We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! But beware of Olympics disruption.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)

Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)
Krasnaya ploshchad, Moscow, Russia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Moscow Walking Tour: Architecture, History and...
Ranked #7 of 1,381 Attractions in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,208 Reviews
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Red Square, once the site of executions and military parades, sits smack in the middle of Moscow, bounded on one side by the Kremlin walls and Lenin's tomb and on the other by GUM, the country's largest department store.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“AMAZING! But beware of Olympics disruption.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Red Square was so overwhelming and beautiful! The week I was there they were setting up a huge stadium right in the middle of the square for the Olympics so beware of that. Lenin's tomb was closed due to the construction.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,089
    852
    212
    37
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpowering - all those parades!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stood in the middle of Red Square and it was one of those "pinch me" moments. I don't think anyone of a certain age could stand where I stood and not be deeply moved by the experience. Perhaps that applies to everyone I can't say. The place itself is very impressive without all the overtones of the memory of scratchy B&W film showing ICBMs, tanks and political leaders! The irony of the GUM department store directly opposite the Kremlin - maybe not so much in the past as GUM was a branch of government - now its a large - very large - aggregation of designer shops

Go in the day and go in the night - the lighting is stunningly good - walk through from the northern side up an incline and St Basil's is revealed (wow!) walk through the square with the Kremlin on your right and down the hill to the Moscow River and see the River and Kremlin walls from the bridge - quite a place!

April was warmer than we expected - there was still snow on the ground but the sun was warme - it gets pretty cold in the evening so go prepared!

There are toilets in the GUM building!

Wear sensible shoes - the cobbles in the square might be difficult otherwise

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An aboslute must. This was my second time to Red Square and its simply wonderful, I have yet to actually enter St Basils but just from the outside its wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Incredible and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Red square was a place I never dreamed if visiting but was fortunate enough to see on a recent business trip. We took a train from the airport and though it took awhile was better than auto traffic. It was so much more grand and colorful than I ever imagined. Seeing these iconic buildings and thinking back in the history was almost overwhelming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Red Square at sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was born a Cold War baby, and growing up, Russia was a very distant and strange place, filled with mystery and danger. When I finally got the chance to visit Moscow, a sense of being watched at all times and an underbelly of intrigue was still very present, but nothing on the entire trip compared to walking through Red Square at sunrise. It was majestic, overwhelming, and impossible to replicate anywhere else on the planet. Go. Dress warm. You'll thank me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad) also viewed

 

Been to Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.