We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolshoi Theatre

Bolshoi Theatre
1 Teatralnyy proyezd, Moscow, Russia
095/292-0050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$56*
and up
Private Tour: Moscow Highlights Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #33 of 1,381 Attractions in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 925 Reviews
Type: Architectural Buildings, Ballets, Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest theater in Moscow, rebuilt following a fire and later a hurricane, is magnificent both inside and out, and its resident opera and ballet troupes rate among the finest in the world.
Aylesbury, Bucks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not much can be said about the Bolshoi other than - stunning, fabulous and amazing!
The ballets and operas here are one in a million.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    177
    70
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Everything you expect & more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked our tickets online via the Bolshoi Theatre for the performance of The Nutcracker, as soon as they were released. Although a little pricey we thought it was worth every penny, what an experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murom, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Opera in Bolshoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Totally worth visiting. The Opera (i've visited La Traviata) was fantastic. The Theatre is newly renovated and is fabulous inside. Please prepare to arrive at least 20 minutes before the show.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“chairs and a buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

very beautifull renewed theatre. but what is going on with chairs? i set for 4 hours of Boris Godunov on a chair, my back was killing me .i wanted the good opera will ended already.cuz my back ache, and it is a pity cuz the opera was very interesting and excellent prepared show.another stupid thing for my opinion was a buffet .in the breaks we headed to buy something to drink.we had have to go 4 floors downstairs.cuz the elevator was so tiny and full of people who waited for it.in the buffet was one(!) girl worker.the line was so long like a tale og eel.lol.even after the 3th bell we still waited in the line to buy a buttle of perrier. so what is wrong to put more stuff in the restorant/buffet? that people can return to their sits on time?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you manage to get tickets to see the ballet in the newly restored Bolshoi it is worth every penny. We saw the opening night of Sleeping Beauty, magical. A note, half time drinks served on the top floor, expect large queues

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolshoi Theatre also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Bolshoi Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolshoi Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.