We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-located base for exploring the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iVAN Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added iVAN Hostel to your Saves list
iVAN Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Petrovskiy Lane, 1/30-23, Moscow 107031, Russia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 673 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 73 Reviews
surrey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A well-located base for exploring the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just back from a week's stay at the iVAN Hostel. Moscow's hotels are so expensive that a hostel stay was our only realistic option and we chose iVAN because of its location. The hostel is a short walk from two major shopping streets and theatres including the famous Bolshoi. You have three metro stations on your doorstep, plenty of restaurants within 10 minutes walk, a supermarket a few doors away and major sights such as Red Square and the Kremlin are walkable. We had a private double room with shared bathroom and kitchen and were happy with the cleanliness and help we received. It was a nice touch to have access to a television in our room so we could experience a bit of Russian telly! I would recommend the hostel as a base for exploring rather than a destination in its own right - it's perfectly located for getting out there and seeing the sights, but is quite quiet (socially) compared to other hostels I've been to. A good option for budget travellers though!

Room Tip: Go for one of the superior doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
16
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the iVAN hostel for a week, and were thoroughly pleased with it. The first few nights we were in the dorm-style room, which, while full of the usual eclectic group you find in hostels, was clean and quiet. The second half of the week my fiance and I stayed in a private room, which was also very clean and spacious. The people were great, especially Vlad, Ilya, and Marina, and we enjoyed many nice chats with them while drinking tea in the kitchen (which is a great place to cook a meal if you want to save money and not eat in expensive Moscow restaurants every night!). There are also some very nice little churches and a monastery in the surrounding neighborhood - all worth exploring. We will definitely stay at iVAN again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were in the hostel for 3 days in April and we were pleased by the good atmosphere, cleanliness of the hostel and nice people working there.A great experince and would recommend to any traveler in Moscow

Room Tip: The room with the bed withou a highlighted edge is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

its an apartment turned into a "quasi" hostel with tiny mattresses and horrible staff. the staff isnt all that bad, except they dont speak english all that well. so its more of pointing and grunting. the toilet is in a closet. good location, but i moved to another hostel, and found it to be much better. i wouldnt recommend this hostel to anyone. don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

gah!!! what a horrible experience. the staff is rude, the location, though in the city center, is bad cause the entrance is dark and smells, the beds are tiny and uncomfortable. stay away from this place.

Room Tip: don't book a bed here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotels in Moscow are ridiculous priced so we decided early on to stay in a hostel. After lots of research we settled on the Ivan Hostel which is another small hostel with 2 private rooms and 2 dorms. We chose a private room AKA the 'white room' a very large room and the best located in the hostel right next door to the bathroom and kitchen. The hostel is in a good location within walking distance of a lot of the main sights. If it’s cold you can take the metro but if often quicker to walk when but the time you have deciphered the metro map. The hostel is hard to find at first as it is on the second floor in a block of flats and you need to buzz reception to let you in. Finding the 'secret' door would have been a right pain but as we stood around looking lost the manager happened to be walking past and helped us. In fairness the directions the hotel provides were very accurate but following them is easier said than done. The hostel was very nice with a lovely kitchen, bathroom and laundry facilities. But there is only 1 shower and 1 toilet for the whole of the hostel! Totally ridiculous in our opinion especially when the bathroom was large enough to convert into several shower rooms. The heating is amazing, actually way too good and after coming in from the cold it was like walking into a sauna. -15 outside but our window was often open! A nice, hostel in a good location.

Find out more about our big adventure at www.chipofftheoldblog.com and follow our blog ‘RTW by land (where practical!)’

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thank you, Ilya, Marat, Kolya, Alina, Anna, Marina, Gulya and anyone I may have forgotten. We have just returned from hosting a group of British schoolgirls in Moscow and the iVan Hostel was a major highlight of the stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and really flexible. The hostel (both Old Fashioned and White Rooms) are spotlessly clean, the location is perfect and I want to find another group to bring to Moscow just so we can return to iVan Hostel! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Simon and Inna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iVAN Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iVAN Hostel

Address: Petrovskiy Lane, 1/30-23, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 673 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — iVAN Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet and picturesque side street of ul. Bolshaya Dimitrovka, a fifteen minutes walk from the Red Square and only three minutes from the metro, this hostel is an oasis in the hustle and bustle of central Moscow. The friendly English speaking staff answers all your questions, gives you slippers and towels and prepares coffee in the morning. They don’t serve breakfast but with a supermarket on the same street you might find enough to make your own. The hostel offers private rooms as well as separated and mixed dormitory rooms with lockers. Rooms are simple and clean. The shower and toilet are shared for all types of rooms. There is a living room, laundry facilities and a fully equipped kitchen. Plus freshly boiled coffee every morning! The hotel also provides a night tour of the city for 500Rbl (two hours). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your iVAN Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iVAN Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.