We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“re-invented park in the heart of Moscow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M. Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation

M. Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation
Krymskiy Val St., 9, Moscow 119049, Russia
+7 495 995-00-20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,379 Attractions in Moscow
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Ice skating, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This popular gathering place draws adults and children alike to its recreational offerings, which include a giant Ferris wheel, roller coaster, open-air theater, food stands, fairground, rock club and skating pond.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“re-invented park in the heart of Moscow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Being in a close reach to all central Moscow's locations, this wonderful green spot in the heart of the city offers nice family spendings, many comfy spots to eat, or simply lie on the grass with a book (summer time). In winter the place has the largest European artificial skating ring (which is not exactly a ring, but a set of intersecting ice-covered alleys and squares - continuation of early XX century tradition). Must-visit to get a little of that special "Moskovsky" spirit - you choose the season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    134
    58
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozen
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beatyful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

walked down the moskwa river, gazed at architecture near the river, marvelled at russian space shuttle and enjoyed ice scating...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For a relaxing evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Can not miss Gorky Park even if the attractions probably all date from the good old days from the USSR. Best place to see Mr average Muscovite.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to while away an afternoon (or day) with your family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of those places, I have always dreamed of visiting, and it did not disappoint. This is not the Gorky Park of old which apparently was a bit of an amusement park, it is a large park with walkways, cafes, street vendors selling corn on the cob or BBQ burgers, carousels, ice skating (in winter), a Buren Space Shuttle, and so much more. We called in to the park last weekend as we were passing by, and this weekend I returned with our children to firstly check out the Shigeru Ban designed exhibition hall for the Garage Center for Contemporary Culture's, and then to wander the park. Unfortunately we didn't get past the exhibition centre, which had a free workshop on for kids related to the exhibition they had on at present about the history of temporary structures in the park, so after enjoying the exhibition we spent the rest of the afternoon constructing models from the resources provided by the centre.
After finishing we had a quick stroll through a part of the park, grabbed some corn on the cob and wandered back to the station for our ride home.
We had a great afternoon, all for under $10 and will be back plenty more to take in the sights both during winter and next summer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A wander through the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We walked from Red Square down to Gorky Park on a lovely Sunday morning. Church bells peeling nearby and the park was full of locals. Just wander along, enjoy the scenery, people watch, have lunch in one of the cafes, visit the Russian shuttle, look out for the little charming squirrels (of red origin), lots of sculptures and art all through the park. A really nice way to spend a couple of hours away from the traffic and hustle and bustle.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M. Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to M. Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M. Gorkiy Central Park of Culture and Recreation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.