We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's bigger than it looks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)

Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)
Krasnaya ploshchad, Moscow, Russia
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 1,396 attractions in Moscow
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Red Square, once the site of executions and military parades, sits smack in the middle of Moscow, bounded on one side by the Kremlin walls and Lenin's tomb and on the other by GUM, the country's largest department store.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's bigger than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's always hard to know just how big an area is until you're standing in it. Whilst it's not the most picturesque square I've been it's Red Square in Moscow, so much history. It can get very crowded and I mean very crowed especially on a warm Sunday. There is a dire lack of public toilets and finding a store that has a facility available to the public is difficult so make sure you go before you go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,537
    700
    180
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“AMAZING! But beware of Olympics disruption.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Red Square was so overwhelming and beautiful! The week I was there they were setting up a huge stadium right in the middle of the square for the Olympics so beware of that. Lenin's tomb was closed due to the construction.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpowering - all those parades!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stood in the middle of Red Square and it was one of those "pinch me" moments. I don't think anyone of a certain age could stand where I stood and not be deeply moved by the experience. Perhaps that applies to everyone I can't say. The place itself is very impressive without all the overtones of the memory of scratchy B&W film showing ICBMs, tanks and political leaders! The irony of the GUM department store directly opposite the Kremlin - maybe not so much in the past as GUM was a branch of government - now its a large - very large - aggregation of designer shops

Go in the day and go in the night - the lighting is stunningly good - walk through from the northern side up an incline and St Basil's is revealed (wow!) walk through the square with the Kremlin on your right and down the hill to the Moscow River and see the River and Kremlin walls from the bridge - quite a place!

April was warmer than we expected - there was still snow on the ground but the sun was warme - it gets pretty cold in the evening so go prepared!

There are toilets in the GUM building!

Wear sensible shoes - the cobbles in the square might be difficult otherwise

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An aboslute must. This was my second time to Red Square and its simply wonderful, I have yet to actually enter St Basils but just from the outside its wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Incredible and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Red square was a place I never dreamed if visiting but was fortunate enough to see on a recent business trip. We took a train from the airport and though it took awhile was better than auto traffic. It was so much more grand and colorful than I ever imagined. Seeing these iconic buildings and thinking back in the history was almost overwhelming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad) also viewed

 

Been to Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.