We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maxima Zarya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maxima Zarya Hotel to your Saves list
Maxima Zarya Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gostinichnaya St., 4/9, Moscow 127106, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 249 Hotels in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 207 Reviews
Cumbria, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights late June. If you intend to walk to the hotel with wheeled suitcases from the Metro (Vladykino) make sure you take the correct exit i.e. the exit nearest the rear of the train as one previous reviewer mentioned. Follow the others who'll take a short-cut through a small park area to reach the main road, cross the zebra-crossing across a busy road and then cut across to the next road in parallel before turning left to find the hotel - about a 10 min walk. A nearby food/convenience store proved handy during our stay. Room was a decent size and the bathroom was modern with a good shower. Mattress was on the firm side and room had no air conditioning. Reception was friendly and a good selection was provided at the buffet breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant which looked okay but the bar on the ground floor was brilliantly lit and had no atmosphere at all. Considering the size of the hotel it was very quiet. An ATM is available that made no charge for withdrawals. Travelling to the centre of Moscow took ~15 mins with trains leaving every 4 mins with each journey regardless of distance/internal changes costing 30r (~60p). Make sure you have a metro map that uses both cyrillic and latin names and you won't go far wrong in your travels on the Metro system. We took a Taxi direct to the airport from the hotel that took ~1 hour (a lot of traffic experienced on the airport road) for 1600r (~£32). Overall a nice hotel for the price paid. Maybe a bit far from the centre of Moscow for some but the efficient Metro system compensates for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    110
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
25
42
37
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have no complaints about this hotel. The room was clean, with a good size shower. Excellent breakfast, pleasant helpful staff. Ten minute walk to the Metro station, which is twenty minutes from the centre off Moscow.
When returning to the hotel make sure you use the exit nearest to the rear of the train when exiting the metro station.
Only one problem we could not find anywhere to eat nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. When we check in it was to early, so we could leave our bags.

The room was very clean and spacious! It was warm, so we opened up the window (there was no ac). The shower, toilet, sink are clean and good!

Breakfast is amazing! A lot of everything warm and cold! But be aware of Russain childeren, they like to take to much and put it back when they know they won't eat it!

There is a metro in the neighbourhood (a 15 minute walk). But it will still take you 30 minute + a stapover to go the centre (red square).

The staff looks grumpy (as most Russain people do) but they are really friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in May. Clean rooms, clean linen, smoke free rooms. No free tea or coffee, kettle on request. Good breakfast, hard bolied eggs only though. A/C didnt work, toilet didnt stop running water after flushing. About 10 to 15 min walk to metro, a few food stores and farmacies around. Quiet neighbourhood. All good, nothing outstanding, no major complaints.

Room Tip: Paid with AMEX to get a better rate, cash was more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Maxima Zarya provided good value accommodation with 2 triple rooms for our extended family. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, although a little dated. Bathroom was convenient, with a seperate toilet. Breakfast was included and we found it to include a good range of options for all family members. Close to the Metro for trips into the city. Quiet area and felt quite safe to walk around at any time. Staff extremely helpful, and provided us with a packed breakfast for our very early departure to catch the fast train to St Petersburg - most appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After paying a small fortune for hotels in St Petersburg the Maxima Zarya was a pleasant economical option in Moscow. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good english. We were able to check in early after we arrived at 11am from an early flight. The room was a good size and clean. The restaurant was very good although a touch pricey (but fair compared to other Moscow restaurants). If you want to check out late this can be arranged for a small fee. The only slight downside to the hotel was its location. Although not too far from a metro station (10mins) the area didn't feel that nice and there wasn't a selection of restaurant options nearby. This wouldn't put us off staying at the hotel again though as we thought that it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel is situated in kind of a hotel street with some hotels and also coffee shops around. Rooms have been clean and kind of basic but totally okay. I cannot remember when I slept in such a small bid since my childhood but I slept really good in it.
Breakfast and the overall service have been okay as long you don`t expect friendly smiling staff all around.
To get into the city you need to walk to a Metro station for not more than 10 minutes and from therre the grey Metro line is taking you into the heart of the city in 15 minutes.

I can only recommend the for your Moscow stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxima Zarya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxima Zarya Hotel

Address: Gostinichnaya St., 4/9, Moscow 127106, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
#49 Business Hotel in Moscow
#51 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxima Zarya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxima Zarya Hotel has a rich history. Built in 1957 the famous "Zarya" was totally reconstructed in 2004 by Maxima Hotels. The Hotel is located in an ecologically sound and silent area on a green boulevard. Nevertheless the Hotel's Guests may easily get to the center of Moscow by underground: the "Vladykino" metro station is located nearby. Maxima Zarya Hotel provides 192 rooms of various categories, including the famous among the Guests "Marine" Suite, conference services, special offers & benefits. The All-Russia Exhibition Centre is located nearby. Free Wi-Fi and fresh press are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maxima Zarya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxima Zarya Moscow
Maxima Zarya Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxima Zarya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.