We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for business travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow to your Saves list
Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kutuzovskiy Av., 2/1, Bld. 1, Moscow 121248, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #9 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice for business travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Repaired Hotel Ukraine has become an excellent five-star hotel.
Everything you need is in the room. Good service, friendly staff.
Visited wellness center - a great pool, great hammam, sauna and jacuzzi.
The prices presented are ridiculously expensive. There is no shuttle to the airports however extortionate taxis are available upon request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Doun J,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow and leaving your positive comments. It’s pleasure for us to read, that you had a chance to unwind at the Royal Wellness Club and see how our property has changed after the complete renovation. Regarding the costs of our services – we understand that you may find them expensive comparable to many other destinations, however it is strictly following the levels of other 5 star properties in the city. We would like to note, that there are no centrally located hotels in Moscow that arrange a regular shuttle service to the airports. You are always welcome to choose from economy, business class or luxury taxi at our concierge desk or reach the airports by aeroexpress trains, leaving from major railway stations in Moscow. It would be pleasure for us to be your host again on your next visit to the capital of Russia!

Sincerely yours,
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    135
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
130
37
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed two nights as part of my business trip to Moscow. The hotel has very impressive architecture and is beautifully (and very expensively) fitted out. The service was great and the food/ breakfast were good but not amazing considering the price.

Having also worked in the hotel industry myself in the 5* environment, I am always very critical of anything in a hotel. Although everything was done beautifully, there were a couple of minor points if I was nit-picking (lamp shade was frayed, socket was loose, heating in the bathroom can't be manually controlled so the floor was red-hot, internet connection was poor).

Further, I felt a little suprised that I had to walk through a security check upon entering and leaving the hotel. This does not inspire confidence and does notthing to contribute to a relaxing stay This is my first time to have had to do this in a hotel.

Also noticed that there were quite a few what obviously looked like hookers. This seems to be quite a common occurance and feels very much at odds with what the hotel is trying to portray itself (supposedly a high quality establishment).

Upon check-out, the staff got my bill completely wrong and I had to enter a discussion about the price and the charges. All of a sudden, during the conversation, the receptionist walked off and returned only 10 minutes later. Leaving me wating at the reception desk which was highly unprofessional. However, at least I managed to get the price that had been quoted to me previously.

Overall, the hotel looks very impressive and if you can overlook the points mentioned above, then it is a fine attempt at a 5* establishment. If I needed to return to Moscow again, I would have no hesitation about staying at the Radisson Royal Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room as high up as possible to get a fantastic view of Moscow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Horatio C,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow and leaving a positive feedback. It’s true pleasure for us to read, that you did enjoy time spent with us and would have no hesitation about staying at Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow again. Also, thank you for kind comments on our location, interior decors and quality of service at our property, especially by taking into consideration that you have previously worked in hotel industry and know the details & insights of the operations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced during the check-out and will follow up with this situation to prevent such occasions in future. Regarding the security check and amount of security staff in general – this is a necessity caused by our location just opposite to such important government buildings like House of Government of Russian Federation, Embassy of USA and Embassy of United Kingdom. It is a common practice in Moscow: you will have to pass a security check at many other hotels in Moscow, located next to important government buildings. Also, we understand that you may find our costs of our services expensive comparable to many other destinations, however it is strictly following the levels of other 5 star properties in the city. It would be a true honor for us to welcome your back!

Sincerely yours
Senior Guest relations manager
Maria Kobzeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed two nights on a business trip in the hotel Ukraina in September 2013.
This hotel has all for itself (save the price) - excellent location, gorgeous views from the tops floors, service, comfortable rooms, luxury products in the bathroom, great choice for breakfast.
And please visit the bars on the top floors - you have never seen Moscow like this!

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Kousia,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow and leaving a positive feedback. We are happy to read, that you really enjoyed staying with us, liked the location of our hotel, were impressed with the buffet breakfast, in-room bathroom amenities and views of Moscow from the top floors of our hotel. It would be true pleasure for us to welcome you back again!

Sincerely yours
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It s really nice hotel. Very polite staff. Everything is clean. The meal is tasty. The Internet connection is rather poor. There were problems. This is very comfortable hotel for business.The atmosphere is just great. Nice big rooms. I feel very comfortable here and can only...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Lena0512,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow and leaving such a positive feedback. We are really happy, that you enjoyed staying with us, liked the interiors design, in-room amenities and atmosphere at our property. I am really sorry, that you have experienced some technical issues with internet connection. WiFi is free of charge for all visitors of our hotel with 256 kbps. For guests, staying at our hotel it is provided with high connection speed, both LAN and WiFi with 4mbps. Please do not hesitate to ask us for assistance on your next visit and we will make sure that you are logged in as a resident guest, since the system requires identification to provide the highest connection speed.
It would be pleasure for us to be your host on your next visit to Moscow.

Sincerely yours
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in Moscow for four nights, spending two nights at the Marriott Royal Aurora and two at the Radisson Royal. I rated the Marriott Royal 5 stars but the Radisson only deserves 2 stars at best.

There were so many issues that we were relieved to leave this hotel. To be honest I can't be bothered to write every issue out in detail, and I feel i've already wasted enough time on this hotel.

So here is our condensed version:

Pros -
The river cruise is right outside the hotel and well worth the trip. We did the night one and the city looked fantastic.

Cons -
When we were taken to our room it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guest, not the best start!
The level of security is very over bearing and we were followed and continuously watched, not exactly conducive to a 'relaxing' stay.
The hotel is clearly a magnet for hookers looking for a rich date and this changed our opinion of the hotel from classy to trashy.
When we returned to our room after breakfast it was being cleaned. We when in and hubby stood by the window and I sat on the bed to check my emails. When the cleaner saw me she turned down the bed and put the do not disturb sign on the door - seriously she though I was a hooker, we were not impressed!
Breakfast is hyped - yes they cater for most nations but it was just breakfast like you would find in all hotels of this kind
The fitness centre was the most unpleasant experience of all, again due to security. Being followed to ensure you use the correct doors is not nice.
We wanted to have a look at the Mercedes bar on the 30th floor - this threw the staff and although we were allowed to take a look we were - once again - followed the whole way round….starting to notice a common theme yet?

Having stayed in some of the worlds best hotels, this fell way below standard and we will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear FJES,
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and sincerely apologize for the late reply and inconveniences, that you have experienced. After a complete investigation with issues described in your review we would like to give a short clarification. The situation with checking you in a dirty room is absolutely unique for us and happened due to temporary technical issues in our system. We have followed up this situation and would like to note, that you have been immediately checked in to another room. Regarding your comments about the housekeeping lady, who closed the door after you entered your room - this is a regular procedure for us. We put a DND sign on the door if the guest comes back to the room while it is being cleaned. That shows the supervisor that he should not inspect the room and do not disturb the guest once again. Also we would like to specify, that most of the housekeeping staff in hotels in Russia doesn't speak English and not always able to give an explanation of their operations to international travelers. Concerning the amount of security staff - this is a necessity caused by our location just opposite to such important government buildings like House of Government of Russian Federation, Embassy of USA and Embassy of United Kingdom. Both Mercedes Bar & Royal Wellness club are operated by third party companies, that's why we are not able to oversee and directly manage their operations, but we will definitely pass your comments to the management. However, they are obliged to follow the same security standards as we do. That's why the amount of security staff & their behavior at all public zones of the hotel is equal. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the river cruise with Flotilla Radisson Royal, we will definitely share your positive feedback with their management. We would really appreciate if you would give us another visit and a chance to improve your opinion on your next visit to Moscow!

Sincerely yours
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have staye in Europe. The service is typically impeccable and the rooms immaculate with all 5 star features. Security is perfect and the gym is the largest I have ever seen for hotel gym. Also there is a dj setup and bar in gym.

Nothing more luxury than this hotel and if you are open minded to foodie experiences the buffet breakfast is superb. Service exemplary.

I would doubt if you have the option that there is a bettwr hotel in Moscow. The former Ukraina is an experience. Note drinks and food extremel expensive in hotel but this is Moscow and this hotel is almost flawless on this stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Christopher,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow and leaving such a positive feedback.
It pleasure for us to read, that you really enjoyed staying with us and consider our property as one of the best hotels in Europe and the best hotel in Moscow. It would be true honor for us to welcome you back!

Best wishes
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Formerly the great Hotel Ukraina, this five-star facility has glorious if daunting Soviet architecture, including magnificent massive front doors that will make you feel about a foot tall. It sits on the Moskva river and across from the Russian White House. It is quite luxurious in its interior upgrade. A startling, chic, very upscale place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radisson_royal, Senior Guest relations manager at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear karmaswimswami,
Thank you for staying at Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow and submitting a review on TripAdvisor.
We are really happy to read, that you had a great time while staying with us, liked the interiors design and the architecture of our building. As you have correctly noticed, our hotel is one of the famous Seven Sisters and was recognized as Europe's leading Landmarking Hotel.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow!

Best wishes,
Maria Kobzeva
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow

Address: Kutuzovskiy Av., 2/1, Bld. 1, Moscow 121248, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Moscow
#6 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#8 Family Hotel in Moscow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among hotels in Russia, the Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow boasts landmark status in the heart of the capital city. This elegant Moscow hotel was built between 1953 and 1957 as part of Stalin's Seven Sisters project and showcases Soviet Neo-classicism architecture.Gaze over the Moskva River and Moscow skyline from the most breathtaking luxury hotel in town. The newly refurbished 497 guest rooms and 38 serviced apartments offer unrivalled comfort and pay homage to the historic nature of the building while featuring top of the range amenities. The convenient location of Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow on the Moskva River embankment and a small fleet of river yachts provide a unique opportunity to take excursion and entertainment boat trips right off the doorstep of the Hotel. The custom designed snow white restaurant yachts run regular two hour trips from the hotel along the most picturesque sights of the historical centre of Moscow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Royal Moscow Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Royal Hotel Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.