We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but at a price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Moscow to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Moscow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tverskaya St., 3, Moscow 125009, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed here as a part of a two-centre tour to Moscow and St. Petersburg. Excellent location and rooms are sumptuous. So what's not to like? Well, the costs of incidentals are pretty scary; small glasses of wine start at around GBP 15 for example, and rapidly head into the stratosphere. And whilst the breakfast buffet is superb (but also not exactly cheap), the incessant mood music is horrid and detracts from the overall experience. (Why do hotels not realise that customers like to eat their breakfast in silence?) But these are minor niggles, and do not diminish the experience which is overwhelmingly favourable overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    159
    40
    15
    15
See reviews for
59
171
59
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a business visit. First of all, when you enter the hotel you encounter with the great scent. It touches you so nicely. The rooms are so big and luxurious. The location is very central, it is like when you step out the hotel red square starts. I have tried the O2 bar couple of times and view of it is also amazing. Breakfast buffet is rich. The service is very good and personalized. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Staying on the 10th floor club level certainly adds to the experience of staying in this beautiful hotel. We were fortunate to be provided room #1010, which when we entered we were both delighted and amazed to be facing right out at the Red Square and Kremlin. It is one of the more dramatic sights for anyone who loves to travel. Almost every main tourist attraction in the city is within reasonable walking distance. Service was excellent, in particular the staff working on the club level, where food was served continually almost throughout the entire day. The rooms are very well appointed and immaculate and both the bedroom and bathroom have more than sufficient space. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for both top quality service and convenience when visiting Moscow. Do not leave without visiting the rooftop bar, it even offers greater panoramic views of a large part of the center of the city, worth going up late at night as well, great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor and ask for a room facing the Red Square, makes the time in the room even more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at a conference here: and was still able to see Moscow because the location puts so many attractions literally on your doorstep. I was able to sneak out for brief trips in the mornings and evenings and really got a sense of the city.
The rooms are par for Ritz-Carlton, which is great.
Service was befitting the brand.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this fantastic hotel. Others have written of the amenities and position of the hotel. The staff also go out of their way from a very warm welcome to honouring any request of guests. Special mention must go to Maria who showered us to our room, explained how everything worked and followed us up each day she was working to see if we needed anything further. The staff are all well trained and make your stay a pleasure. This is one of the best hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms are spacious, immaculate and well appointed. The bathroom is the best that I've had in Europe -- great amenities, two sinks so both of you can get ready, perfect hair dryer tucked into a cubby by the sink, lighted mirror AND washcloths with fluffy large towels. The service is as close to perfect as one can ask for. Hotel is very conveniently and centrally located. It's expensive, but you get what you pay for. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here 3 times while on business in Moscow. The hotel itself is nice, rooms are spacious and well maintained. The roof terrace views are exceptional.
The major downside to this hotel is the service. It is atrocious. Every single time I stayed here I had a problem with the concierge for simple things like printing a boarding pass ("you have to print in the business centre" - "yes, but it's closed" - " you can print tomorrow morning" - "yes but i am leaving now" - "sorry there is nothing we can do"), booking taxis, wake up calls etc etc
When i used the concierge phone to book myself a taxi (with 3 of them just standing around looking at me), I noticed that their speed dial for the concierge team is............................... "Sexy Ladies"............ what is that for a level of professionalism, Ritz Carlton??? Perhaps that's a better explanation for the concierge team role than actually helping clients?
I would recommend Lotte and Hyatt for better rooms and better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis J, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Moscow, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences, which we take seriously.
We are unhappy with the fact, that we clearly did not deliver up to your and our expectations and do look forward to welcoming you again and giving us the opportunity to create a true
Ritz-Carlton experience.

Regards,
Dennis K. Jung
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Address: Tverskaya St., 3, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#4 Business Hotel in Moscow
#5 Family Hotel in Moscow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Red Square, next to the Kremlin, in the heart of cultural and business center of Russia’s capital, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow features the largest guest rooms and suites providing cutting edge technological amenities. The hotel offers a string of luxurious amenities including world-class dining options - O2 Lounge with summer terrace on the 12th floor with breathtaking panoramic view over the Kremlin and Red Square, Café Russe presentic Russian cuisine and international highlights, Pan-Asian restaurant Novikov Restaurant & Bar, a beauty salon, barber spa, Fitness Center and spacious full-service Spa by ESPA featuring 14 treatment rooms, as well as a heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam rooms. With more than 1,100 square meters / 11,436 square feet of meeting space including the Ballroom accommodating events of up to 700 guests, The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow will welcome attendees in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Hotel Moscow
Moscow Ritz Carlton
Ritz Moscow
Ritz-Carlton Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.