We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)

Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)
Krasnaya ploshchad, Moscow, Russia
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 1,381 attractions in Moscow
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Red Square, once the site of executions and military parades, sits smack in the middle of Moscow, bounded on one side by the Kremlin walls and Lenin's tomb and on the other by GUM, the country's largest department store.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An aboslute must. This was my second time to Red Square and its simply wonderful, I have yet to actually enter St Basils but just from the outside its wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,873
    570
    151
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Incredible and not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Red square was a place I never dreamed if visiting but was fortunate enough to see on a recent business trip. We took a train from the airport and though it took awhile was better than auto traffic. It was so much more grand and colorful than I ever imagined. Seeing these iconic buildings and thinking back in the history was almost overwhelming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Red Square at sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was born a Cold War baby, and growing up, Russia was a very distant and strange place, filled with mystery and danger. When I finally got the chance to visit Moscow, a sense of being watched at all times and an underbelly of intrigue was still very present, but nothing on the entire trip compared to walking through Red Square at sunrise. It was majestic, overwhelming, and impossible to replicate anywhere else on the planet. Go. Dress warm. You'll thank me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“The perfect place to photograph and become part of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Strong and bold,expansive and cold relating to military parades and the communist era,once there,it is left to your own interpretation of what really the square is all about,I took time to visit on a wet damp and stormy day and became depressed however visiting a few days later the square was alive with people talking,laughing and taking endless photographs,there is indeed a hidden beauty there and it depends on your own points of view but it has to be part of your visit to Moscow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Iconic Red Square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Iconic landmark that has to be on your visit to Moscow. When I was there a military band played the Russian National Anthem and it was quite atmospheric.

The Kremlin and St Basil's Cathedral are also on Red Square. An interesting fact is that when Napoleon 'conquered' Moscow in 1812, he made his victory speech in Red Square. He was booed by the locals in a city which was desolate as the Russians basically sacked their own city so that when the winter came Napoleon had no food to feed The Grand Army.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad) also viewed

 

Been to Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.