We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Akademicheskaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Akademicheskaya Hotel to your Saves list
Akademicheskaya Hotel
Donskaya St., 1, Moscow 119049, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Assen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worn out, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here on business, with my Russian host paying, so cannot judge value for money. Positive: good shower, good air conditioning, close to metro stop, acceptable restaurants in the area, reasonable sound insulation (on eleventh floor at back side). Negative: bed worn out (springs of mattress poking into your body), carpeting completely worn out and "sticky", ventilator in a hidden ceiling duct squeaking all day&night, long queue for breakfast with doors open only at 7.30, long way (need metro) from main tourist attractions in central Moscow.

Room Tip: Up high and at back side are probably the quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
1
1
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The positive sides about the hotel are its location (2 minutes from the metro) and panoramic view if you are at the higher floors. The negative sides are, the old-fashioned furniture, poor breakfast options, bad internet connection, and expensive room rates when compared to overall experience. I found the hotel staff nice, and the air conditioner in the room was working good. Upon a recommendation from my friends, I requested a room from the back side of the hotel because I was told the front rooms were noisy because of the traffic etc. The back side room was quiet. Moscow is an expensive city but still I think the price is too much. You can find a similar hotel at this quality at a much lower rate, although it may be far from the city center. But I would advise not to worry because as long as it is close to metro, the distances do not matter much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have decided to refresh my memory on USSR time - usually I booked this hotel (it was not easy for the time) in 80-th when travelling abroad from my home town Novosibirsk. I should say, that almost nothing changed - very slow receiption stuff with half working card terminal, terrible restaurant with falsified red french wine and extremely hard steaks. The only plus - good location.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a good room in the hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This started out as a ver positive review until I checked how much they were charging.
Its a 3-4 star hotel, maybe a good 3 star is the best description, no complaints, except at 6600 RUB per night I would have expected a bit more. If I has paid sa4 3500-4500 RUB per night I would be very happy with this hotel. Location was good for me, a few km south of red square. Taxi from airpot to hotel took 75mins despite leaving airport at 630AM due to heavy traffic.

Staff very helpful and cooperative and good english skills - much better than my experience with most other hotel in Russia. Room service meal was very good, prompt and efficient and exactly as decsribed, but a little expensive at 1000RUB for a main course and 2 drinks.

Breakfast was adequate but a little disappointing. Free internet works, but was rather slow most of the time. Room has small bed, mid size room but both desk and a circular table in room, bathoom small but has a bathtub. Fridge in room (empty minibar) is useful for cooling any drinks you buy at supermarket.

No complaints, but on reflection I felt it was a little expensive (even for russia) for what you get...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The cordiality and availability of the staff unfortunately does not compensate the overall impression. The hotel is pretty old: very old (horrid) bathroom w. a bath and plastic curtain, shabby chair, dirty mocquette (the rest of the furniture including the bed was fine).
Very thin walls and doors so you can hear TV and phonecalls of your neighbors. So are the windows so you can hear all traffic, including the trams turning to depot right under your window.
There is no division into smoking/non smoking rooms but there was no tobacco or other smell in the room. No air conditioning, only centralized heating so the room was very very cold.
+ location
+ cleaning
+ early checkin without extra charge and in general almost always available (even without booking)
+ cold/hot drinking water distributor at each floor
+ staff
+- breakfast (pretty rich but very Russian style)
+- internet (wifi in the room, but it did not always work, esp. in the evening)
- no safe in the room
- no air conditioning/autonomous heating
- elevator waiting time (3 elevators for at least 12 floors)
- 100 rub charge for leaving your luggage after checkout, to pick it up later
- room: furniture, bathroom, tv.

In general it's an Ok solution for an emergency and for cost minded travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crouch End
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I hope never to darken the doors of this dreary hotel again. It is expensive for what it is, and comfortless. Curtains that don't keep the light out or even cover the whole of the windows, small mean bathroom (this was in a suite), non-functioning air conditioner, no minibar, no means of making tea or coffee, though they did give us two cups. Staff are generally unfriendly, and the breakfasts unimaginative unless you are keen on soviet-style sausages and porridge. The only compensation is the bar which is open long hours, but expensive and slow to produce the food. I haven't stayed elsewhere in Moscow, but it must be possible to find somewhere more pleasant for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I've selected the Academicheskaya hotel for its great location (withing the Sadovoye ring, minutes from the subway and the Gorky Park) and reasonable price (reasonable for the expensive Moscow city, of course). My room was at 11th flour. I stayed at the hotel for three days, for one day the elevator didn't work. It was quite problematic to catch a hot water during morning hours -- the consumption of water was high and all the flours on top was lacking the hot water.

My room was clean, with all necessary things included. Beds were new, the carpet was cleaned. No smell of tobacco or anything. Everything in the bathroom was recently renewed and really very clean.

The services left much to be desired. The reception girls were not very welcoming, I had to join a long queue to get my keys. The so called "business center" in the lobby was nothing but one computer (often out of service) and a copier.

Air conditioning in my room was broken. I had to keep my windows opened all the time to get some fresh air. With a tram depot and busy auto traffic right under my window, I couldn't get a good sleep.

One of the great advantage of the 11th flour was a view to the Shabolovka radio station -- a symbol of the Soviet Radio.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akademicheskaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademicheskaya Hotel

Address: Donskaya St., 1, Moscow 119049, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akademicheskaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akademicheskaya Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akademicheskaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.