We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel located in the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Ring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Ring Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Ring Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smolenskaya St., 5, Moscow 119121, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hotel located in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a prime location which is near most of the government buildings. Also, it is very closed to the Arbat street which tourists can find souvenirs there. This hotel is good for business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    158
    54
    17
    10
See reviews for
17
50
40
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The place is nice, not so Old like described, Maybe I was lucky. My room was modern, and the best things I had a big big window on Moscow, the room is somehow arranged in horizontal manner, and the window runs all long wall. I love that. The entrance is old fashion, and a marble statue of venus in the fountain is quite kitch... I didn't had any lunch or dinner, there are a lots of nice place around to discover. I had a room service ( quite expensive) that was normal, nothing special. The position is good, near metro and 25 min walk from center.
If you are looking for a "warm" place that's is not your place, everyone here find it hard to give a smile.
The black guy who cleans shoes out of the elevator is tacky and out of time.
Is good for business or "no question" hotel. I didn't see any working girls in the bar, but maybe I'm wrong, I gave just a quik look at it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, the main positive is the views from the hotel, we stayed on the 19th floor and looked onto the foreign affairs ministry one of Stalins' skyscrapers, it was spectacular at night. The room had windows all across which made it light and airy. The room was adequate, the décor needs updating but it was clean. There were also tea and coffee facilities. However there was a disgusting blocked drain smell in the bathroom, we didn't notice until we returned from dinner, I didn't report it until we checked out but if we'd have been staying more than 1 night I'd have insisted on changing rooms. The bar was closed for a wedding which I think is a bit unfair on all those staying as the views from the bar are supposed to be spectacular. The concierge was superbly helpful in recommending where to eat / drink locally. There are lots of shops bars and restaurants surrounding and it is a 5 min walk to the metro at most. The price is great considering the location and the general price of hotels in Moscow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to optimise the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My 4th stay at this hotel on an annual trip to Moscow and its always been a good experience. The decor is a bit old fashioned, but the rooms are clean and well maintained. Bedrooms are a good size, with large desk and decent wifi. Have often had a good view of the impressive Stalinist skyscraper opposite. Bathroom large, shower just ok - over the bath type with curtain.
Breakfast is overly expensive, but there is a huge amount of choice and the harpist is nice to listen to. There's a supermarket and coffee shops within easy walking distance if you don't want to fork out £20+ for a bowl of cereal and a coffee.
Location is very convenient, being over the road from the Arbat and with Smolenskaya metro very nearby.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel if you're a business guest. Rooms are very confy, big and really moderns. I love a nice breakfast in the morning and was really good one indeed. A lot of options to enjoy it. One of the best points it's very close to arbat street and city centre. Really good service and I will come back for sure. Thanks.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I will never stay in the same hotel even if they give me a free presidential suit for a month. and even if they pay for my business class tickets. The reason for that is just One manager they have called "Oksana" I am a business Owner, and a very frequent traveler for business i was invited to visit an exhibition by the organizers personally many times, but i failed to arrange time for that till this year, therefore i visited and to my bad luck, i ended up in this hotel. I had a horrible experience towards my check out day. it is a 4 or 5 star hotel i don't remember, and i walked to the reception at about 10 am, telling the gentleman there that i want to have a late check out by 3:00 pm. so he said thats fine. as my plane was later that day. then i receive a call from "oksana" claiming to be the manager at 12:15 pm. asking me to check out maximum by 1:00 pm in a very rude way. so i told her that i have already confirmed that i will have a late check out with the reception and you can't just call me 45 mins before the time you want me out. she ignored what i said, and replied we already sold the room to someone else so make sure you check out by 1 ( plz). so i asked her 5 times, if she knew about the late check out concept in hotels specially 4 and 5 stars ones. yet again, she ignored me every single time i asked, till the 5th time, where she said, this doesn't apply in Moscow. if you want to stay till 3:00 pm. pay half day. which is 250/- USD. then i said, but you have just informed me that the room is sold out? then i continued, any ways, thanks i am checking out now. so i left my room before 12:45 pm. heading to reception to ask about "Oksana" and to thank her for the supper uncomfortable and inconvenient experience i had all because of her. so she actually shouts back at me denying all what she said on the phone and made a scene in front of all other guests. so i said, its my fault i am sorry. but i will make sure i will write this horrible experience on booking.com and TripAdvisor.com so that your management and other guests would know what to expect when they come to this hotel which i highly recommend them NOT to. all due to this so called " hospitality manager".

Room Tip: find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 via mobile

Indeed location seems to be good, but the hotel is old fashion. The service looks like a people working punishement. Always sad faces. Even the live music during all breakfasts is very sad and after few days it's really boring.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Ring Hotel

Address: Smolenskaya St., 5, Moscow 119121, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Moscow
#44 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Ring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Golden Ring Hotel!We invite you to enjoy the following services: accommodation booking, best offers of buffet breakfast in Moscow, panoramic restaurants located on top floors, dedicated weekend brunches, banquet halls, conference halls with equipment and catering options, fitness and Spa, secured garage parking, tire fitting and car wash, hi-end Japanese restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Ring Moscow
Hotel Golden Ring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Ring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.