We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peter I to your Saves list
Peter I
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neglinnaya St., 17, Moscow 127051, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RUB5,000 (RUB)
Ranked #61 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The hotel was ideally located for all the sights of central Moscow. Close to Red Square, the Kremlin and the Metro. We had a room at the back of the hotel facing into a small private courtyard. The staff were polite, breakfast very good... Couldn't really find any faults.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    153
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
93
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

While the hotel was quite fine, though a little expensive, the restaurant completeley failed.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We spent a week at this hotel in 2009 and were pleased with the value for money. The hotel regularly runs specials on multiple US booking sites and cannot be beat for what you get for the relatively low price (which almost always includes breakfast). It’s a few blocks from the Bolshoi and you can walk to Red Square, although you do have a major eight lane road and a luxury car dealership to navigate on the way (we later found another route). I didn’t care much for the restaurants in this area, but others may enjoy the overpriced venues within blocks of this hotel. The department store TSUM is very close too.

The rooms have good beds and all the regular amenities. They were cleaned well. Not too memorable (certainly not five star), but they provide everything you would need. The breakfast served was varied with many choices. The service at breakfast was a bit aggressive, with clearing of plates literally while you are still eating – but I think in trying to provide efficient service they have simply gotten a bit over-zealous- so it was more amusing than anything else.

The only negative were two staff members we dealt with – and even this was a minimal issue. We were literally told “shhh” when attempting to ask questions during thei desk clerk’s introductory lecture while checking in- told to wait as our questions would be answered in this intro (which of course they were not). This desk person was very cold and standoff-ish toward all guests and did not seem to enjoy his job at all. The night concierge at the time could not locate a map (!) and was on his cell phone the whole time he tried to “help” us – par for the course in Russia. Good service was virtually nonexistent in our experience.

Altogether a nice solid (but standard) choice for Moscow, in a very good location. I do recommend the hotel, esp. for first time visitors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

hi just been to peter 1 hotel for four days, loved everything about this hotel. room was very large facing the main road were noise wasnt a issue, we were in 485 on fourth floor, beds comfy bathroom large and spotless with underfloor heating, and dressing gowns and slippers, and complimentary toiletries, very nice touch,hotel staff very proficient in there work, very helpful reception staff and concierge,when info was required,fantastic buffet breakfast included in room rate off 100 pounds for twin room,service at breakfast also excellent, i made use of the fitness centre which had a nice pool steam rooms jacuzzi etc, and on each visit i was the only person in there very nice,position of hotel approx ten mins stroll from red square,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

This Hotel is very good if you have the money for it. It was not cheap, but very good.
Rooms has been cleaned very well. The room itself (we got the smallest 2-person-room with queensized beds) has been very good too, but the viewpoint of this room was bad.
Television in different languages, bath was very clean and looked luxery. Got alot of different shampoo's and other little things free to use in bath. You have a safe-in-wall as well as enough space for your cloths.
it seems like you could check everytime your actually price you have to pay throu your television (multimedia) but we didnt understand it completely.

What was bad at the room: there is a little fridge with different things in it (such as coke, snacks, alcohol) but have to pay for everything you'll open and thats not cheap at all (such as the hotel itself). Let the clothes be cleaned was very easy, in good quality and fast, but prices here are very high too, would only recommend this if really needet!

The breakfast is awsome! you got fresh orangejuice, such as cranberriejuice. many different sorts of tea and enough coffee and warm milk. A good choice of fruits and yoghurts. Warm things such as eggs and eggs-in-toast are very well! Love'd to have breakfast there.

In the lounge at evening you can have some drinks and sometimes theres a person who playes piano very well. that makes it very comfortable, also to check-in and -out.

people at reception speaks english very well.

We didnt use the fitness-room, doesnt look so nice as the rest of the hotel. The Sauna wasn't very hot, and made of stone, wich is not so comfortable as wooden-sauna but has a tube with cool water wich was good to cool down.
The jacuzzi isn't very hot too. But the pool has enough space for some people at looked clean.

all in all, a very comfortable, luxury-like hotel with some little negative things. But if you dont care about money and you want to stay close to the red-square for example, its very good!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellatrix Online LTD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I just needed to say this cause maybe other people are like me. It is extremely noisy in this Hotel. I couldn't get any sleep because of this. It is like sleeping on the sidewalk because you can hear everything that is going on outside.
The service is fine. Not extraordinary ! They called me a taxi , an Armenian guy with a Volga who robbed me ( not violently ) by taking double the fare to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Hotel is nice and clean. Concierge girls are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peter I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter I

Address: Neglinnaya St., 17, Moscow 127051, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#48 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#50 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter I 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter I Hotel is situated in the heart of Moscow in the late 19th century style building, which was successfully reconstructed in 2006. The hotel is located just a few minutes away from Red Square, Bolshoi and Maly theatres and many other attractions of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peter I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter 1 Hotel
Peter 1 Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.