We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macabre but Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lenin's Mausoleum

Lenin's Mausoleum
Red Square, Moscow, Russia
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 1,753 things to do in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The embalmed body - or possibly a wax likeness - of this notorious 20th-century Russian leader is viewable inside this large stone mausoleum, where a certain decorum for visitors is strictly enforced.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Macabre but Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We couldn't leave Moscow without seeing the embalmed corpse of Lenin. We arrived early on the day we intended to visit and didn't wait in any lines. There was a small gift shop nearby where tourists were leaving their personal belongings as nothing is allowed into the mausoleum. The security detail was quite friendly and ushered us through quickly. it was interesting to see the monuments to all the dead Soviet leaders. Many of them had fresh flowers strewn about. Once we entered the the mausoleum, things became very somber. The young officers on duty were serious and stern. Just the aura of these men made the tourists quiet and respectful. It is extremely dark inside the building. Look down as you walk because there are some steps to traverse in this darkness. Since it's so dark, it's hard to see Lenin clearly and his casket is kept a good distance from the aisle. His face looked peaceful and healthy. From the distance I couldn't tell if it was a real body or a wax figure. It was a haunting and mysterious experience that I thought about for many days afterward.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    118
    75
    25
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Seems a little bizarre writing a review about the resting place of such an iconic leader! Having read and seen so much about Lenin over the years led us to visit his mausoleum not once but twice. Queues were fine, bags/cameras/ phones do have to be left in a cloakroom and there are strict security checks upon entering. Guards are dotted around and you have the opportunity to walk past the graves of other iconic leaders. When you enter the mausoleum it is very dark with a distinct smell. Guards again are dotted about ensuring that people do not talk, put hands in pockets or stop. Completely surreal experience, one which after the first visit left me with many unanswered questions, hence the second visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Surreal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

In order to avoid long queues get to Red Square 15 minutes before opening time. My tip would be don't take any bags, phones or cameras as you are not allowed in with these items and you will have to leave the queue to deposit them in a separate building. After the security check you walk past the graves of other significant people on your way to the mausoleum. Once inside it is very dark so be careful as you go down the black stairs. My husband tripped and got told off by one of the guards, of which there are numerous. He was also told off for talking and putting his hands in his pockets! You do have to keep moving whilst in the room with Lenin but we walked quite slowly and had enough time. It is actually a unique experience and I would recommend it if visiting Moscow.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“the dead centre of Moscow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

it's free to enter but all bags, cameras and phones have to be left in a cloakroom. Whether it really IS Lenin or not in an open casket doesn't ultimately matter. It's impressive and scary in equal measure with an aura/atmosphere I've never experienced before. The building itself is an ugly, unforgiving structure on the south/west side of Red Square that belies the sense of occasion standing in the presence of one of the world's history makers

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We did this because there was no line and we had the time. Lenin looked like a wax figure and no one is allowed to actually stop, so you are in and out in about 20 seconds. You walk around the figure on 3 sides, from a distance of about 8 feet. Our guide believes it is a wax figure, as Lenin was dead for 6 years before being put on display in the mausoleum. If there is no line, see for yourself, but I wouldn't bother waiting. Warning: there are very dark steps at the entrance, so be careful descending.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lenin's Mausoleum also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Lenin's Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenin's Mausoleum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.