We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club 27 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club 27 Hotel to your Saves list
Club 27 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malaya Nikitskaya St., 27, Moscow 121069, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Generally OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Location is not far from Sheremetevo express (Beloruskaya). The building and the repair are not brand new but they give a historical feeling. The breakfast was not the best but we did not stay hungry. In summary, free internet (Wifi), comfortable room and reasonable price for Moscow. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions now, the location is ideal and was within walking distance of all my appointments. The rooms are decorated rather ornately, to say the least, I particularly liked the mural in my room. However, they were comfortable, the internet was very good. If you come to Moscow to watch television, then there are English channels. The breakfast was ok, but if you want breakfast out of the hotel there are plenty of places to go locally. If you like bland hotels that look the same the world over then go find them, this is a great altervative and vastly cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Location is probably the major plus point for this hotel, being reasonably close to most business and tourist spots in central Moscow.

The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean, but the temperature control was seriously frustrating. Considering it was freeeeeezing cold outside, you wanted some warmth inside -- but not a suffocating boiler room atmosphere! There's a vent above and radiators around the room, but the indicator just didn't seem to reflect actual temperature. In the end, I resorted to opening the windows occasionally to let in a bit of cool air. On the plus side, the bathroom seemed to have heating under the floor, so I ended up with nice, toasty feet!

The service is pretty good -- staff were invariably friendly and helpful, but not everyone knows English, so pray that you're lucky enough to get someone who can understand your language at the reception.

One serious quirk -- you have to press the doorbell at the entrance and wait for reception staff to respond before the door will open. If no one is attending at reception, it can be a freezing wait outdoors.

The restaurant was pretty good -- I enjoyed several late night dinner, desserts and coffees. I tried specifically Russian looking dishes because I like to experiment, but basic Continental cuisine seemed available on the menu as well.

The internet connection was good and fast, which was a major bonus for me, both to stay in touch with my company as well as Skype with family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

The lobby is OK, the rooms are run-down and shabby, the mattress is thin and the TV doesn't bring in any English channels. I would not return, unless I had absolutely no alternative. Moscow is horribly expensive, and that's this joint's only redeeming value.

Breakfast was a typical Russian selection, and not bad because I'm used to it. The dining room/restaurant is a cavernous, ornate space that looks like Tolstoy was the last diner there. It's empty, as only hotel guests know about it, and most would rather go somewhere more interesting. Like eating in a mauseleum.
.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

I stayed at Club 27 on a business trip in December 2006. It was close to the organisation I was visiting, and just under my company's maximum of 275 euros (9000 roubles/260 euro, to be precise). This was difficult to find, as many hotels were booked out.

Don't know if the staff speak English (I speak Russian). Room was OK, bathroom OK, TV had no English-language stations (but one in Spanish).

But the breakfast! I really could not eat or drink anything, except some yoghourt (straight out of the pot). Basically just stuff from tins. And the coffee! It takes skill to make it that bad.

Another thing. Since it's a "Club", the front door is always closed, so you have to ring the bell to get in at any time.

Anywhere else in the world you would say that 260 euro for this is a flagrant rip-off. But Moscow is Moscow, a city for millionaires who don't care about the prices.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2005

I travel frequently to Moscow, and recently had to book a hotel last minute. It can be extremely difficult to find a free hotel room in Moscow, and all of the hotels I usually stay in were either full, or only had suites available (starting at about $650/night).

Club 27 had a room available, and I had read on another web site that it was clean, although a bit old fashioned. That description was generous to say the least.

The reception/lobby area is actually somewhat attractive, if not typically garish as Russians seem to love. The rooms, however, have probably not been remodled since the 1960s. It was indeed somewhat clean, but the TV was tiny and barely worked, the bathroom just slightly above minimum standards of acceptability, the "mini-bar" comical. The coffee they served for breakfast may have been the worst I've ever tasted.

I'm not terribly picky about where I stay, so I was able to laugh it off. And I wouldn't have minded if it had been cheap, but they charged 6,000 rubles per night (about $215). Most of the time, you can find a nice, Western-standard room for that rate.

If you want to get a taste of what it was like during the Soviet era, this is the place for you. Otherwise, unless you have no other alternative, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club 27 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club 27 Hotel

Address: Malaya Nikitskaya St., 27, Moscow 121069, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club 27 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club 27 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club 27 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.