We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suitable for backpacker” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DA! Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DA! Hostel to your Saves list
DA! Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Stary Arbat St., 11, Moscow 119019, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 669 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“suitable for backpacker”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

pro:
1. good location: near to supermarket, metro station, restaurant, ....
2. The staffs are helpful and friendly.
3. Fair price for backpackers
4. Clean and tidy.

cons:
1.Broken elevator: We walked all the way up to the fourth floor (the reception) with bulky luggage and when we got there, we were completely out of breath. Avoid to stay here until March. The staff said the elevator only will be repair in March.
2. Very hard to find this place, even the taxi driver took 25-30 mins to find this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Marsha, thank you for your review!
We arу very glad you liked the place.
Everything is working now and our guests are enjoing numerouse facilities of Da! Hostel.
As of the location, we are right on the Arbat street in the center of Moscow!
Please, see the map and directions at our web site and booking engines. But you know how to find us next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
4
7
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice place for this price! Great location!!! All interesting places are near! In hostel very warm atmosphere, clean rooms, enough entertainment for all ages. Polite girls on reception, very helpful and responsive. Occasionally will stop there again. Even wasn't upset by broken elevator

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Jane, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

i come back after little holiday in moscow. it was first time in this new Hostel.

location and staff are great, for a good price

rooms are good , clean and spacious , i will reccomend to my friends if they will come in Moscow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Moba77, thank you for your review!
We are glad you liked Da! Hostel!
We renewed our private rooms for couples! You would like it even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I'll start with the good.
Great location, rooms are clean and each bed has a personal lamp and outlets.
The bad:
Directions aren't too clear. After taking the stairs leading out of the metro station, you take the doors on the right and then take the passenger tunnel to basically get to the other side of the large roadway. There is a code shop but is not called double coffee (I forget the name). There is no sign on the iron gate leading to the courtyard that the hostel is located in. Reception is on 4th floor (again no signs until you get to the floor).
They asked for 1000 RUBLES as a deposit for sheets, towels and keys. That amount is absurd, especially for the level of service they offer.
Construction everywhere. Those in 4th floor rooms have walk through cold halls and steps to use the 5th floor bathrooms, and even then, half the bathrooms have been locked and are used to store supplies.
The elevator has probably out of service for months, judging by the construction supplies collecting dust in front of it.
Bathroom stalls aren't stocked regularly. Constantly no toilet paper though bins would be emptied. I watched the staff using hostel provided laptops (for guests) while the kitchen was a mess.
Small shower stalls and draining poor; puddles of water everywhere.
Water temperature constantly changed between lukewarm and cold.
Two power outages in two days, the second one lasting hours.
Maybe when construct is complete, it may be better, but do yourself a favorite and find something better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton B, Owner at DA! Hostel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Carmen!
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and will comment on the issues you unfortunately encountered.
The directions. It is located right on Arbat street with great view, but enter is from backyard through the gate. There is always sign on this gate, but before you came a woman broke it because somebody wrote a bad word on it :-) We made another one, it will be on gate in 2 days.
The constructions. We will finish it in two days. We made new, more comfortable showers for you!
The elevator. Yes, some vandals broke it 2 months ago. The spare parts came from France to Moscow yesterday, at last, they promise that will repair it in a week.
Draining showers. As I mentioned, we solve this problem, they have been completely reconstructed.
I am very sorry that all that stuff encountered specifically during your visit. Trying to smooth your impression about this really amazing hostel, you can count on absolutely free next visit to Da! Hostel, for up to a week. Just make a link to this answer in your booking and my personel will book the place for you for free. This concerns everyone, who have lived in Da! Hostel that days.
We really value the comfort of our guest and we are ready to compensate any inconvenience our guests may have.
Hope you will find Da! Hostel' service cmpletely better next time you visit Moscow.

Antony,
Owner of Da! Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DA! Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DA! Hostel

Address: Stary Arbat St., 11, Moscow 119019, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 669 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — DA! Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DA! is a modern, spacious, and cozy hostel located in the historic center of Moscow.Award winner "RUSSIAN HOTEL AWARDS. MOSCOW 2013" in category "BEST HOSTEL".We all worked out to the smallest details: comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, enough toilets and showers with all necessary for you, free Internet access, relax-zone, large TV and PlayStation 3, lockers, sheets & towel & hair-dryer – all included in price. when checking-in, the hostel will charge a Deposit of 1000 rubles (25 EUR) which will return to you when you will be checking-out.And of course double outlet with a shelf and a lamp for each bed! :- )Reception is open 24/7!You want excursions, culture life, or chill out at night club? We will lead you in the sea of Moscow entertainments! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DA! Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DA! Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.