We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darbars

Darbars
Leninskiy ave, 38 | m. Leninsky prospekt, Moscow 119334, Russia
+7 495 930-29-25
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 10,338 Restaurants in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 73 Reviews
Price range: $37 - $65
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: "Darbars", an Indian cuisine restaurant, is welcoming you to get inspired with a fascinating atmosphere of the East and taste unique dishes from North and South India by our chefs.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant is located at the top of Hotel Sputnik, the 16th floor, and we just visited it for the second time. The view is absolutely amazing; you can see three of the Moscow sisters (Moscow State University being the closest), sport complex Luzhniki Stadium is just over the Moscow river in front of the hotel, you can see the skyline of Moscow Business center reaching through the clouds... The Third Ring Road passes just by the hotel and is lit during the night. The best view I've seen in Moscow.

Food is also really good, service is excellent, food comes quickly after an order, lots of vegetarian options, I wish more restaurants in Moscow were like this.
It is a little bit more pricy than many restaurants, but still reasonable for Moscow. For two people's main dishes, a small starter, bread, one tea and one beer, 2600 RUB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've been living in Moscow for past 7 months. For the first 3 months, I have had dinner at Darbar virtually every day. The cuisine is divine. Food is tasty and quality superb. Sumptuous quantity served in every portion. The ambience and service are excellent. The view of Moscow city from the top is an added bonus. Moscow University at a distance and the shining lights at night arena absolute treat to watch from the restaurant rooftop. The tap beer served is CBC Corona but my favourite is Hoogarden.

Duke and Vinod are the nicest guys to have around. Service with a smile. Darbar is and will remain my second home. I would recommend a 5 star for its service and quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolute Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was skeptical when I saw that a Indian restaurant was voted into the top 10 eateries in Moscow, but couldn't resists after a week of local cuisine.

Food is spectacular, service with a smile (which is impressive in itself), and most importantly quite authentic in taste. I was in the company of a colleague who was also from South East Asia and his feedback mirrored my own. Menu selection is exhaustive covering north and south Indian dishes. Large selection of Veg dishes as well. I liked it so much I’m going back tonight :).

Bon Appetite,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“For Indian veg worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food is really good and has Indian taste. They have South Indian food masala dosa was worth it. Also the North Indian food is really upto mark. Only negative is the location as it almost 1 km from the metro station, best take a taxi to Sputnik hotel . The Resturant is on the 16 th floor. Location and hotel is out of way but worth it if you want authentic Indian food and also veg options especially South Indian. Very reasonable pricing. It is open 12 a.m to 12pm. Also masala tea is nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good food and good service. prices are Moscow style but is possible to get a discount card.. Highly suggested

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbars also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Darbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darbars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.