We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Moscow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napoleon Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Napoleon Hostel to your Saves list
Napoleon Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Mal. Zlatoustinskiy pereulok | Dom 2, 4th Floor, Moscow 101000, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 669 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Moscow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Napoleon Hostel has been voted as the best hostel in Moscow... When you first arrive, you think it's a bit pretentious. After one day, you already think that it deserves more !
There is always someone from the staff ready to help you with the smile, at any hour of the day or of the night.
The rooms, the bathroom, the kitchen and the living-room are always very clean.
The hostel is located next to one of the best night-club of Moscow, really close to the center (and just next to a metro station).
But the best thing is about people in the hostel. There's a special mood in Napoleon that makes everyone happier and friendlier than anywhere else. You came alone ? Don't worry, you'll find someone to go out without even having to ask !
So forget about any other hostel or hotel (who are way too expensive anyway). Forget about staying at friends', and, at least for one night, forget about CouchSurfing. They can all be great ways to stay in the city, but still, Napoleon Hostel is the greatest ! =)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
8
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Nothing more than you need. Attentive and friendly staff. Location is really great. Very close to the Kremlin and lots of restaurant around.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Good place in a good location. Not the best but i can suggest that.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

It was nice to arrive in moscow and find a nice hostel waiting for us. the staff was nice and friendly, had to share 2 toilets with the whole hostel so you might have to time your showers if not there is much to distract you while waiting such as the free internet or coffee in the kitchen we some other random traveller. met lots of cool people here and had a ball running around moscow city at night. if you have a chance you must watch a bolshoi ballet. :)

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

So we stayed at this hostel with a large group of friends for only two reasons. Our friends were staying there and hotels in Moscow are pretty pricey when compared to other places. We had a hard time finding something so we settled. never again. The location is difficult to find the first time, even cab drivers get lost. The building from the outside is a good runner up to some horror movies, and once you step inside you are instantly stepping over bags from other backpackers. the common area is tiny! the shared bathrooms have long lines and the rooms and hallways are very packed with just random stuff. The wait for the computer is pretty long too. the only positives are the location (a decent walk to the Red Square and metro stations) and the front desk people. The staff was pretty helpful more so than at other hostels I have stayed at. If you have a heavy bag or luggage make sure you rest up before you go up the stairs. In the summer expect mosquito but if you are sneaky and can somehow reach the AC unit in the ceiling you should be able to sleep pretty good assuming your roommates are not noisy. As far as a hostel goes its pretty typical but I am sure there have to be better options. Splurge and go for an actual hotel. For any Spanish speakers reading this there is local bar with a live band a couple of blocks away (left from the hotel and then a right). They had some Spanish music with the lyrics in a spanrussian language that made it a pretty fun place.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

First off, the location is fantastic, extremely close to Red Square and super close to the Kitay-Gorod metro stop. This was a major plus. In addition, the neighborhood was great; it's safe, and there are lots of shops in the vicinity.

The hostel, however, was a different story. The kitchen and bathroom were dirty. The kitchen had tons of dishes piled so high in the sink you couldn't even use it, and this was first thing in the morning. Since you have to bring in food to make your own meals, this made it difficult to even touch anything. For a hostel with so many beds, there are only two showers, and they're grimy. Be prepared for lines. In their defense, there was plenty of hot water despite so many people using the showers.

The rooms were fine and the bedding clean. I had no problems in this respect. I did have a lot of hesitation with leaving my luggage in the hallway. Thankfully, nothing was taken, but there is nothing stopping anyone from going through your things, especially since the hallway door that leads to the reception is kept closed.

Check in was disorganized. I arrived early (about 8am-ish), but not too early to expect reception to be sleeping on the sofa surrounded by several others passed out. After picking up the phone on the check-in desk and calling the manager's number that was on the wall, the reception person only stirred when the manager called the hostel back on two separate phones lines to wake her.

Once awake, she informed me bluntly that check in was at 10am and I could just put my luggage in the hallway. I had already taken it upon myself by then to find a clean towel, shower, and then get myself ready in the middle of reception.

I really wanted to like this place. It's super close to Red Square and amenities. Maybe I arrived on an off weekend, but I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I have been there for 4nights and I can only say positive things about Napoleon Hostel and the great people I met there.
The staff is so polite and gentle always up for help you in everything.
I really felt like to be home in the best family!
Hope to could come back there soon!

  • Liked — Location, value for money, clean
  • Disliked — Kitchin a little small, but had everything you needed.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napoleon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon Hostel

Address: 3 Mal. Zlatoustinskiy pereulok | Dom 2, 4th Floor, Moscow 101000, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 669 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napoleon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAPOLEON Hostel is MOSCOW'S MOST POPULAR BACKPACKER HOSTEL and is located JUST 5 MINUTES WALK from Red Square in the trendy old town ''Kitai Gorod'' area. This district is characterised with cobbled streets, old merchant houses and quaint Orthodox churches and is full of exciting bars, cheap restaurants, and local supermarkets, all within walking distance.Napoleon Hostel is award winning having won Best Hostel in Russia by Hostelworld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napoleon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napoleon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.