We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moscow Metro

Moscow Metro
Vozdvizhenka, Moscow, Russia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Moscow Metro Tour
Ranked #34 of 1,381 Attractions in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 3,329 Reviews
Type: Architectural Buildings, Public Transportation Systems, Other
Activities: Group tours/city tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riding the city's underground subway system is a sightseeing tour in itself with huge, vaulted, marble-columned stations - some with ornate mosaics and splendid stained glass - designed and decorated by famous Russian architects and sculptors.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I heard a lot of very nice things about the Moscow Metro...before I landed there....so it got me all excited...but at the end of the day...it was bit of an anti-climax....well..I must say that the stations are interesting...I took the train from Krasniye Vorota to Oktholny Ryad....the stations look clean and spartan....but the train itself is not great...reminded me of the PAris Metro train....I would still rate the London Metro train higher.....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,058
    910
    252
    78
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Peoples' Palaces indeed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not what I expected at all! Very interesting and well worth a visit! Very impressive! You need to see a couple of stations to get an overview as they are all very different.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A majetic Mettro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This metro was initially built to protect Moscow from invaders during world war II and play a role as underground protected area for the population. It's therefore full of testimonials

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as I imagine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Only some of its station are that fantastic..
I did not like it......it is not clean and well organised as the metro in St petersburg.
It was not so easy to find the way precisely even with my good knowledge with russian language.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Massive Fear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unfortunately the only way of rapid transportation in Moscow. Overloaded system with rude people who never smiles, abrupt police (better do not go there at all if you have mediterranean or middle-eastern appearance) and continuous information about possible terrorist attack in loudspeakers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moscow Metro also viewed

 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Moscow Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moscow Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.