We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for the price, this is an excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katerina City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Katerina City Hotel to your Saves list
Katerina City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115 114, Russia (Zamoskvorechie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 260 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the price, this is an excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I frequently travel on business to Moscow, and Katerina Hotel is one of my favourite hotels where I stay, the staff are friendly, most speak good English, rooms are very clean, albeit functional and small. The mini bar is filled daily and is free, but no alcohol.

Breakfast is typical Scandinavian, good selection of cheeses, ham and fruits, bread is alway freshly cooked.

Location is not very central if the Kremlin and surrounding area are the reason you are in Moscow, but the train station that connects you to the Metro and also to Domodedevo Airport is about 10 mins walk, which will save you having to pay the rip off taxi prices that are charged to foreigners.

I would strongly recommend the hotel if it was not for the price, but hotels in Moscow are not cheap and the prices Katerina charge are typical for Moscow hotels of this standard

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest, I am so glad to hear that we are one of your favourite hotels in Moscow! Glad you like the rooms, staff service, the breakfast and the free mini-bar. The rates vary a lot depending on demand, the best deals are on weekends. Hope to see you soon again!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    207
    69
    9
    2
See reviews for
68
163
71
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Once you recovered from the sticker shock (I paid $372 for one night for a smallish room), there is a lot to like about the Katerina City hotel. I chose it for its walking distance to the Paveletskaya Railway Station which is where the Aeroexpress train brings you from Domodedovo Airport for 320 Rubles in 45 minutes. WiFi was good in my room and breakfast included (not a given in Moscow, even at those rates!), Staff spoke decent English and were great. The hotel starts showing its age a little, but it is kept up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest, rates vary a lot in Moscow, very high at exhibition periods (about ten per year) and very reasonable on weekends and on holidays (Moscow is a business city). If your dates are flexible our reservation department will be more than happy to guide you! Hope to see you at Katerina City again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here on business for 1 night in March.

It was very expensive, but I think this is the norm for a mid week stay.

I used the restaurant and gym. The food was reasonable, but the gym had seen better days.

Liked - Good location and free wireless
Disliked - Cost, but not really the hotels fault

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest, rates are highest midweek and lowest on weekends and on holidays (Moscow is a business city). If you are flexible - we will be more than happy to guide you through the rate jungle! We have recently updated the gym with new equipment – maybe you can try it out during your next stay? :)
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karvina, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is not the top I have seen, but if you are lucky to find good deal, you may have very nice stay with good location and reasonable services. I have stayed there two times, and plan to come again.
Walking distance to metro, just two stations from city center. Minibar with nonalcohol beverages for free was very nice surprise. Parking and Wi-Fi for free.

Positives:
Location
Minibar, parking and internet for free
Decent breakfast

Negatives:
In case you find good deal nothing. In case you pay full price, it may be considered as little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Good to hear you liked our location, free mini-bar, free wi-fi and free parking. Look out for good offers and hope to see you soon!
Kind regards, Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent free wireless internet, good location at the junction of the river and the canal, close to a railway station with a direct airport express, and a Metro station. We had a large room, which was well worth the extra - it had its own sauna! Couldn't be better during the winter! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, I am so glad to hear you had a nice stay and that you liked the internet, the location and your room with a sauna. We look forward to see you again at Katerina City hotel!
Kind regards,
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel for foreigners who don't speak Russian as most staff members don't speak English. Otherwise, the hotel is just ok, the decoration is quite 'kitsch', the music at the restaurant is annoying, and the food is very average. I stayed only 2 nights and it was enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, Are you sure your stayed at Katerina City hotel? All our Front office staff and 24/7 Alex Bar staff speak fluent English, it is a requirement for working here.
The interior is done by Swedish architects SWECO Avista - the photos here on Tripadvisor reflect it well. I am sorry you found food average, usually we get better reviews - therefore, if you have the time, please let me know what dishes you had so we can look into it. My email is katerina@katerinahotels.com. Look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Katerina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First off, the wireless in this hotel is free and fast, which makes it a no-brainer if you're travelling on business. Even better, it's a non-smoking establishment, which helps in a city where people still smoke in restaurants, taxis and, well, everywhere. It's not a fancy place (hello Ikea) but the beds are comfortable, everything works in the bathrooms, the breakfast buffet is quite amazing and after a long day, you can have a bowl of borscht and a pint of Russian beer at a reasonable price. Oh, and the gym was my private health club for all but one of the days I was there. It could use a workout mat rather than a dusty rug and some of the equipment is ancient. But the treadmill works fine and free weights are free weights, no matter when they were made, right? One word of caution: the restaurants suggested by the front desk staff? NOT worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, great to hear you accredited the free wifi, we know how important it is. Also we are pleased to hear you like the non-smoking environment since we are the only two hotels in Moscow who are 100% non-smoking. Glad you liked the restaurant and the gym, will definitely update the gym with a new workout mat! And last but not least: there are new, clear instructions at reception (and on our web site) on surrounding restaurants. These restaurants are all tested by me personally, now you can trust the advice 100%! :) Hope to see you with us again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt Managing Director Katerina Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Katerina City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina City Hotel

Address: Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115 114, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Zamoskvorechie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Moscow
#20 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#21 Family Hotel in Moscow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Katerina City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina City Moscow
Hotel Katerina City
Hotel Katerina Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katerina City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.