We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Russian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Moscow to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Moscow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow, Russia (Philistine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So Russian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very classic hotel in Russian style located at a very central area to all tourist spots. Decoration is those old Russian design and good to have a try for one night, but i would prefer a mix of Russian and modern rooms at other international brand hotel.

Restuarant on the 2nd floor is a highlight where you may sit right next to a small fountain for breakfast. Swimming pool is nice too as you may occupy the whole pool alone, like a private one!

Front desk staffs are nice with charming smile where you seldom find in this "cool" country, and they speak fluent English too. However, conceige is not very helpful, seems he pay more attention to his mobile and newspaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.

Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    141
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
70
165
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Have just returned with my husband from a wonderful four night stay in the hotel whilst visiting our son who lives in this very busy and interesting city. As the other reviewers have stated the location of the hotel to the central highlights of the city is extremely good as they are all within walking distance The staff could not be faulted, polite, and helpful. The room was large with a good ceiling height and was kept spotless by the house keeping staff and the cleanliness in the rest of the hotel was also to a high standard, our only small complaint was that our room which had a window to the back of the hotel (209) did not have a very nice view, although this said it did not spoil our holiday in anyway. Toileteries provided in the bathroom we enjoyed and we both enjoyed the breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room again the staff were very attentive to our requests for any items
Overall a very enjoyable stay and would use this hotel in the future

Room Tip: As others have stated there continues to be building work in front of the hotel and this I presume w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest!
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Walking distance to sights like Kremlin, GUM, St Basils. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants. Metro nearby. Room was good - clean and large; loved the high ceilings! Average breakfast buffet and beautiful breakfast room! On second floor could hear music from restaurant so would suggest a higher floor, inside room so did not hear construction across street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was it a nice hotel? Yes. Was it in a good location? Absolutely. Were the staff friendly? No question. Was it clean? Spotless. So why the low rating? It as very hot and the air conditioning was not working properly. we arrived on a saturday night and basically could not sleep due to very warm room. the next morning I complained to a manager. she was absolutely appologetic and very nice and changed our room to a "business suite". The suite was spacious and very nice but the air conditioning was still not working properly. We did not complain again and left the windows open but there was/isconstruction going on next door and the noise started at about 7:00 A.M., I think the problem was the unexpected warm weather in april and the air conditions were not up to snuff. I woul hate to think how bad it would be in July and August.

Room Tip: The breakfat buffet is not that impressive but you can order eggs/omlets to be cooked and brought to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.
We do hope that this incident will not influence your future choice of the Hotel negatively.

Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here several times while in Moscow. Extremely recommended for those who want to be in the core of Russian capital. I was upgraded to the next possible level of room. The room was very (!) big, nicely decorated with very comfortable bed and a big bathroom. Breakfast was good with a good service. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest!
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very well located near attractions and shopping malls, excellent service and friendly stuff, good facilities with pool and sauna. In Apr period also price was very good via offer provided, but via online booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest!
On behalf of the Hotel Savoy Moscow we would like to thank you for sharing your observations about the hotel with us. Your opinion is highly-valued for us.
We would like to take this opportunity and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Hotel.
We do hope that this incident will not influence your future choice of the Hotel negatively.
Sincerely,
Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I remember Savoy as Soviet time Berlin Hotel where I stayed as a child so a decision to stay there was partially caused by nostalgia. The other compelling reason was central location and a decent (and gorgeous) restaurant on premises. Well, I was not disappointed: the hotel still has a very 'old world' feel to it and service is impeccable. Upon my arrival, concierge was not in but reception staff (Ilya, Ivan, and Arina) went to great lengths in order to secure theater and concert tickets for me (at a very short notice), provide me with a car, procure reservations and directions and generally make me feel at home. After reading about the never-ending reconstruction of the Children's World store across the street from the hotel I requested a quiet room and was given a room that was partially renovated - freshly painted but with dated carpet and a view of the rusty roofs. Bathroom was relatively spacious, toiletries plentiful and of a good quality. Loved turn down service and a chocolate candy - again, tastes of childhood. Was very impressed with late night room service - knowledgeable and very warm server who actually stopped by the room to make sure that he got the name of liquor right. Good quality food as well. I used the hair salon and my trim and style service was both reasonable in price and very decent. The hotel per se is clean and nicely preserved, many historic details are still in existence. Famous Savoy restaurant is still as unabashedly glamorous as it was years ago but food is much better! My only complaint is breakfast - very mediocre compared to dinner... And seeing the same selection for 9 days quickly became old so we ventured to other eateries nearby although breakfast was included. I will return!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana D, Директор по продажам at Hotel Savoy Moscow, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest!
We greatly appreciate your warm and kind comments on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to take this opportunity and to thank you for being our guest. We would like to assure you that we will go on doing our outmost to serve the guests according to the international standards and Russian hospitality.
You are always welcome to the Savoy Hotel Moscow.

Sincerely,

Tatiana Dubeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Family Hotel in Moscow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.