We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropol Moscow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropol Moscow to your Saves list
Hotel Metropol Moscow
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teatralny Proezd, 2, Moscow 109012, Russia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Новогодние каникулы
Ranked #10 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Altough it was short stay, enjoyed the hotel,welcoming its guests,very good breakfast.Services are good,but the rooms are with locked windows so you should ask for key to open it.The rest is really good.i recommend to vist this hotel and to enjoy also area of the Keemlin and the red Sq

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service found our location and breakfast convenient regarding your needs. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    231
    66
    31
    12
See reviews for
70
150
81
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I staied for 3 nights in Metropol and what i can say is:
Location was perfect, near to the subway, a lot of dining options nerby , Red squire.
Room was very quite , cleen, cosy, slept very well .
Staff was very pleasant.
Morning breackfast was the best i had ever in each hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time and effort to post your review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel's location, your room, breakfast and the level of service convenient regarding your needs.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Metropol Hotel!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am a big fan of Tripadvisor, but this is the first time i have traveled to a place that convinced me to create an account and share my experience.
I have booked this hotel do to it's great price offer which, if you are traveling to Moscow, you know it is not easy to find. Its a very traditional soviet hotel (not in a bad way, but it's not "fancy" ) just 3 minutes from the Red Square - incredible location!!!. It has excellent interiors, big rooms, and excellent breakfast choice. But enough about the hotel,I want to concentrate more on the staff, one person in particular.
It was my first visit to Moscow so I decide to ask for a few information and suggestions in advance from the hotel's concierge.After a few e-mail back and forth I decided to book a private transfer from the airport. My plane had a 3 hour delay, i had no battery on my telephone so i couldn't inform them. I arrived at 3:20 AM, it was so crowded, I thought it was 8PM, but to my surprise, a driver was waiting with a pick up sign with my name on it. After a 1 hour drive from the airport I reached the hotel at about 5 AM.
As I had only 2 more days to stay in Moscow, I went in the morning to speak with the concierge to try to explain me how i can visit Moscow in such little time. THIS WAS THE BEST DECISION I HAVE EVER DONE WHILE TRAVELING! He is incredible, I never thought visiting Moscow in 48 hours would be possible but it seems with the right concierge you can make it happen.
I would like to thank him for his recommendations (places,museums,restaurants) all were perfect. THANK YOU ANDREIY, you are incredible, you deserve the gold pins on your uniform!

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Metropol Hotel during your recent stay in Moscow and for your efforts in creating the account on Tripadvisor to share your impressions. Thank you for all your kind compliments, the five star rating and, of course, for posting a review. We are delighted to learn that you found our location, rooms and breakfast convenient regarding your needs We greatly appreciate your warm words in recognition of Andrey's work. Andrey, our Chief Concierge, is also the Vice President of “Les Clefs d'Or, Russia” and we are extremely proud that he is a member of our great team. It is always enjoyable when our guests recognize our efforts, thank you! We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to come and visit us again and perhaps meet Andrey personally.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The old traditional Metrol Hotel was build in 1901. Its a very traditional hotel just 3 minutes from the Red Square. Service is brilliant and if you like to have breakfast with harp music. This is the place. The hotel is more than a hotel. Its a institution with a lot of arts and traditions in the walls. There might be a more sophistiacted place to stay in Moscow but I doubt you find a more traditional hotel with style. Super style.
Friendly and very helpful staff in reception and in the nice bar next to it.
I even tried their heardresser and it took me one hour. Washing hear before and after the cutting.

If you just not want to go out one evening you have a spelnded time inside the hotel. Allso very good and quick room service. Prices is high as Moscow in general.
All in all very, very nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view against the Red Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Metropol Hotel during your recent stay in Moscow. It was a great pleasure to read your review with such a kind compliments. We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed our traditional Russian atmosphere, breakfast with harp music and quick room service. We are delighted to get such a flattering comment from you regarding our reception and bar team. We greatly appreciate your kind review and will definitely share it with all our staff members.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice hotel with really wondefull view, but just small deficiencies as lack of free socket near working desk for PC or shampoo bottle with cup which is difficult to open by wet hands. But otherwise excellent interiors, big rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time and effort to post your review. Thank you very much for your comment regarding sockets and shampoo bottles. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room, our excellent interiors and that you found your room, breakfast and the level of service convenient regarding your needs.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Metropol Moscow!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

step into the Metropol and be transported to an world of charm beauty and elegance.
the rooms are amazing and the staff so wonderful. eating in the restaurant has to be experienced
the decor has to be seen to be believed.. and the service all helped to make us feel very special indeed...the perfect hotel for a vist to this amazing city.

Room Tip: a view to the front is good but the rooms are all wonderfu; we were in "junior" and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Metropol Hotel! Your kind words concerning our beautiful and elegant interiors, amazing rooms and wonderful staff are truly appreciated. It is our mission to make our guests feel very special and it's a great pleasure to get such a flattering comment from you regarding our team. We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us!
Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent a few night at hotel Metropol on a business trip, my Company booked this hotel as close to work and central.
A bit slow at check-in but immediately been approached by an hostess whom welcomed me.
Anastasia, guests-relation showed me around informing me all about the history of the building and the changes on the way. Clean, quiet and friendly.
Situated walking distance from Kremlin , Red Square and Bolshoi theatre, shopping area and trendy cafes , bars and little restaurants, the hotel conserves all the original features including beautiful stained glass staircase, the entire ceiling in one of the many saloons in full Art Nouveau style where they serve an excellent buffet breakfast and great dinners. all on the notes of a piano or arp.
I was lucky to assist a performance by 2 top Russian Pianist, competing between their courses, live music from Chopin to Shimanovsky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind compliments and thank you for rating us with five stars. We are very pleased to read how highly you valued the hotel’s location, great breakfast, live music and especially the level of service. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropol Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol Moscow

Address: Teatralny Proezd, 2, Moscow 109012, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Family Hotel in Moscow
#8 Business Hotel in Moscow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropol Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five-star historical hotel in the very heart of Moscow. Maximum proximity to the main sightseeings of the city: Bolshoy Theatre, TSUM, GUM, Red Square and others. The incredible beauty of the exterior of the building.'Metropol' Hotel is a hotel-museum with 800 units of antiques in halls and suites. One of the most beautiful restaurants of the city - 'Metropol' restaurant - is located here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metropol Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Moscow
Metropol Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropol Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.