We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as big as I thought” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)

Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)
Krasnaya ploshchad, Moscow, Russia
292-4019
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$17*
and up
City Sightseeing Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 1,850 things to do in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Red Square, once the site of executions and military parades, sits smack in the middle of Moscow, bounded on one side by the Kremlin walls and Lenin's tomb and on the other by GUM, the country's largest department store.
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not as big as I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It´s the best place to visit in Moscow, besides the Red Square , St. Basil´s Cathedral, the and the fancy Mall, Lenin Tomb and museuns, there´s another mall at the entrance of the Square, where you can eat for a reasonable price, at the underground , and the paid toillet at the end of the food court is nice and cheap.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,703
    1,177
    283
    45
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

indeed a once in a lifetime dream come true! I felt I as in a fairy tale when I saw the Red Square for the first time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
418 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The center point of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Forget all of the old Cold War video of the troops and missiles marching thru the square and take in all of the beauty and history of Moscow....incredible place full of museums and sites

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great place to visit, alive during the days with many tourists and the Putin and Stalin look alikes are pretty convincing. As great as it is in the days it is even more beautiful at night the lights of the Kremlin and the colorful spires warrants a trip at night. My first night in Moscow ended on a high in Red Square at 4am having vodka shots with some locals. Smashing the shot glasses in Red Square should only be done if the locals indulge first.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Can't not visit red square.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very busy and sometimes covered in scaffolding and temporary seating for events, which was the case when I was there.

Having said that it is a must see and has to be one of the great places in Moscow to view St Basil's and the Kremiln walls.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad) also viewed

 

Been to Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Square (Krasnaya ploshchad), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.