We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in Moscow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Proton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Proton to your Saves list
Proton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Novozavodskaya St., 22, Moscow 121087, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Ashdod, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in Moscow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

There are good and bad things about this hotel. The room itself is actually very good - the bed is comfortable, everything is functional and clean. Wi-Fi all around the hotel. The breakfast is reasonable. The location is, however, in the middle of nowhere - yes, in Moscow it's possible! it takes 10 minutes by taxi to the closest metro station (there's a shuttle bus every hour but I was not able to find it where it was supposed to be). I realize that if this hotel would be better located - it also would be priced much higher, so all in all it's a good price-performance compromise considering Moscow's prices and traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naberezhnyye Chelny, Tatarstan, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in hotel Proton for 3 nights.
Reasonable prices per normal room for the hotel situated not so far away from the center.
Shuttle bus every hour to the metro station.
Shuttle bus every morning to the exhibition place in the center (only when there is a big exhibition events). It takes less than 15 minutes to get there (krasnopresenskaya naberezhnaya).
Area is quite silent. There is a city park across the road.
Room was clean and not small. Required items in bathroom presented (even more - tissues, body cream, tooth set).
Bed was god as well.
Breakfast is seemed to be continental but not so rich as in other hotels. Scrambled eggs were absent, for example. But finally enough to be ok.
Only one issue. Noiseless from other rooms can be heard quite well. Deep in the night you can hear how smb is taking shower or making love ;)

Room Tip: Ask rooms on the upper floors - nice view to the skyscrapers in the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just left Moscow and a 7 night stay at the Proton. I was in town for work and actually spent very little time in the hotel. I had a standard room which was pretty spacious and had all the usual facilities. It's all a bit dated but everything works and is spotlessly clean. I could have done with a few extra pillows but really found it quite comfortable and had seven good nights sleep. The F&B facilities though are pretty dismal. The restaurant on the first floor is barely a room where food is served, and breakfast is a confusing, low quality spread of food from salad and rice and Russian pancakes, sliced bread (but no toaster) that's seen fresher days, and rubbish coffee from a Nescafé machine. Unless you like salad and a bowl of cream with a few dried berries on top for breakfast, you're in for a disappointment. Due to the location of the hotel (in the middle of no where down a non-description side road) you don't really have much choice though and it feels as if where food is concerned, they're making as little effort as possible. The bar, albeit pleasant enough to have a quiet beer after work is pretty depressing, playing terrible murak (and oddly some Christmas music (in June!)) and the food is abysmal. One night I fancied a pizza and what I got was a frozen pizza microwaved to within an inch of its existence and turned rock solid with 30 seconds. After complaining I was offered the only other thing available - frozen chicken wings, again destined for the microwave. After I declined that, in true Russian style, I was offered a shot of vodka by means of compensation! Which to be fair was a great vodka!! :o). Some of the ladies on the front desk are quite pleasant and helpful, others pretty miserable. The free shuttle to and from the nearest metro (Fili) is very convenient and runs (sort of) on the hour. If you have to go to your office in Moscow City (as I did) it was about 25 mins after changing at Kievskaya and similarly the ride in to central Moscow / Red Square is about 30 minutes (including a change at Kievskaya). I didn't get a taxi the whole time I stayed at the hotel, using purely the free shuttle and the metro. I would imagine though trying to explain where the hotel is, if you don't speak Russian, something of a challenge. Other things to note - free wifi everywhere in the hotel - again convenient and something of a rarity in business hotels I find, but no free water in the room. Coffee making facilities are also in the room but no actual tea or coffee, so only good if you fancy a nice cup of hot water! Hotels in Moscow are notoriously expensive (the rate for the Proton wasn't bad) and given its close(ish) proximity to where I had to go to work, it did the job. I wouldn't stay here though if I was on holiday on account of rubbish food, remote location (my movements where slightly restricted by the shuttle timetable and the last one back to the hotel is at 11pm) and overall dated, slightly depressing air.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is a bit of a Curates egg....good in parts.

The good....as an Hotel it is fine.The reception area is light and airy, the rooms are large and spacious and the bathroom was immaculate.
The staff at reception were helpful and had a good working knowledge of English.
Wi Fi was good all over the Hotel and there was also a free Internet room with two desktops and a printer.

The not so good...it is in the middle of nowhere....a good 20 min walk from the nearest Metro.
The bar...whilst the staff were enthusiastic...was empty nearly all the time as the place attracts no passing trade at all being so isolated. Bar snacks were microwaved (to within an inch of their lives) pizza and fish.
The only time there was any life in it when I was here was on a Saturday night...but I was`nt allowed in as it was being used for a private wedding reception. I was a little put out that having paid to use the hotel I was denied the use of one of it`s facilities
I did`nt use the restaurant, but reports were not good.

It is as the name suggests a business hotel, and if you are visiting for a conference or an expo and only use it as a base then it`s fine.....but no way would I ever use it as a tourist.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

i stayed there for 1 week and i was really satisfied.. the location is perfect for the exhibtion center --> if you use the shuttle bus offered from the hotel.
Every morning @ 9.30am and every evening @ 6.30pm the bus (or 2 busses) is doing the transport to the expo and back to the hotel.
I was only 1 time in the restaurant, the service was lauzy and the food not very good. (and they are allowed to smoke there)
The internet is perfect, wifi and with cable!

Not the best hotel for vacation, you are too far away from the metro (but the hotel also offers a shuttle to the next metro station Fili)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My stay in Proton Business hotel was very good: nice and big rooms with all comforts, good structure, services and staff. Not so good the restaurant...if you are not russian, do not try the salads! A good hotel for a short business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Did not enjoy my stay here. I had a sore back after 1 night in the bed, access to Metro is a challenge, food was very marginal, and the internet access is flaky. But is was cheap, which is why I stayed here, so I guess you get what you par for!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Proton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proton

Address: Novozavodskaya St., 22, Moscow 121087, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Proton 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Proton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proton Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.