We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ina great Moscow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chillax Hostel

Chillax Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chillax Hostel to your Saves list
Chillax Hostel
Vtoroi Kolobovskiy Lane, 9, Moscow 127051, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“Great place ina great Moscow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hostel is a great place to meet other travelers around the world. Great spacey common area, fully equipped kitchen, separate bathrooms for boys and girls and spotlessly clean. Its very safe also, with 24h reception, cctv and private locker.Location i perfect, just the step to two big metro stations to bring you anywhere in Moscow. Markets 0-24h,Restaurants,Famos circus,Fast foods,Disco and Caffe is just around the corner.To Red Square you can easy walk in 10min. Hallo to Katjas,Ann and rest of the staff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
4
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

crowded dorms, a lot of noise everywhere, uncomfortable bank-beds, most -but not all- of the staff seems bored (i asked them to show me some places to visit on the map, and had the expression on their face of doing something very difficult, and then repeated the same things again and again), and some not speaking very good english (difficult to communicate). Lockers to keep things are inside the rooms and if you have to leave during the night (e.g. timetable of train or airplane) everyone feels disturbed. Dirty toilet rooms, half of them out of order, (the same with the douche), or with small pressure in the toilet tank. In the entrance you have to make acrobatics to take off your shoes because there is not even a stool you could sit on and it is not allowed to enter to the rest of the dorm with mud and snow (the last one makes sense). Dirty and small kitchen. Good thing the 2 free computers and internet. Sorry, but I would choose something else next time...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had a really nice stay here.

The hostel is a good one although a little hard to find as the sign is small. The hostel had a great atmosphere with the staff and guests being very friendly and down-to-earth.

One of the cleanest hostels I've come across; the beds were turned regularly, floor constantly mopped and nothing seemed tatty.

The bedrooms were small but functional (I stayed in a 6-bed dorm) and there was a kitchen with ample space and a large comfortable common room with free internet computers and a very large TV,

If I return to Moscow I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed in here in May 2013 with a friend! At first it was pretty hard to find but so is everything in Moscow. Everything at the hostel was fine and the staff took us out in Moscow and had a great few nights! Recomend :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This will be my second year staying in Moscow and I have to say the level of service and friendship here is 5 Stars. You are given the option of how many beds per room that you want, I chose the 14 bed room for the price and it was great for me. You are given a locker and sleeping materials. My favorite is the living room, where else would you get a chance to meet people from all parts of the world, and everyone is eager to know where you are from and make friends so be prepared to give some insight on your home country :)

I found the hostel to be quite clean, with a hired maid whom comes frequently. The shower itself is nice as well, with a good water pressure and jet system.

The thing that really made me fall in love with Chillax is the staff and overall atmosphere. They hold special events and occasionally the owners come by with special russian treats / fun! The receptionist will be eager to help you locate your destination, or if it's unknown they will have suggestions. They can speak English very well so if you don't understand russian do not worry!

Thank you Chillax for your hospitality and look forward to future visits to Russia!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the past two months and have been relatively impressed both times. It's not the best hostel in the world, nor even in Moscow. However, I've met some lovely people there and it's fairly cheap considering it's only a 20 minute walk from Red Square. The lockers serve a purpose both I wouldn't put my valuables in them, I'd rather take them with me as the rooms are open to anyone in the hostel.

Room Tip: The less people per room the more expensive, I've stayed in the 12 person room both times and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hostel are clean, they hire a person to clean all the place which I witness during two nights I stayed; the public space is good, they provide two PCs and one LCD tv; they also have a clean kitchen for ppl to cook; The distance from hostel to red square takes me 20 mins by walking, one hostel staff is serious, but they all can speak fluent english.

Room Tip: The bed shakes a bit when I slept in the upper bunk of female dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chillax Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillax Hostel

Address: Vtoroi Kolobovskiy Lane, 9, Moscow 127051, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Chillax Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chillax Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.