We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Collection But Little Is In English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Armed Forces Museum of Russian Federation

Central Armed Forces Museum of Russian Federation
Sovetskoy Armii St., 2 | Metro: Dostoevskaya, Novoslobodskaya, Moscow, Russia
+7 (495) 681-63-03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 1,745 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Collection But Little Is In English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am glad that I went, but it is frustrating because, like most Russian museums, so little is in English. A lot of great artifacts, including Gary Francis Power's U2, a huge number of Russian tanks and modern aircraft. Unfortunately not displayed well. Because there is so little in English, I tore through the museum in an hour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A place not to miss for those interested in WWII history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are interested in military stuff and WWII history this is a place to go! There is also modern military stuff on display.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disjointed but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The collections and dioramas are interesting but there is no signage in English and it is very hard to work out the organization of the museum or significance of the displays

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“One of my highlights in Moscow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you are even slightly interested in WWII history, this is a must. Russia is where most of WWII took place. NUmbers vary but from 24 to 26 million Russians died during the war and Germany suffered 80% of it's WWII casualties on the Eastern front. But even more than WWII, this museum starts with an armored car and armored train engine from the revolutionary era and goes to modern times. It is a state of the art museum inside along with extensive display of aircraft, armor, and more outside. I thought it was fantastic and even my wife who is not interested in military history enjoyed it.

It was optional on our tour and well worth every ruble.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
577 reviews 577 reviews
471 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
1,248 helpful votes 1,248 helpful votes
“Decent military museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I visited the Central Armed Forces Museum after touring the Kubinka tank museum. I was with a guide (he was excellent and comes highly recommended: Oleg Alexandrov at www.threewhales.ru) which facilitated the process greatly. The museum is more comprehensive than the Great Patriotic War museum, covering Russia’s military history back to Napoleon’s invasion and the Bolshevik Revolution as well as World War 2, the Cold War, and more recent conflicts such as Afghanistan.

As my interest lies foremost with the Second World War we spent the majority of our time there. There is roughly one room dedicated to each of the major battles (Moscow, Stalingrad, Kursk, etc.) in addition to a smattering of other artifacts from the time period. The main hall shows the flag flown over the Reichstag in 1945 along with numerous Nazi standards and Zhukov’s uniform. After roughly an hour in the WW2 section we toured the Cold War portion (Gary Power’s U-2 spy plane remnants were an unexpected finding), an exhibit on the Kursk submarine accident, and a few more modern exhibits. We ended with a quick tour outside where there are numerous tanks, planes, and missiles (including what I think was an ICBM).

Overall I enjoyed my visit here with a couple caveats. First, there were a few sections closed (Napoleon’s invasion and the Revolution if I recall correctly) so if you have your heart set on a specific section you may want to call ahead of time to confirm it’s availability. Second, the lack of English signage was evident and readers may want to consider a guide if they have the interest. My guide was excellent and pointed out numerous invaluable findings (Penalty Brigade, U-2 wreckage, Stalingrad shrapnel, etc.) that I would have completely overlooked otherwise.

Worth a couple hours of your time for those with the interest.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Armed Forces Museum of Russian Federation also viewed

 

Been to Central Armed Forces Museum of Russian Federation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Armed Forces Museum of Russian Federation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.