We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Moscow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta)

Save Saved
You added Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Izmailovskoye Hwy, 71/4 G-D, Moscow 105613, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 247 hotels in Moscow
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value in Moscow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As a family of 4 traveling with school-age kids in Russia it wasn't easy to find an affordable hotel in Moscow that would accommodate us. Several of the hotels I tried to book did not allow 4 people in one room. Most hotel rooms in Moscow are small by Western standards. I was able to book a room in Izmailovo Delta with an extra bed for the older child while the younger child was free. We ended up not using the extra bed and returned it to housekeeping with no extra charge.
If you are traveling in the summer do book the business class room with AC, it is definitely worth the extra expense. Summers are hot, humid and stuffy in Moscow. Our room had a mini fridge, safety deposit box, AC, slippers, bath robe, free-wi-fi, etc. It was updated with newer furniture and small flat screen TV which carried mostly Russian channels and BBC in English.The beds are small and narrow, not very comfortable. I did love their pillows though - they were large and fluffy and very comfy. They even had a "pillow menu" where you could order a pillow depending on your sleeping habits. Bathroom was nice and clean, very hot water and great water pressure on the 13th floor.
Staff and service were OK, acceptable considering you are in post-Soviet Russia. Younger staff were considerably nicer than the older grim-looking ladies, steer away from those.
Location was good, a few minutes walk to the Metro station and a few stops from the city center. if you have time, do go to the "Izmailovo Kremlin" souvenir & flea market and the Izmailovo Park across the street. The park was the best attraction with ponds, bridges, a church and a historic complex. It is well worth an afternoon stroll. Around the hotel and near the metro station there are many decent restaurants and small grocery stores. Overall a great option in Moscow if you don't want to pay $300/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    345
    144
    21
    11
See reviews for
61
145
104
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

In city center of Moscow the hotel prices are sky high. This hotel was clean nice hotel, and its right next to Partisanskaja metro station. Prices are much lower here, breakfast was included too.
Very near the hotel, there is a market area Vernisas. Worth visiting, at least if you are looking for souvenirs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel as part of a tour, so we did not choose the property. Had very low expectations for Russia accommodation and was pleasantly surprised. As this complex was constructed for the Olympics, it is absolutely huge. Very easy to find your way around though.

We were able to check in very early (around 8:30am) after our overnight train from St Petersburg (***if you are doing these trains, I recommend upgrading to 2nd class with a 4 berth rather than the 3rd class open sleeper - it was not a pleasant journey!!) We had a room on the 27th floor and it was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was fairly modern and the bed reasonable.

There was wifi throughout the hotel which was not incredibly fast but good enough to check emails/facebook etc.

The breakfast buffet was huge - so much to choose from. Some slightly odd choices, but I suspect this is traditional Russian fare - it is Russia after all! Although some people have complained this room was not big enough for the size of the hotel, it was never full when we were there and we never had difficulty getting a table rightaway.

We ate dinner once at one of the hotel's restaurants - not too badly priced and the food was decent enough. There is also a shopping mall across from the hotel with a small foodcourt upstairs and a supermarket downstairs. We went there a few times to buy fresh fruit, juice etc as there was a fridge in the room.

There are also the markets opposite the hotel which are definitely worth a look through - there are a few stalls outside the main entrance or you can go in for just 10 RUB - worth it. It was by far the cheapest place we found to get souvenirs and not having to get into and out of town was an added bonus. Just beware that the Russians can get quite upset if you try and barter too much - we witnessed lots of people copping abuse in Russian and was a little scary.

The metro into the centre of Moscow is relatively easy once you have worked it out, though the first time is quite confusing. We had our tour guide to explain it so very easy. We also used the metro and bus to get out to Domodedovo airport.. an interesting experience... it requires a change of metros, then locating the bus which is not clearly signed when you exit the metro station.. we allowed plenty of time and asked around. Eventually we spotted a bus showing an airport sign - not the one we wanted but the driver pointed us in the right direction. Always helps if you can say "please/thank you" in Russian. We had very mixed responses speaking English - some people were happy to speak it and quite polite, others refused to speak to us at all..!!

All in all, not a bad choice for Moscow and as I understand, the price is far far cheaper than some of the central hotels. I would happily stay here again if we were to return to Moscow as I know my way around and would find it quite easy a second time around!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel complex is huge but we had no problems and it seemed well run. The room was nice and the on site restaurant just outside the reception was also good. There is a market just outside that sells alot of touristy things but it was fun to wander around.for a while and pick a few bits. Remember to haggle. The train station is very close by and can get you to red square and other places of interest in good time. There are some shops and a kebab place near the hotel aswell but it didnt always feel safe at night,nothing happened it was just the many drunks and general vibe so dont let that put you off venturing to the shops just be aware. We purchased a set of 10 train tickets to be used onthe underground that works out cheaper than seperate tickets. Also there is a park very near the hotel within easy walking distancethat has a big ferris wheel great for views and a lake that has some historical value, I think it was wwhere peter the great used to practise naval battles as a boy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have stayed here three times now, the last time for 2.5 weeks (for seminars we attend in Moscow). Moscow prices can be really crazy, so we found this place to be excellent value for money. They advertise as "3 stars" but I would say it's a very good 3 stars. Really if it were newer / more modern you would call it 4 stars. (Compare it to what Egypt hotels call 5 stars and this one wins.)

The fitness center is really 5 star - probably because it's externally owned/managed as a business which hotel guests can visit. Other highlights include the range of restaurants. The buffet is quite good for 500 RUB ($17 or so). OK it's not high cuisine but not bad as far as all you can eat goes, especially at Moscow prices. My only complaint about the buffet is that it shuts at 10pm. With the sun going down at near midnight in the summer, it's easy to forget dinner until after that. The other restaurants open late. There are also really good restaurants right outside the hotel and around the metro station.

If I was being picky, I would point out that they could not guarantee us a non-smoking room in advance as their reservation system isn't up to it. But they had no trouble finding us one on the day. (On our first visit we had to swap after a few days.)

I could add that their "queen" is in fact two single bets shoved together. However I've found that this is really the norm in Russia so it's hard to fault them for it. Queen beds just aren't common in a country with apartments the size of shoeboxes.

Access to the metro is great, and another real bonus is the little shopping mall with supermarket and affordable clothing stores just 5 minutes away. Also out the front of the hotel is a little "kremlin" (a reconstructed Russian fort) and a tourist market selling all the typical Russian knick-knacks like Russian dolls, knives, Soviet memorabilia, etc. Good for souvenirs and gifts.

Room Tip: insist on non-smoking at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is great for anyone who wants to visit Moscow without being ripped off. The prices from hotels in Moscow city center are insane and beat any other capital in Europe by far. Izmailovo is an exception and provides good accommodation for a relatively low price.

The hotel is located within 2 minutes walk from Partizanskaya metro station, which is 15 min ride from Red Square. The personnel at the hotel speaks perfect English; check in went fast. The rooms do not look fancy, but are fresh and clean. A good hotel all in all. As a bonus, we got a really nice view over Izmailovskiy Park from our room on the 19th floor :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is an excellent choice - it is right near a metro and only 5 stops from Red Square - meto's about every 2 minutes. Total jounrey time about 15/20 mins.

For the price compared to others in Moscow this is amazing value with free wifi, shops around the hotel. Yes it is huge, but on the 28th floor the views over Moscow are amazing (esp at sunset).

Room Tip: The higher you go the better view you have,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta)

Address: Izmailovskoye Hwy, 71/4 G-D, Moscow 105613, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Moscow
#12 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#27 Family Hotel in Moscow
#28 Business Hotel in Moscow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#37 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Izmailovo" ("Gamma", "Delta") is the unique megacomplex in Russia, consisting of 3*** and 4**** star Business & Conference Hotels, more than 10 restaurants with the various national cuisines. We offer to our guests high-quality service, which is based on the developed infrastructure of services, excellently organized technology of the service of guests and professionalism of our personnel. Reasonable prices for accommodation, as well as a wide range of convenient leisure facilities attract guests from all over Russia and abroad to our hotel. Tourist Hotel Complex"Izmailovo" ("Gamma", "Delta") not only can accommodate more than 3.5 Thousand people, providing them with various options of restaurant service, but also has resources to hold seminars, conferences and other events in our conference complex, which includes 12 conference halls furnished with state-of-the-art equipment. Well organized technology of service of guests creates comfortable and safe atmosphere, giving the optimum combination of work and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izmailovo Complex Gamma Delta Moscow
Moscow Izmailovo Hotel
Delta Moscow
Moscow Delta
Izmailovo Gamma Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Hotel Complex "Izmailovo" (Gamma-Delta), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.