We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little different from the average chain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added President Hotel to your Saves list
President Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolshaya Yakimanka St., 24, Moscow 119134, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
3.5 of 5 stars 106 Reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A little different from the average chain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I understand this is a (government) hotel where visiting delegations are entertained, hence the high security that others have referred to.
I was on this occasion here for just one night; although booked into a standard room, I was given a huge suite with ante room, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. Thank you! Yes, the fittings are kind of idiosyncratic and dated (avocado bathroom suite, big square box CRT TVs) but clean, well appointed and frankly give the impression of having been little used over a long time.
Great view out over the Moskva River and the extraordinary monument to Peter the Great.
Aurora Bar staff were friendly as were Reception (perhaps its the old issue of making the effort to say a couple of words in the home language, even if you do sound like a complete idiot?).
If you get the chance, visit the conference hall; it's decorated with pictures of the great and good (as well as the notorious) who have stood at the lectern to share their thoughts with the masses,
If you want a standard chain hotel experience, best you don't come here. If you want something with a bit of character that you definitely will remember, give it a go.

Room Tip: Facing the River rather than the Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    37
    14
    2
See reviews for
3
7
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is old, but it actually has nice restaurants (the foods were so delicious and I loved the waiters because they were all nice to me!). Contrary to the Park Inn Sadu, most of the staffs cannot speak English so, use your gesture to explain more. It has nice location and the river behind was so sool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pesaro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is in a very nice position, close to the Kremlin and to Gorky Park.
The restaurant is open all the day long and it is very good quality. The swimming pool was closed for 4 days for bank holidays, it is very small but with all comforts. Very high security service with access control 24/7.
The rooms are very old and not really big. The five stars are a bit too much compared to the standard. During spring you can hear the birds singing all the night long, very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

its a hotel for one night stayers. the location is good but its noisy since it's close to a 6 lane busy road. the rooms are clean but quite simple, the TVs belong to Lenin's era. the bar is empty as hell due to the tight security measures at the main gate, they do not allow people to get in easily and it feels like you entering a prison. the breakfast buffet is huge and worth trying. the service is quite good but the personnel does not know English and they are not warm and welcoming. overall the hotel is good if you're not staying there for more than 3 days

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear! Where to start?

Firstly, this is absolutely NOT a 5 star hotel and whoever gave this hotel 5 stars has clearly not visited in the last 40 years!!

The hotel is extremely dated. The foyer area is nice but with a small check in desk, a waiting area and a bar with piano music in the evening. Note for those not used to smokers. Smoking is allowed pretty much anywhere in the building and you cannot get away from it.

All the corridors and entrance areas to the rooms are clad in a very dark wood, giving it a dark and dingy feel. The wardrobes in the room look like they haven't been aired in 40 years... I put my clothes in there overnight, took them out in the morning and they stank! Smelt musty and, well, old! They are now hanging In the doorway to the bedroom.

The bedroom is of a good and generous size, however, again, all the furnishings are dated and tired looking. If any of you are wondering what a television box looks like, take a trip to this hotel... No sign of the modern flat screens, not that it is a problem...no time to watch tv anyway! The curtains do not meet and do not cover the whole window, therefore you are left with large gaps, letting in the city lights at night and brilliant sunlight at the crack of dawn! Fortunately, it's not overlooked so there's no risk of being 'watched'!

The view is lovely, overlooking a park with a statue in dedication to soldiers.

The bed is extremely uncomfortable and the room generally very dusty. The air conditioning didn't work and the room was stifling. Had to sleep with the windows wide open because the room was so unbearably hot (and Moscow are only just coming out of winter...got three hours sleep on my first night because of this.

Bathroom needs a deep clean. Again, there is no air circulation so is very hot. "Beautiful" decoration of terracotta tiles. Showers leak so you can expect to be sloshing around in a mini paddling pool on the main floor of the bathroom! Note that walls are very thin and you can hear flushing of toilets surrounding you and also conversations and doors slamming in corridor (made worse by the echoey wooden hallways).

In terms of the conference facilities, Internet connection is very intermittent. The conference hall is mostly glass with tile floor which is impossible for acoustics when using the microphone and speakers...very hard to hear what is being said.

Food is standard and quantity is underestimated for large groups, there is a lot of waiting around. There are two restaurants and a bar area for food. Both restaurants were closed during my 4 night stay so I had to rely on the bar.

Just a word of warning: staff (and Russian people in general) speak very little English... Understandable, but can make communicating extremely difficult...sometimes they will run off when you're in the middle of trying to explain something and on rare occasions they will get someone else who can speak English. Otherwise, staff are friendly, especially my cleaning lady!

This is a 3 star hotel and is a good quality 3 star hotel. If it had been stated as 3 star, my comments may have been different.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is a large hotel. Definitely far from todays 5 star hotels around the world. Staff hardly speak any English. Even simple task such as ordering taxi to the airport takes them over 45 min. Food very good at the restaurant however it’s not a fine dine experience as they pretend to be.
Rooms are okey, very old. It is definitely not worth of the price they charge for one night. It is clean. Location is ok. Nice view from the rooms. I don’t recommend though. There are much better places in Moscow.
Main problem for me was that no one speak english. Just like "passport please and 10th floor" Even reception staff etc!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived at the President Hotel in Moscow on the night of the 30th of December 2012 and stayed till the 4th of January 2013, as I was visiting friends who live in Moscow. After a long flight, I was picked up and brought to the hotel. The driver had a slight problem finding the entrance, as security is taken very seriously. My reservation was dealt with professionally and seriously. My room was very pleasant indeed and up to date, and I could not find fault with it, as it had all the amenities (including a safe). The bathroom toiletries were Italian (Olive oil soap, bath gel and shampoo, among other things) and I really enjoyed them, contrarily to many such items that are cheap and not very good in many places where I have been. I was on a high floor, so had an excellent view over Moscow. The staff cleaning the room were most friendly and helpful. Speaking Russian helps of course.
The next morning I had breakfast, and the selection of foods available impressed me, as the hotel was quite empty over the New Year festivities. They could have simply reduced the quantities or moved the whole operation to a smaller area to save money and reduce staff.The dining room/breakfast room looks slightly old fashioned. I had meals at the small restaurant near the reception, (ground floor) and was well served and enjoyed the food. The staff were pleasant and helpful. One must remember, that Russia is not Thailand or Indonesia: Russians are not as exuberant as South Europeans or South East Asians, and what might be construed as serious and professional in Russia might be thought of as distant and stern by foreigners who expect the same thing whether they are in Florida or Italy. One cannot expect the same attitude in Moscow as in say, Bali.
A great party was held at the hotel in very early January (for my friend's birthday) and the catering was amazingly good, as the service. By that I mean the food was really excellent and up to the highest European standard. The whole party was a major success. Famous musicians delighted the invited guests. I was in a safe environment, was very well taken care of, and had a great time. What else could I ask for?
(in the early 1990's studied Russian in St. Pete - so I understand Russians somewhat and their ways, so am probably biased).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: Bolshaya Yakimanka St., 24, Moscow 119134, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.