro station for 80 rubles each.
Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn't working and although the girl on reception told us it was fixed the 2nd day it didn't seem to make any difference.
We booked through Hotels.com - I usually like to book directly with the hotel, but we got very good value, They were giving a good price anyway, much better than the hotel direct & then I think it was stay 2 nights and get the 3rd night free - so our stay for 3 nights was €280.00 (June 2009) - For me it was worth the savings to travel in & out on the metro.
We ate in the restaurant just before going to the airport and had a nice meal, reasonable, (go for the bar menu -even for drinks- the restaurant menu is a bit steep. You can have either sitting at the same table- I think it's because there isn't really a bar)
Overall I'd have no problem recommending Hotel Milan, if you are in Moscow to see the sights, and are looking for a base in nice surroundings with a great breakfast to start you off on your day exploring Moscow. If you are looking for a very luxurious hotel with leisure centre etc that's another thing.
Enjoy your trip. ;)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I stayed here on the final day of my Russian trip. The hotel was under construction, but it did not affect the stay at all. Rooms were large and modern. Staff was very helpful. Free shuttle to airport made the $150 price through expedia a great deal. Nice restaurant in hotel, but I did not try it. A 10 minute walk south to the Domodedova Green Line Metro Station (and McDonalds) puts you on the Moscow Metro Green Line and a 30 minute ride from the heart of the city. Watch the Metros coming back, however. One green line metro train diverts to another branch of the system, and the only obvious notice is the conductor's message in Russian. All it means is getting off the southbound green train and waiting for the next one, which arrives in 1-2 minutes. The shuttle to the airport takes about 30 minutes, and is free. Wifi in the room/lobby costs $20 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Hotel

Address: Shipilovskaya St., 28A | corner of Kashirskoe Shosse, Moscow 115563, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#60 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milan Hotel was built a short time ago - in the year of 2006. The hotel is situated in a 21-story modern building, which is equipped on a level of the highest world technical standards. The Milan Hotel is situated in Kashirskoye shosse, 20 minutes away from the international airport Domodedovo, and 25 minutes away from the center of Moscow. The nearest metro station is Domodedovskaya, and you can reach it within 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Moscow
Hotel Milan Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.